Potato and Corn Chips

There are potentially vegan potato chips and corn chips in most supermarkets and convenience stores in Japan. One of the main issues is whether the amino acid is animal or plant derived. Below are some examples.

POTATO CHIPS

Nabisco Chip Star Potato Chips – Mild Salt. Ingredients: Potato flakes, vegetable oil, salt, emulsifier, seasoning (amino acid). Note: the amino acid and emulsifier may be animal derived.
IMG_2536 IMG_2539

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

Calbee Potato Chips. Ingredients: Potato (non-genetically modified), vegetable oil, salt (54% Sicilian rock salt, 44% Australian sea salt), dextrin, yeast extract, spice, sugar, onion powder, flavouring (contains soy), seasoning (amino acid). Manufactured in a facility that also makes products containing egg, milk, wheat, shrimp and crab. Note: the amino acid and flavouring may be animal derived. Also appears to contain palm oil.

Calbee Potato ChipsCalbee Potato Chips Ingredients

 

 

 

 
 

 
 

 

Calbee Vegips – Onion, Pumpkin, Potato. Ingredients: Potato (non-genetically modified), pumpkin, onion, vegetable oil, salt, antioxidant (vitamin C). Manufactured in a facility that also makes products containing egg, milk, wheat, shrimp and crab.

VegipsVegips Ingredients

 

 

 

 
 

 

The Calbee salad flavoured potato sticks below are not vegan because they contain skim milk powder. And, as you might expect, the cheese flavour contains cheese, and the butter potato flavour contains butter.

Calbee salad flavoured potato sticksCalbee Ingredients underlined

 

 

 

 
 

 

Yaokin Wasabi Flavoured Potato Chips. Ingredients: Potato powder, vegetable oil, granulated sugar, corn starch, salt, flavouring, wasabi powder, soy sauce powder, thickener (modified starch), emulsifier, antioxidant (vitamin E), gardenia pigment. (Contains wheat and soy). The flavouring may be animal derived.

Wasabi potato chipsWasabi potato chips - back

 

 

 

 
 

 
 

 

CORN CHIPS

Tonkari Corn Chips. Ingredients: Corn, vegetable oil, sugar, salt, soy sauce powder, spice, seasoning (mineral salt etc.), baking soda, caramel colouring, antioxidant (Vitamin E). Contains soy and wheat.

Tonkari corn chipsTonkari corn chips - back

 

 

 

 
 

 
 

 

Dontacos Corn Chips – Grilled Corn Flavour. Ingredients: Corn (non-genetically modified), vegetable oil, soy sauce powder, sugar, salt, supersweetcorn powder, rice powder, flavoured powdered oil, seasoning (amino acid), caramel colouring, sweetener (stevia), flavouring. Contains wheat and soy. Manufactured in a facility that also makes products containing egg, milk, shrimp and crab. Note: the amino acid and flavouring may be animal derived.

Dontacos Grilled CornDontacos Grilled Corn Ingredients

 

 

 

 
 

 

The Chili Taco flavoured corn chips are not vegan as they contain cheese powder and chicken powder.

Back Camera

Dontacos Chili Tacos Underlined

 

 

 

 
 

 
 
 
 

These Doritos corn chips are potentially vegan:

Doritos Corn Chips – Taco Flavour. Ingredients: Corn (non-genetically modified), vegetable oil, sugar, spice, salt, protein hydrolyzate, soy sauce powder, powdered sugar (sugar, oligosaccharides), tomato flavoured powder, yeast extract powder, dehydrated vegetables, powdered vinegar, flavoured oil, seasoning (amino acid), flavouring, acidity regulator, paprika pigment, spice extracts. Contains wheat. Manufactured in a facility that also makes products containing milk, egg, shrimp and crab. Note: the amino acid and flavouring may be animal derived. It appears the protein hydrolyzate is not whey protein as there is no allergen indicator for milk.

DoritosDoritos Ingredients

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Potato and Corn Chips

  1. buzzinjapan

    Do you know what the source of the amino acid is? I think it can come from animals. I’ve also been told that Calbee Usushio chips are vegan but they too list amino as seasoning so I’m not sure.

    Reply
  2. Yamamoto

    In Jp anything containing ( amino acid ) is not vegan , also by Japanese law manufactures want to hide many ingredients so they allowed labeling less than 10% of ingredients as ” amino acid “

    Reply
  3. Andrew

    FYI checked with the maker directly about Chip Star Mild Salt and it contains no animal ingredients i.e. the amino acid and emulsifier are not animal based.
    I sometimes eat them at work (like now with a sekihan onigiri) as a snack when nothing else is in the conbini.
    Normally I would never buy anything with either ingredient as you can’t be certain if plant based or not, but all the times checking with makers, never once come across animal based amino acid (amino san).

    Andrew
    [14 years hardcore vegan, lived in Tokyo for the past 17 years]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s