Noodles and Pasta

So which noodles are vegan in Japan? As a general rule, udon noodles and soba noodles are vegan, while ramen noodles are not. (The soup or sauce that comes with udon, soba and ramen in restaurants contains animal products like fish stock, etc.). However, udon and soba noodles are not always vegan, so vegans still need to be careful to check for animal ingredients. Below are some examples of vegan and non-vegan noodles in Japan.

How about pasta? That’s not such a problem. Further below are some examples of vegan and non-vegan pasta.


The first soba is not vegan as it contains egg white (卵白):

Yude (boiling) Japanese Soba. Ingredients: Wheat flour, buckwheat flour, wheat protein, egg white, salt.

Yude SobaYude soba back







The soba below appears to be vegan.

Nama (raw) Soba. Ingredients: Wheat flour, buckwheat flour, salt, reduced starch syrup, alcohol, acidity regulator, modified starch.

Nama SobaNama Soba back








Yude (boiling) Udon. Ingredients: Wheat flour, salt. Note: manufactured in a facility that also makes products containing egg.

Udon Udon back








99.9% of ramen noodles are not vegan as they contain egg (vegan ramen is available at some restaurants like T’s Tan Tan in Tokyo Station and Chabuton – see Fast Food).

Nama (raw) Ramen. Contains whole egg powder.

RamenRamen back









Vegan instant or cup noodles are rare in Japan. The noodles in supermarkets all appear to contain animal products. In some specialty stores you can find vegan noodles like these ones. T’s Restaurant makes instant vegan cup noodles in two flavors.  They are sold in Natural Lawson convenience stores (not regular Lawson), online, and at their restaurants.

Vegan noodlesInstant noodles








It’s easy to find vegan pasta in supermarkets. Recently many supermarkets have begun carrying a small selection of whole-grain pastas as well. Vegans also have to be careful with colored pasta, which often contains animal products. Below are some examples of pasta available in Japan.

Hagoromo 7 Minute Spaghetti. Ingredients: Durum wheat semolina.

Hagoromo pastaHagoromo pasta back







Mitoku Whole Wheat Organic Penne Pasta. Ingredients: Organic durum wheat whole grain flour.

Penne pastaPenne pasta back








Dalla Costa Halloween Pasta. Ingredients: Durum wheat semolina, carrot, cuttlefish ink.

Halloween pastaHalloween pasta back









Disney Princess Tricolored Pasta. Ingredients: Durum wheat semolina, spinach, tomato.

Princess pastaPrincess pasta back









Smaller health food and specialty stores will sometimes carry non-seminola pastas. The photo below was taken at a small shop in Kurashiki, Okayama and shows green peas fusilli, red lentils fusilli and chickpeas fusilli.

20180909_112101 - Copy


5 thoughts on “Noodles and Pasta

  1. Ryan Garrett

    My girlfriend found cups of T’s TanTan noodles at Natural Lawson earlier this week. I’m not sure how long they have been making that, as I don’t recall seeing it a little over a year ago when I was there. It has all the T’s branding and animal-free text and pictures, so I’m assuming they are vegan.

  2. 1111s

    soba and any soup really is never vegan unless you make it yourself or go to a vegan restaurant, they contain dashi stock which is made with bonito..


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s