Convenience Stores

There are a lot of vegan and possibly vegan sweet and salty snacks in convenience stores, but it’s harder to find main dishes and savory foods. You probably shouldn’t waste your time staring at the bento, oden, and bread/pastry sections.

There is an offshoot of the Lawson chain of convenience stores called Natural Lawson. Although a few products from Natural Lawson can be found in regular Lawson stores, it’s worth it to go to Natural Lawson if there are any near you. Natural Lawson stores are currently located in the following areas: Chiba Prefecture, Saitama Prefecture, Kanagawa Prefecture, and Tokyo. They carry a wider selection of products for vegans than any other convenience store. Check our Natural Lawson section to see some of the  products you can find there.

Below are some of the vegan foods we have found which you can use as a general guide. The products available at a particular store will vary according to location and season. If we are aware that a product at a certain store is not vegan, we have noted this.

Some foods contain flavoring and emulsifiers which may be animal-derived or sugar that may be bone-char processed. We have marked below wherever we have information on how these ingredients were made.

Each major chain of convenience stores also has a website where you can find information in Japanese about its products, including allergen information about the unpackaged food it sells (e.g. fried food). Some of the pictures below are from the convenience store websites.

Unfortunately, due to labeling laws in Japan, it’s possible for foods to contain small amounts of fish powder and other ingredients for flavoring without being written on the label if the amount is small enough. This can sometimes be marked as その他, “sono ta,” meaning “other.” Also, the convenience stores can change the ingredients of their own items like rice balls and steamed buns at any time without notice, and the new ingredients won’t necessarily be noted on the label if the amounts are small.

Beginning in late 2019, a few certified vegan bento were available at selected convenience stores in Tokyo (and Kanagawa for the Family Mart Soy Meat Keema Curry bento). However, as of mid-June, 2020, it is not clear if any of these items are still available. Check the individual item listings carefully so you don’t waste your time looking for these items in areas where they are not carried.

• Vegetable penne/ベジタブルペンネ vegan pasta bento (certifed vegan by VegeProject Japan) was available as of October, 2019 at nine 7-11 stores in Tokyo. Find out more about the product at fooddiversity.today. It’s in the frozen section of the store. The store staff can heat it up for you in the microwave. It is not clear if the product is still being sold as of 2021.

Ingredients: Pickled tomato puree, mix vegetable (zucchini, red pepper, yellow pepper, eggplant), macaroni, onion, vegetable oil, tomato paste, salt, garlic, spice, sugar/thickener (modified starch, xanthan), pH modified (including wheat containing materials).

7-11 penne    penne 7-11 ingredients

Get it at:

Asakusa Kaminarimon-mae store

Minami Otsuka 3-chome store 

Akihabara eki-kita store

Edogawa nishi kasai 4-chome store

Edogawa nishi kasai 7-chome store

Edogawa seishin plaza store

Edogawa naka kasai 3-chome store

Edogawa naka kasai 3-chome nishi store

Nishi kasai 3-chome store

BREAD

An exception to the rule of it being a waste of time to look for vegan bread in convenience stores, this was found in a branch of NewDays convenience store in July 2020.

• Pasco Choujuku Foccacia/ パスコ 超熟フォカッチャ. Ingredients: Wheat flour (domestically produced), olive oil, ferment, salt, sugar, brewed vinegar, bread yeast, malt extract, rice flour.

Product contains wheat and dairy.

This product has a “contains dairy” warning on it. According to the company, people with allergies should beware because products containing dairy are made in the same factory, so it might contain dairy as cross-contamination, but they stated that this product does not contain dairy or any animal products as part of the actual ingredients.

IMG_0630 (2)    IMG_0631 (2)

RICE BALLS (ONIGIRI)

Unfortunately, it’s very difficult to determine which rice balls are vegan by reading the ingredient list. Fish powder or seafood is often used to flavor the rice balls, and if it is used in a small amount and is not one of the allergens legally required to be marked by law, it is often not written on the package anywhere, including the ingredient list. Only contacting customer service will get you information about which rice balls have off-label animal ingredients.

 

It seems that salt onigiri and ume (pickled plum) onigiri are the most likely to be vegan, whereas kombu (seaweed) is likely to contain fish powder to flavor the kombu. However, some ume onigiri do have katsuo (skipjack tuna fish stock) used to flavor the ume and it’s been reported that some salt onigiri also contain fish stock.

Some information about onigiri courtesy of the Vegana No Japão blog (now defunct).

Current list of rice balls confirmed NOT to have animal ingredients:

7/11:
• Salt onigiri (銀しゃりむすび塩むすび)
20190503_094246 (2)    20190503_094252 (3).jpg

There is also another version of this product in some 7-11 stores that says on the front of the package it uses kombu dashi/昆布だし. 7-11 stated in an email that it uses kombu dashi and does not use animal ingredients and that this product in their stores does not contain animal ingredients. However the mail included the sentence なお、原材料について全てを遡っての確認は出来ておりません。さらに、使用原材料は断りなく変わります。From autotranslate: In addition, it is not possible to check retrospectively everything about raw materials. Furthermore, the raw materials used will change without notice.

20190502_131745 (2)    20190502_125001 (2).jpg

Family Mart:
• Ume/pickled plum (手巻 紀州南高梅)
20181116_225444 (2)

Lawson:
• Niigata Salted Koshihikari Rice Ball (新潟コシヒカリおにぎり 塩にぎり)
20190120_221519    20190120_221527

• Ume/pickled plum (紀州南高梅)

20190213_220559.jpg

Current list of onigiri confirmed TO have animal ingredients:

7/11:
Their rice balls vary in ingredients by region. For the Aichi region:
• Pickled plum/ume (手巻 おにぎり熟成仕立て紀州南高梅たたき梅): contains katsuo dashi (skipjack tuna powdered stock). 

20190131_112240
• Kombu seaweed (手巻おにぎり二段階仕込み日高昆布): contains katsuo dashi (skipjack tuna powdered stock)

20190131_112246

Family Mart:
• Kombu seaweed (手巻 北海道産昆布): contains animal products

20181116_225444 - Copy

Lawson:
• Kombu (日高昆布): Contains katsuo dashi (skipjack tuna powdered stock) and scallops.

20190213_220604c

Unconfirmed:

Daily Yamazaki:
Their past item, pickled plum/ ume (九州産たたき梅), was confirmed NOT to have animal ingredients. It appears to have been replaced with another, similar item called the pickled plum/ume (紀州南高梅) (photo below). We have not checked with the manufacturer if this one has off-label animal ingredients or not.

20190207_174939    20190207_174944

Daily Yamazaki:
Their previous item, seaweed/ kombu (日高昆布), was confirmed TO have contained animal ingredients, so it was not vegan.  The label says “新発売/shinhatsubai,” meaning “now on sale,” but the item name is the same as before. It’s likely that this new version still has animal ingredients, but we have not contacted the manufacturer to confirm.

20181122_130310

Mini Stop:

Their previous item, Ume/pickled plum (おにぎり (紀州梅)), was confirmed NOT to have contained animal ingredients. It appears to have been replaced with another item, the Kishu Nanko Plum onigiri (紀州南高梅) (photo below). We have not checked with the manufacturer if this one has off-label animal ingredients or not.

20190404_160703 (2)

Mini Stop:

Their previous item, kombu with shiso (おにぎり北海道産昆布 (しそ)), was confirmed NOT to have contained animal ingredients. It appears to have been replaced with another item, the Hidaka Kombu Kelp onigiri (日高昆布) (photo below). We have not checked with the manufacturer if this one has off-label animal ingredients or not.

20190404_160703 (3)

SUSHI

INARI ZUSHI

Inari zushi (rice in a tofu pocket) is often available in convenience stores. Unfortunately, people who contacted them to inquire found that all the major convenience stores use katsuo dashi (powdered skipjack fish dashi) to flavor the tofu wrap of their inari zushi. It’s not listed in the ingredients or is listed as an ingredient like その他 (“sono ta,” meaning “other”).

20190208_141322

FERMENTED SOY BEAN (NATTO) ROLL

Natto bacteria, which is used to ferment natto beans, is grown on plant matter, fish, or gelatin in Japan. So, animal parts can be used in the production, even though this won’t be written on the label.

natto-roll-contains-bonito-711

NOODLES

A Korean company called Nongshim sells a product called Shin Ramen.

Per the company as of February 2020, the bag version of Nongshim Shin Ramen made and sold in Japan does not contain animal ingredients. The bag version is sold in 7-11 convenience stores and you can also find a three-pack for sale online. A five-pack is also available in Don Quixote. However, there is an imported bag version (from Korea) that contains eggshell calcium/卵殻カルシウム, beef seasoning/ビーフシーズニング and pork bone seasoning/豚骨シーズニング. All are listed on the ingredient list in Japanese. This nonvegan version has been spotted on Rakuten and at Carnival import store, but not in any convenience stores. Check the ingredient list of the bag version before you buy.

Nongshim Shin Ramen/Nongshim シンラーメン. Fried noodles: Flour, starch, vegetable oil, salt, vegetable seasoning. Soup: Flavor seasoning, salt, chili seasoning powder, sugars, soy sauce, yeast seasoning powder, pepper, garlic powder, miso, shiitake powder, onion flavor powder, ginger extract. Toppings: (Bok choy, shiitake, seasoned soy protein, carrot, green onion, chili flake)/processed starch, seasoning (amino acids, etc.), lye water, thickener (gum arabic), emulsifier, spice extract, antioxidants (vitamin E, green tea extract), acidulant, niacin, vitamin B1, iron, vitamin B2, folic acid.

Product includes wheat and soybeans.

Products containing pork, beef, sesame, soba, egg, dairy, peanuts, shrimp, crab, chicken, squid, and mackerel are processed in the same factory.

20200201_203538 (2)    20200201_203543 (3)

Here are photos of the made-in-Korea version that contains eggshell calcium/卵殻カルシウム, beef seasoning/ビーフシーズニング and pork bone seasoning/豚骨シーズニング.

shin ramen made in korea front of package    shin ramen made in korea ingredient list

There are also a cup version and a mini cup version out on the market. It’s unclear if they’re sold in convenience stores or not, but per the company, the large cup version has sardines/イワシ off-label. The mini cup version has multiple animal ingredients listed in the ingredient list.

As of June 2020, 7-11 carries a few products, Penne with Bolognese Sauce & Soy Meat and Soy Taco Meat, that are free of animal products per customer service, although they did not know if the sugar used was bone-char processed or not.

•  7-11 Premium Penne with Bolognese Sauce & Soy Meat/大豆ミートの ボロネーゼペンネ.

Photo from website.

7-11 Penne with Bolognese Sauce & Soy Meat

7-11 Premium Soy Taco Meat/野菜と大豆ミートの タコスミート

Photo from website.

7-11 soy taco meat

You can buy ready to eat soba (buckwheat noodles – on the left hand side below) and udon (wheat noodles – on the right hand side below) in Japanese convenience stores. These noodles are usually vegan; just check for egg white (卵白).

The dipping sauce that comes with the noodles is made with fish sauce as standard. You can replace the sauce with soy sauce. Soy sauce may be available at the convenience store counter, but it can be useful to carry your own with you. You can buy very small bottles of soy sauce at supermarkets and some convenience stores.

buckwheat-noodles-family-mart  udon-711

Here are a few photos of some soy sauce in small 100ml bottles that can be found in convenience stores:

• Kikkoman Special Reduced Salt Soy Sauce/キッコーマン 特選丸大豆減塩しょうゆ. Ingredients: Soybeans (not genetically modified), wheat, salt/alcohol, acidulant, vitamin B1.

Product contains wheat and soybeans.

Under pressure from PETA, Kikkoman agreed to stop animal testing as of 2015, except when accountable to public safety or to comply with the demands of government authorities.

Their animal testing policy is here (English).

20190414_183704 (3)    20190414_183716 (3)

• Kikkoman Special Soy Sauce/キッコーマン 特選丸大豆しょうゆ. Ingredients: Soybeans (US) (not genetically modified), wheat, salt.

Product contains wheat and soybeans.

Under pressure from PETA, Kikkoman agreed to stop animal testing as of 2015, except when accountable to public safety or to comply with the demands of government authorities.

Their animal testing policy is here (English).

20190414_183704 (4).jpg    20190414_183716 (4)

SALAD

Vegan salads are available at most convenience stores, however you should check the salad carefully before you buy it because there are often things like small fish, meat or egg included in the salad. You also need to be careful with the dressing. It’s difficult to find vegan dressing in convenience store salads/sachets and restaurants in Japan, but supermarkets do have a good selection of possibly vegan choices. It can be a good idea to carry your own salad dressing with you. Choose something that does not need refrigeration, such as balsamic vinegar.

According to the website of the Japan Vinegar Institute Headquarters, brewed vinegar is made from things like grains such as rice, wheat, and corn, fruits, vegetables, sugar cane, honey, alcohol, etc., Therefore there is a possibility brewed vinegar is not vegan as it may contain honey. The salad dressings listed below all contain brewed vinegar.

salad-family-mart  salad-2-family-mart

Many convenience stores also sell bags of salad and whole tomatoes, if you would like to make the salad yourself.

Lawson:

This salad does not come with dressing (Dressing sold separately/ドレッシング別売り).

• Corn Salad/シャキッと コーンサラダ. Ingredients: Cabbage (domestically grown), corn (America), carrots (domestically grown), leaf lettuce (domestically grown), red cabbage (domestically grown).

20190302_165016.jpg

Family Mart:

• Prewashed Salad Mix/洗わずそのまま食べられる緑黄色野菜ミックス. Ingredients: Carrots (domestic), daikon radish (domestic), lettuce (domestic), spinach (domestic), romaine lettuce (domestic), green leaf (domestic), sunny lettuce (domestic), radicchio (American/Mexican), Japanese mustard greens (domestic), red cabbage (domestic), red bell pepper (Korean), yellow bell pepper (Korean).

20190713_172244 (2)    20190713_172307 (2)

Family Mart’s Japanese-Style Dressing/和風ドレッシング and Japanese-Style Low-Salt Dressing/減塩和風ドレッシング appear to possibly be vegan. They are available in single-size serving packets near the salads. The other single-serving dressing packets at Family Mart are not vegan.

• Family Mart Japanese-Style Dressing/ファミリーマート 和風ドレッシング. Ingredients: Sugar, vegetable fats and oils, soy sauce, brewed vinegar, onion, amino acids etc., salt, roasted onion paste, dried red pepper/seasoning (amino acids etc.), polysaccharide thickener, spice extract, flavoring. (Product contains wheat and soy.)

20190128_205545      20190128_205605

• Family Mart Japanese-Style Low-Salt Dressing/ファミリーマート 減塩和風ドレッシング. Ingredients: Vegetable fats and oils (contains soy), sugars (sugar, high-fructose corn syrup), brewed vinegar, soy sauce (contains wheat), processed soy sauce product (pure brew soy sauce), dried onion chips, rice fermented seasoning, processed olive product, salt, roasted onion, red bell pepper/seasoning, inorganic salt etc., thickener (xanthan), polyglutamic acid, iron gluconate. Product contains wheat and soy.

20190128_205538    20190128_205602

Lawson:

Although this single-serving size dressing is meant for chicken salad, and there is a picture of chicken on the package, it may be vegan according to the ingredient list.

• Sauce for Salad Chicken/サラダチキン(よだれ鶏用ソース). Ingredients: Vegetable oils and fats (domestically processed), soy sauce, brewed vinegar, high-fructose corn syrup, sesame, rice fermented seasoning, sugar, ginger, peanuts, salt, garlic paste, spices, yeast extract powder/seasoning (amino acids, etc.), thickener (xanthan gum), spice extract. (Product contains wheat, peanuts, sesame, and soybeans.)

20190213_220510 (2)  20190213_220524 (2)

None of the individual dressing packets near the salads at 7-11 or Natural Lawson are currently vegan.

Some stores also have a cup with things like carrot, cucumber and dip. The dip is not vegan at any of the convenience stores.

vegie-cup-family-martjpg

Convenience stores will sometimes have french fries and/or hash browns in the hot food section near the registers. In general, all the hot food will be cooked in common fryers (including items that contain animal ingredients). Exercise caution if you have food allergies or intolerances. It is common for these foods to contain palm oil.

HASHED POTATO

7/11:

Hashed potato/ハッシュポテトIngredients: Potato (not genetically modified), vegetable oil, salt, dried potato, wheat flour, glucose/spice extract.

Product contains wheat and soy.

As of July 2019, 7-11’s customer service stated that animal ingredients are not used for the hashed potato. 

The vegetable oil used in the hashed potato consists of rapeseed oil, palm oil, soybean oil and sunflower oil.

In addition, the frying oil used at Seven-Eleven stores is rapeseed oil and sunflower oil, but it also contains an ingredient derived from palm oil.

They also stated to please keep in mind that the product standards and ingredients used could be changed without notice.

Photo from website.

7-11 hashed potato

Family Mart:

• Hashed Potato/ハッシュドポテト. Ingredients: Potato, vegetable oil, salt, dried potato, onion powder, glucose, flavor, sodium pyrophosphate.

As of July 2019, customer service stated that animal ingredients (including meat, fish, dairy products and eggs) are not used.

The oil used in the hashed potatoes themselves is rapeseed oil, palm oil, soybean oil, corn oil, cottonseed oil or sunflower oil (depending on season and cost).

Until late July 2019, the Family Mart website stated that their fried items were fried in palm oil, however, that information seems to have now been removed from the website. However, their customer service confirmed that the oil used to fry the items still contains palm oil. They will not divulge the exact composition of the frying oil, however.

Photo from website. 

IMG_0215

FRENCH FRIES

Fried potatoes in the hot foods section of the convenience store, by the register, are a ‘maybe’. Per the allergy information on the 7-11 website, their French Fries and Double Potatoes only contain wheat and soy out of the 28 specified allergens, but as always the oil and seasoning used may be an issue.

Photos from website.

7-11 French Fries    7-11 Double Potatoes

The Family Mart fried potatoes come with your choice of two seasonings,トマトケチャップ/tomato ketchup or リアルソルトシーズニング/real salt seasoning. Neither show animal ingredients on the Family Mart fried food allergen chart.

The oil used in the fried potatoes themselves is rapeseed oil.

Until late July 2019, the Family Mart website stated that their fried items were fried in palm oil, however, that information seems to have now been removed from the website. However, their customer service confirmed that the oil used to fry the items still contains palm oil. They will not divulge the exact composition of the frying oil, however.

Photo from website.

Family Mart fried potatoes

Note: As of December 2020 the french fries are no longer viewable on the Family Mart website. Instead there is a Lightly Salted Koro-Jaga/ころじゃが(うす塩味) item. The allergen chart only shows soybeans as an allergen for this item.

Lightly Salted Koro-Jaga/ころじゃが(うす塩味).

Limited-edition and limited-quantity item.

Photo from website.

Lightly salted Koro jaga family mart

There are also frozen french fries that are meant to be microwaved as-is in the package. Some examples are shown below.

Family Mart:

• Mom’s Dining Room French Fries/お母さんの食堂フライドポテト. Ingredients: Potatoes, vegetable oil, salt, glucose/sodium pyrophosphate.

Product contains soy.

20190227_232024.jpg     20190227_232029

Lawson:

• Lawson Select French Fries/ローソンセレクトフライドポテトIngredients: Potatoes, vegetable oil, dextrin, salt, rice flour, starch, glucose/modified starch, leavening agent, thickener (xanthan gum), carotenoid pigment. 

20190404_145819 (2).jpg    20190404_145815 (2).jpg

•7-11 Microwave French Fries/レンジでフライドポテト. Ingredients: Potatoes, vegetable oil, glucose/sodium phyrophosphate.

Product contains wheat.

20191102_163700 (2)    20191102_163708 (2)

• 7-11 Shoestring French Fries/ 細切りフライドポテト. Ingredients: Potatoes, vegetable oil, glucose/sodium pyrophosphate. (Product contains wheat.)

20190404_150534 (2)    20190404_150528 (2)

As of February 2020, 7-11’s daigaku imo (a sweetened potato dessert) has honey, so is not suitable for vegans.

daigakuimo

EDAMAME

These salted young soy beans in the pod are available in most convenience stores, but the best bets are 7-11 and Family Mart.

20181219_082814    20181219_082821

FOOD TO MAKE A MEAL

If you are able to cook for yourself while you are in Japan it is handy to know that you can buy the ingredients to make a basic vegan meal – vegetables, tofu and cooked rice – at a convenience store! There are often bags of cut vegetables as well as whole vegetables like potatoes, carrots and eggplants. Just be sure not to accidentally purchase one mixed with meat, for example 7-11’s spinach with bacon (labeled as such in English on the front of the package).

Family Mart:

20181116_205557    20181121_233240

20181121_233314

Photos of Mom’s Dining Room Colorful Veggie Mix taken in May 2021. The mix is prewashed and can be used as-is.

Mom’s Dining Room Colorful Veggie Mix/お母さんの食堂 洗わずそのまま食べられる彩り野菜ミックス. Ingredients: Daikon radish (domestically produced), lettuce (domestically produced), green leaf lettuce (domestically produced), carrot (domestically produced), Japanese mustard greens (domestically produced), red cabbage (domestically produced), red bell pepper (domestically produced), yellow bell pepper (domestically produced). 

Mom’s Dining Room Colorful Veggie Mix    Mom’s Dining Room Colorful Veggie Mix back of package

NewDays:

20181122_134804-1    20181122_134809

20181122_134812

These Asahico Tofu Bars in Citrus Peel & Japanese Pepper Paste and Japanese Dashi flavors are unfortunately not vegan, because they contain skipjack tuna (bonito) fish extract, katsuobushi ekisu/かつお節エキス.

Asahiko Tofu Bar Citrus Peel and Japanese Pepper Paste    Asahiko Tofu Bar Citrus Peel and Japanese Pepper Paste back of package

Asahiko Tofu Bar Japanese Dashi    Asahiko Tofu Bar Japanese Dashi back of package

FRUIT

Many convenience stores sell a good range of fruit, including bananas, frozen blueberries, frozen mango, kiwifruit and pineapple. Some is cut and packaged, some is dried, while some is whole.

Family Mart:

Frozen pineapple, frozen apple mango, frozen mixed berries (strawberries, blueberries and raspberries), frozen whole mandarin, frozen blueberries.

20181121_233508    20190119_003937

The same frozen mandarins in the photo above are also available in boxes in various convenience stores, especially in summer.

• Hatchando Peeled Mandarin/八ちゃん堂 むかんみかん. Ingredients: Mandarins (domestically grown).

20190207_175114

7/11:

Frozen mixed fruits, pineapple stick, oranges, grapes, apple mango, strawberries, blueberries, grapefruit, and golden pineapple.

The mixed fruit on the top left contain banana, mango, pineapple/antioxidant (Vitamin C). The strawberries, 果実そのままいちご, contain just strawberries.

20190106_174349

Frozen Mango Sticks may also be available at 7-11.

• Mango Stick/マンゴースティック. Ingredient: Mango.

20191102_163624    20191102_163630

• Just Melon/果実そのままメロン. Ingredient: Melon.

melon    melon back

Some convenience stores also carry sliced apples. One widely available product is called:

• Apple Sweets/アップルスイーツ. Ingredients: Apples (grown in Japan), trehalose, antioxidant (Vitamin C), calcium carbonate.

20180526_170248 (2)    20180526_170256 - Copy

Mini Stop:

Topvalu Delicious As-Is Sliced Apples/トップバリュ おいしさそのままカっとりんご. Ingredients: Apples/trehalose, antioxidant (vitamin C), calcium carbonate.

20190404_160822 (2).jpg    20190404_160827 (2)

Family Mart:

• Tsugaru Apples/津軽りんご. Ingredients: Apples (Aomori-grown), salt/antioxidant (vitamin C), pH stabilizer.

Uses Tsugaru Apples from Aomori Prefecture.

20190413_072435 (2)    20190413_072442 (2)

7/11:

• 7-11 Peeled apple/皮むきりんご Ingredients: Apple, maltose, salt/antioxidant (vitamin C)

40337712_10155750857590418_6642665848139939840_o.jpg    40330151_10155750857840418_2379533889119977472_o

7-11 also carry a line of cut fruits, including kiwi, pineapple, white peach and mikan. The white peach and mikan include flavoring.

40293603_10155750858035418_5820596982992863232_o

• 7 Premium Peeled Apple/セブンプレミアム 皮むきりんご. Ingredients: Apple, maltose, salt, antioxidant (vitamin C). Product contains apples. 

20190420_140459 (2)    20190420_140509 (2)

•  7 Premium Pineapple/セブンプレミアム パイナップル. Ingredient: Pineapple.

20190420_140456 (2)    20190420_140504 (2)

7 Premium White Peach/セブンプレミアム 白桃. Ingredients: White peach (China), saccharides (high-fructose corn syrup, galactooligosaccharides), concentrated peach juice/citric acid, antioxidant (vitamin C), sweeteners (acesulfame K, sucralose, Neotame), flavoring.

7-11 fruits (2)    20190227_104536 (2)

Newdays:

These tasty dried apples with sweetener are a light snack.

• Apple Chips from Aomori/青森のりんごちっぷす. Ingredients: Apples (grown in Aomori), vegetable oil, maltotriose syrup.

20180323_203806    20180323_203815

Most convenience stores in Japan should have fresh bananas.

20181215_143559

NUTS

Most convenience stores have a good selection of nuts, for example peanuts, cashews, almonds, pistachios, walnuts and chestnuts. Check the package to make sure you are just buying nuts, as sometimes nuts are sold mixed with small dried fish and other non-vegan ingredients.

In Japan, “butter peanuts” can sometimes mean that butter made from cow’s milk was added as an ingredient (“butter oil/バターオイル”), and sometimes just seems to be referring to a type of peanut, with vegetable oil used in place of dairy. Check the label carefully before buying.

Peanuts will generally be the cheapest type of nut available.

Here are a few examples of nuts that you can find in convenience stores.

7-11:

• Ton’s Brand Almonds & Cashew Nuts/アーモンド&カシューナッツ. Ingredients: Almonds (from U.S.A.), cashew nuts (from India), vegetable fats and oils, salt.

Manufactured in the same facility as items containing wheat, shrimp, peanuts, and other ingredients.

20190201_171858.jpg    20190201_171904

• 7/11 Butter Peanuts/7-11こだわりのバタピー are not vegan as they have butter oil/バターオイル.

20190201_171633    20190201_171638

• 7/11 Unglazed Mixed Nuts/素焼きミックスナッツ. Ingredients: Almonds (U.S.A.), cashew nuts (India), walnuts (U.S.A.), macadamia nuts (Australia).

Manufactured in the same facility as items containing dairy, wheat and peanuts.

20190202_123255    20190202_123251

CHIPS

Daily Yamazaki:

• Ryomi 100 Sen Potato Chips, Lightly Salted/良味100選 ポテトチップスうすしお味. Ingredients: Potatoes (not genetically modified), vegetable oil, salt, protein hydrolyzate (contains soybeans)/seasoning (amino acids, etc.)

Processed on shared equipment with items containing egg, dairy, and wheat.

These are potentially vegan. Since protein hydrolyzate can be made from animal or plant sources, it’s unclear whether only soy/vegetable protein hydrolyzate was used to make these chips.

20190314_130507 (3).jpg    20190314_130514 (3).jpg

• Family Mart Potato Sticks, Lightly Salted/ファミリーマート じゃかスティックあっさりうま塩味.Ingredients: Potato powder (not genetically modified), starch, vegetable oil, wheat flour, salt, kombu seaweed extract powder, dextrin, sugar/processed starch, seasoning (amino acids, etc.), calcium carbonate.

Manufactured on common equipment with products containing egg, dairy, crab, and shrimp.

Made in collaboration with Calbee.

20190220_220415    20190220_220421

The photos of the Family Mart Savory Nori and Salt Potato Chips were taken in May 2021. There is a sentence saying the nori and sea lettuce are harvested using a fishing method where shrimp and crab are mixed together with the nori and sea lettuce.

• Family Mart Potato Chips Savory Nori and Salt/ファミリーマート ポテトチップス濃いめのり塩. Ingredients: Potatoes (domestic; not genetically modified), vegetable oil, salt, nori, sea lettuce, red chili pepper/seasoning (amino acids, etc.).

Of the specified allergens, manufactured in a factory that handles products containing shrimp, crab, wheat, egg, and dairy. 

Made by Kokeiya.

Family Mart Potato Chips Savory Nori & Salt    Family Mart Potato Chips Savory Nori & Salt back of package

The following photos of the Family Mart Thick Wavy Potato Chips were taken in May 2021. The product uses 100% sun-dried salt.

Family Mart Thick Wavy Potato Chips/波型厚切りポテトチップス うましお味. Ingredients: Potatoes (domestic or American), vegetable oil, salt, dextrin, yeast extract powder/seasoning (amino acids, etc.).

Made on the same equipment as products containing shrimp, crab, wheat, egg, and dairy.

Made by Calbee.

Family Mart Wavy Thick Potato Chips    Family Mart Wavy Thick Potato Chips back of package

These photos of the Family Mart Thick Wavy Salt & Seaweed Potato Chips were also taken in May 2021. There is a sentence on the package saying the seaweed (for the toasted seaweed) is harvested using a fishing method where shrimp and crab are mixed together with the seaweed.

Family Mart Thick Wavy Salt & Seaweed Potato Chips/波型厚切りポテトチップス のりしお味. Ingredients: Potatoes (domestic or American), vegetable oil, dextrin, salt, toasted seaweed, starch/seasoning (amino acids, etc.), flavoring.

Made on the same equipment as products containing shrimp, crab, wheat, egg, and dairy.

Made by Calbee.

Family Mart Thick Wavy Salt & Seaweed Potato Chips    Family Mart Thick Wavy Salt & Seaweed Potato Chips back of package

Mini Stop:

The following product may be vegan, depending on what the hydrolyzed protein is made out of.

• Mini Stop Calbee Sapporo Potato Speckled Vegetables/Mini Stop カルビー サッポロポテトつぶつぶベジタブル. Ingredients: Wheat, vegetable oil, Irish Cobbler potatoes (not genetically modified), potato starch, dehydrated potatoes, corn starch, sugar, spinach, salt, top-grade rice flour made from non-glutinous rice, carrot, bell pepper, kabocha squash powder, tomato paste, onion powder, red bell pepper paste, red beet powder, hydrolyzed protein/ seasoning (amino acid etc.), trehalose, pH adjusting agent, sweetener (licorice). (Product contains wheat.)

Manufactured in the same production process as items containing egg, dairy, shrimp, and crab.

Stick-shaped snacks. Includes 7 kinds of vegetables.

20190314_131829 (2)    20190314_131838 (2)

• Mini Stop Lightly Salted Potato Chips/Mini Stop ポテトチップスうすしお味. Ingredients: Potatoes (not genetically modified), vegetable oil, salt, dextrin, sugar, seasoning (amino acids, etc.)

This product is made in a plant that also processes items including egg, dairy, wheat, shrimp, and crab (of the top 7 allergens).

20190314_131759 (2).jpg    20190314_131810 (2)

Mini Stop Salt Only Tortilla Chips/Mini Stop 塩のみで味付けしたトルティアチップス. Ingredients: Corn (not genetically modified), vegetable oil, salt.

This product is made in a plant that also processes items including egg, milk, wheat, shrimp, and crab (of the top 7 allergens).

20190314_131652 (3)    20190314_131704 (2)

• Mini Stop Strong Laver & Salt Potato Chips/Mini Stop 濃いめのり塩. Ingredients: Potatoes (not genetically modified), vegetable oil, salt, nori, sea lettuce, red pepper, seasoning (amino acids, etc.).

Out of the top 7 allergens, this product was made in the same factory as items containing five of them: egg, milk, wheat, shrimp, and crab.

There is also a sentence saying the nori and sea lettuce are harvested using a fishing method where shrimp and crab are mixed together with the nori and sea lettuce.

Both kinds of seaweeds and the salt are domestically produced. Product appears to be made in collaboration with Koikeya.

20190314_131744 (3).jpg    20190314_131738 (3).jpg

Mini Stop convenience store also sells this product with its own branding on it.

• Mini Stop Tohato Poteco, Lightly Salted/東ハト ポテコ・うすしお味. Ingredients: Dehydrated potato (not genetically modified), vegetable oil, salt/processed starch, seasoning (amino acids, etc.), antioxidant (vitamin E).

Manufactured on common equipment with items containing: egg, dairy, wheat, peanuts, shrimp, and crab.

Ring-shaped potato snacks. 15 percent of the salt used is from Okinawa Prefecture.

20190314_131857 (2)    20190314_131908 (2)

NewDays:

NewDays convenience stores are located in and next to JR East train stations. This photo was taken in a branch of NewDays in May 2021. The front of the package of both of these flavors of Hunter’s Gourmet Hand Cooked Potato Chips say “vegan” in English.

• Hunter’s Gourmet Himalayan Pink Salt and Black Truffle Hand Cooked Potato Chips.
 
Himalayan Pink Salt flavor: Ingredients: Potatoes, vegetable oil, salt.
 
Of the 7 specified allergens, items containing peanuts, wheat, and dairy are manufactured in the same factory.
 
Black Truffle flavor: Ingredients: Potatoes, vegetable oil, seasoning (maltodextrin, salt, sugar)/flavoring.
 
Of the 7 specified allergens, items containing peanuts, wheat, and dairy are manufactured in the same factory.
 
Hunter’s Hand Cooked Potato Chips Himalayan Pink Salt and Black Truffle    Hunter’s Hand Cooked Potato Chips Himalayan Pink Salt and Black Truffle ingredient list
 

7-11:

• 7-11 Salt potato chips (with salt from Ishigaki island)/7-11石垣の塩で味付け厚切りポテト  Ingredients: potatoes (not genetically modified), vegetable oil, salt (100% salt from Ishigaki island used), corn starch, yeast extract powder, kombu powder.

7-11’s customer service has stated that they don’t know if their fresh products like anman and rice balls have small amounts of animal products since they are made in different locations across the country (with the exception of the salt onigiri, which is animal-ingredient free). It isn’t clear if their packaged items like chips are the same.

20190114_173512    20190114_173528

• 7-11 Lightly Salted Potato Chips/7-11 うま味広がるうましお味ポテトチップス. Ingredients: Potatoes (not genetically modified), vegetable oil, salt, kombu seaweed extract powder, yeast extract powder/seasoning (amino acids, etc.)

Manufactured in the same factory as items containing egg, dairy, wheat, shrimp, and crab.

Salt is 100% sea salt from Naruto, Shikoku.

20190220_215328    20190220_215339 (1)

• YBC Chip Star Lightly Salted/YBC チップスターうすしお味. Ingredients: Potato flakes, vegetable fats and oils, salt/emulsifier, seasoning (amino acids etc).

Manufactured on common equipment with items containing egg, milk, wheat, shrimp, and crab.

As of 2017, a blog reader reported that the company confirmed this product contains no animal ingredients, meaning the emulsifier and amino acids are not animal-based.

20190131_112354 - Copy (2) - Copy    20190131_112409 - Copy

• YBC Chip Star Salted Laver/YBC チップスターのりしお味. Ingredients: Potato flakes, vegetable fats and oils, nori, salt/emulsifier, seasoning (amino acids, etc.)

Manufactured on common equipment with products containing egg, milk, wheat, shrimp, and crab.

20190131_112354 - Copy (2)   20190131_112409

POPCORN

Family Mart:

Photos taken in May 2021.

• Crispy Fluffy Popcorn with Two Kinds of Salt/ふんわりポップコーン2種のあっさりしお味. Ingredients: Corn (non-genetically modified), vegetable oil, salt.

Two kinds of salt are used, Shimamars from Okinawa and Setouchi sea salt.

Not available in some parts of the Tokai region.

Family Mart Crispy Fluffy Popcorn with Two Kinds of Salt    Family Mart Crispy Fluffy Popcorn with Two Kinds of Salt back of package

Mini Stop:

• Mini Stop Everyday Treats Salted Popcorn/Mini Stop ポップコーンしお味. Ingredients: Corn (not genetically modified), vegetable oil, salt.

Products containing shrimp, crab, wheat, egg, and milk are also processed in the same factory.

20190314_131935 (2)    20190314_131926 (2)

SWEET POTATO 

In addition to sweet potato chips, there are many other kinds of sweet potato snacks in Japan. Here are just a few that you may be able to find.

These Calbee sweet potato sticks were found at a branch of Lawson convenience store in April 2021.

• Calbee Annou Imo Stick/カルビー 安納芋スティック. Ingredients: Sweet potatoes (100% Anno Imo potatoes from Kagoshima Prefecture), vegetable oil.

Manufactured using shared equipment with items containing egg, dairy, wheat, shrimp, and crab.

Calbee Annou Imo Stick    Calbee Annou Imo Stick back of package

COOKIES 

Morinaga, the largest confectionary company in Japan with over a 100-year history, has a line of macrobiotic biscuits called Macrobiha. They are carried in many of the major convenience store chains as well as some drugstores and grocery stores.

The Morinaga Macrobiha biscuit website says that margarine, shortening, flavorings, emulsifier, animal ingredients, and white sugar are not used.

Per an article in LiveKindly in November 2018, Morinaga has agreed to cease all animal testing not required by law.

• Morinaga Macrobiha Almond and Cranberry/マクロビ派アーモンドとクランベリー.Ingredients: Oat flakes, edible rapeseed oil, sugar (beet sugar), flour, whole wheat flour, dried cranberry with juice (cranberry, concentrated apple juice, edible sunflower oil), almonds, brown rice flakes, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, salt.

Macrobiha almond and cranberry    macrobiha almond and cranberry back of package  almond and cranberry macrobiha biscuit large package

• Morinaga Macrobiha Three Kinds of Nuts and Cacao/マクロビ派3種のナッツと香りばさしカカオ. Ingredients: Sugar (beet sugar), oat flakes, edible rapeseed oil, flour, whole wheat flour, almonds, walnuts, hazelnuts, sunflower seeds, cocoa powder, salt.

macrobiha 3 nuts and cacao front of package    Macrobiha 3 nuts and cacao back of package    3 Kinds of Nuts & Savory Cacao Macrobiha biscuit large

The previous biscuit flavors are shown below and as of March 2020, are still available for purchase online.

• Morinaga Macrobiha Cocoa and Nuts/マクロビ派カカオナッツ. Ingredients: Sugar (made from sugar beets), flour, oat flakes, edible rapeseed oil, almonds, brown rice flakes, cocoa powder, sunflower seeds, hazelnuts, pumpkin seeds, salt/vanilla flavor.

Product contains wheat.

Processed on the same equipment as items containing egg and milk.

20190414_183418 (4)    20190414_183444 (2).jpg

20190414_191024 (4)    20190414_191036 (4)

• Morinaga Macrobiha Fruit & Granola/マクロビ派 フルーツグラノーラ. Ingredients: Oat flakes, edible rapeseed oil, sugar (made from sugar beets), wheat flour, whole grain wheat flour, dried cranberry with juice added (cranberry, concentrated apple juice, edible sunflower oil), brown rice flakes, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, almonds, salt/vanilla flavor.

Product contains wheat and apples.

Processed on the same equipment as items containing egg and milk.

20190414_183418 (3).jpg    20190414_191036 (3)

20190414_191024 (3)    20190414_191036 (3)

These Veganz granola bites (Chocolate Banana and Coconut Almond) are similar to cookies. They were found April 2021 in a branch of NewDays convenience store (the ones attached to JR East train stations). The chain of stores called Biople by Cosme Kitchen also has these as of April 2021. You can use them as a topping (for example, on non-dairy yogurt) or just eat as-is.

• Veganz granola bites, Chocolate Banana and Coconut Almond.

Veganz granola bites    Veganz granola bites back of package

BARS

SOYJOY crispy, according to the manufacturer’s website, Otsuka Pharmaceuticals, are “nutritional foods made with whole soybean flour, fruits and nuts, containing no wheat. They offer a smart and delicious way to enjoy the nutritional goodness of soy, including vegetable protein, soy isoflavones, and dietary fiber.”

SOYJOY crispy contain sugar that is confirmed to have been whitened using the bone char processing method.

As Otsuka Pharmaceuticals is a pharmaceutical company, they surely do animal testing, but we don’t have information on if this specific product was developed using animal testing.

SOYJOY crispy comes in three flavors, banana, mixed berry, and white macadamia (contains non-dairy white chocolate made of soy). Two past flavors, peach and plain, are still available for online purchase on websites such as Rakuten as of September 2020.

Regular SOYJOY (not SOYJOY crispy) contain egg and butter. Be sure to check that the package says “crispy” in English, as otherwise the packaging is virtually identical.

SOYJOY crispy is manufactured on the same equipment as items containing egg, milk and peanuts.

More information can be found on the English-language Otsuka Pharmaceuticals website

• Otsuka Pharmaceuticals SOYJOY Crispy, Banana/大塚製薬 ソイジョイ クリスピー バナナ. Ingredients: Soy flour (non genetically modified), margarine, puffed soy (soy protein, tapioca starch), processed banana, banana puree, processed pineapple, non-digestible dextrin, sugar, agave syrup, salt/sorbitol, flavoring.

20181126_151823 - Copy (2)

• Otsuka Pharmaceuticals SOYJOY Crispy, Mixed Berry/大塚製薬 ソイジョイ クリスピー ミックスベリー. Soy flour (Japan-processed, non genetically modified), margarine, puffed soy (soy protein, tapioca starch), sugar, processed cranberry, processed raspberry, non-digestible dextrin, processed strawberry, salt/flavoring.

20190130_232537 - Copy (2)

20190130_232548 - Copy (2)

• Otsuka Pharmaceuticals SOYJOY Crispy, Peach/大塚製薬 ソイジョイ クリスピー ピーチ. Ingredients: Soy flour (non genetically modified), margarine, puffed soy (soy protein, tapioca starch), processed peach, sugar, non-digestible dextrin, processed papaya, processed orange peel/flavoring, sorbitol.

20181126_151823 - Copy (3).jpg

• Otsuka Pharmaceuticals SOYJOY Crispy, Plain/大塚製薬 ソイジョイ クリスピー プレーン. Soy flour (Japan-processed, non genetically modified), margarine, puffed soy (soy protein, tapioca starch), sugar, processed papaya, processed pineapple, non-digestible dextrin, salt/flavoring.

20190130_232537 - Copy

20190130_232548 - Copy

• Otsuka Pharmaceuticals SOYJOY Crispy, White Macadamia/大塚製薬 ソイジョイ クリスピー ホワイトマカデミア. Ingredients: Soy flour (Japan-processed, non genetically modified), margarine, puffed soy (soy protein, tapioca starch), soymilk chocolate (sugar, cocoa butter, soy powder, other), sugar, non-digestible dextrin, macadamia nut, soy protein, salt/flavoring.

20190130_232537 - Copy (3).jpg

20190130_232548 - Copy (3)

The UHA Mikakuto Vegan Cacao Bars are from the same company as a previous series called Happy Dates bars and feature similar flavors, but with more stripped-down ingredient lists. The photo was taken in a branch of Family Mart in April 2021.

• UHA Mikakuto Vegan Cacao Bar, Roasted Almond/UHA ビーガンカカオばー ローストアーモンド. Ingredients: Date paste (dates (from Iran)), cacao mass, jaggery, almonds, cocoa powder, salt (sea salt from Miyakojima)

Product contains almonds.

Vegan Cacao Bar Roasted Almond Family Mart

STEAMED BUN FILLED WITH SWEET BEAN PASTE (あんまん – ANMAN)

Near the convenience store counter you can find a warming oven containing anman and nikuman (steamed buns filled with meat).

Lawson:

This product uses pork based shortening and lard in the batter, dehydrated eggs and also dairy in rice fermentation.

7/11:

As of January 2020, the ingredient list (pictured below) does not show any animal ingredients. However, 7/11 customer service cannot confirm for sure if their products contain animal ingredients, as if it’s a small quantity it doesn’t appear on the ingredients or allergen list. It is possible 7-11 anman has some pork or other animal-derived ingredients.

Chinese Manjū/中華まんじゅう. Ingredients: Wheat, adzuki bean paste, sugars (sugar, starch syrup), vegetable oil (contains peanuts) black sesame paste, black sesame, yeast, wheat protein, salt, starch, agar, soybean flour/pH stabilizer.

anpan 7-11

Family Mart:

As of February 2020, their website states here that both the buns (simple and with sesame) contain dairy products.

grain-anman-family-mart

CHOCOLATES

Asahi Ippon Manzoku Bar Cereal Black 80% Less Sugar/一本満足バー シリアルブラック 糖質80%オフ. Ingredients: Maltitol, cocoa mass, corn flakes, vegetable oil, macadamia nuts, dextrin, wheat puffs (wheat, starch, other ingredients) raisins, cocoa powder, cocoa butter,  glucomannan/cellulose, emulsifier, flavoring, vitamin E, sweetener (sucralose), vitamin B6, vitamin B2, vitamin B1, vitamin B12.

Product contains wheat, dairy and soybeans.

This is a chocolate bar that has been fortified with some vitamins, including 1.1 mcg of B12. 

The company has stated that it contains no animal ingredients. However, it may have cross-contamination from milk being processed in the same factory or on the same line, so in this case, the warning on the package that makes it look as if dairy is an ingredient (“product contains…dairy”) only means that particles may be present from cross-contamination. Be sure to get the one in the black packaging as the others have animal ingredients such as milk. It can be found in many convenience stores (as well as some drugstores).

The blog sushivoyage.net (Japanese) states that the vegetable oil partially consists of palm oil.

20190314_131208 (2)    20190314_131245 (2)

FRUIT JELLY

Most jelly in Japan is made with agar (seaweed) rather than gelatin, although you should still check the list of ingredients. Coffee jelly may be a notable exception. Look for:

gelatine ゼラチン zerachin (this is made of animal collagen and is not vegan)
agar/agar agar 天草 / 寒天 てんぐさ / かんてん tengusa / kanten (this is made of seaweed)
gelling/setting agent ゲル化剤 gerukazai (can be either an animal-based or plant-based ingredient)

img_3586.jpg

The jellies on offer seem to change quite frequently. Here are a few examples of items that were available in May 2020 in a branch of Family Mart.

• I Want to Eat A Lot Soda Flavored Jelly with Nata de Coco/たっぷり食べたい ナタデココ入りソーダ風味. Ingredients: Nata de coco (manufactured overseas), erithrytol, concentrated apple juice/acidulant, gelling agent (thickening polysaccharide), calcium lactate, sweetener (aspartame L-phenylalanine compound), acesulfame K, flavoring, antioxidant (vitamin C), emulsifier, gardenia pigment.

Product contains apples.

Made in a factory that manufactures items containing dairy and eggs.

soda jelly

• I Want to Eat a Lot Strawberry Jelly/たっぷり食べたい いちごゼリー. Ingredients: Sugar/high-fructose corn syrup (domestically produced), nata de coco, sugar, strawberry puree/acidulant, gelling agent (thickening polysaccharide), flavoring, emulsifier, carotenoid pigment.

Product contains soybeans.

Made in a factory that manufactures items containing dairy and eggs.

Strawberry jelly

• Refreshing Mandarin Jelly/シャキッと食感みかんゼリー. Ingredients: Mandarin, sugar, high-fructose corn syrup/acidulant, gelling agent (thickening polysaccharides), antioxidant (vitamin C), flavoring, emulsifier, calcium lactate.

Made in a factory that manufactures items containing dairy and eggs.

Mikan jelly (2)    Mikan jelly side of package (2)

Sometimes jelly drinks are available. This one is frozen.

•  Dydo Puru Shari Unshuu Mikan Jelly/ダイドー ぷるシャリ温州みかんゼリー. Ingredients: High-fructose corn syrup, unshuu mikan juice, starch syrup, salt/acidulant, potassium phosphate, gelling agent (polysaccharide thickener), flavoring, potassium chloride, carotenoid pigment, vitamin C, sweeteners (Acesulfame K, sucralose).

20190626_074647 (2)    20190626_074652 (2)

PUDDING

As of May 2021, it’s reported that you might be able to find the following product in some branches of Family Mart.

Ezaki Glico pudding, per the press release, is made without animal ingredients. Customer service has reported that the sugars are not bone char processed and that the product contains palm oil. Glico does not do animal experiments for its food products. They do animal testing when required by law for medical items. Their statement in Japanese regarding animal testing is:

グリコの動物実験 食品については行っていない。 同社にて取り扱いの業務用の医療用素材については 法律が必要とする場合に行っている。

Be sure to get the one marked “植物生まれの” on the top of the package as the others have non-vegan ingredients in them.

• Ezaki Glico Born From Plants Pucchin Pudding, Family Pack/植物生まれのプッチンプリン ファミリーパック and Ezaki Glico Born From Plants Big Pucchin Pudding/植物生まれのBigプッチンプリンIngredients: Soymilk (domestically produced), sugar, starch syrup, vegetable oil, roasted sugar, almond paste, salt, agar/thickening agent (polysaccharide thickener), flavoring, emulsifier, pH adjusting agent, carotenoid pigment, caramel pigment.

Product contains soybeans and almonds.

glico pudding    IMG_20200318_222852_2

JAPANESE-STYLE SWEETS

You can usually find traditional style Japanese sweets in convenience stores. For example, daifuku, anmitsu (on left side below – check for honey) and zenzai (on right side below):

anmitsu-maybe-honey-711  zenzai-711

Tengudou Walnut Mochi/天狗堂くるみ餅. Ingredients: Sugar (Hokkaido beet sugar, starch syrup, wheat flour, walnut, glutinous rice flour, red bean paste (Hokkaido-grown adzuki beans), soy sauce, starch (Hokkaido potato starch)/calcium carbonate.

Product contains soybeans.

Products that include milk, sesame, and apple are handled at the same facility.

20190815_142244 (2)    20190815_142251 (2)

BEVERAGES

COFFEE

There will generally be a coffee machine by the register where black coffee will be available.

The lattes will all be made with dairy, so will not be vegan.

7 11 coffee machine

Black coffee is available in bottles/cans. Some of the black coffee in bottles/cans have flavorings and emulsifiers, while others do not. Here are a few examples of some of the black coffees that are available.

• Boss The Espresso Black/ボス ザ・エスプレッソ ブラック. Ingredients: Coffee, flavoring.

20190418_164051 (2).jpg    20190418_164046 (2).jpg

• UCC BLACK COLD BREW PET 500ml. Ingredient: Coffee.

No sugar, no flavorings.

20190404_152236 (2).jpg

•  UCC Black No Sugar Wholly Brewed Roasted Coffee, Cold/UCC BLACK無糖 缶香料無添加 ROASTED COFFEE 100%.

No added flavoring, unsweetened.

20190412_234353 (2).jpg

•  UCC Black No Sugar Coffee, Hot.

No added sugar, no flavorings.

20190412_234356 (2)

Family Mart

This Kikkoman Soy Latte was spotted in a branch of Family Mart in May 2020. Kikkoman products tend to have a wide distribution range so it may be available in other stores as well. Kikkoman has stated that they do use bone-char processed sugar in their soymilk drinks.

Under pressure from PETA, Kikkoman agreed to stop animal testing as of 2015, except when accountable to public safety or to comply with the demands of government authorities.

Their animal testing policy is here (English).

• Kikkoman Soy Latte/キッコーマンソイラテ.  Ingredients: Soybeans (from Canada or America) (non-genetically modified), sugar, coffee, rice oil, sun-dried salt, flavoring, calcium lactate, emulsifier, thickener (carrageenan).

Product contains soy.

Kikkoman Soy Latte (2)    Kikkoman Soy Latte back of package (2)

Family Mart:

This soybean flour soy latte was spotted in Family Mart in October 2020, at about the same time a similar item (but with dairy whipped cream) was released as a drink in Doutor cafes.

Doutor Kinako Soy Latte/Doutor きなこ豆乳ラテ. Ingredients: Soymilk (domestically produced), sugar, caramel sauce, brown sugar syrup, sweetened soybean flour, salt/emulsifier, flavoring, pH adjusting agent, cellulose, trehalose, stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener).

Product contains soybeans.

Doutor Kinako Soy Latte front of package    Doutor Kinako Soy Latte back of package

This Morinaga Mt. Rainier Soy Latte was found in a branch of Family Mart in September 2020. While the company originally stated it is “also recommended for vegans,” per the company, the emulsifier contains animal product(s). The company amended their website to correct the information, stating “Product contains animal ingredient(s)/一部動物性の原料を使用しております.”

Mt. Rainier Soy Latte/ソイラテ. Ingredients: Soymilk (contains soybeans), high-fructose corn syrup, coffee/cellulose, flavoring, emulsifier, stabilizer (carageenan).

Out of the 27 specified allergens, this product contains soybeans.

Last photo from website.

Mt rainier soy latte    IMG_1029

morinaga mt. rainier new statement

The Starbucks Silky Soy Latte mix says “plant-based” in English on the package. It’s available at retailers including Family Mart convenience stores and Aeon. It’s a Nestle product. Photo taken April 2021.

Starbucks Silky Soy Latte/スターバックス なめらか ソイ ラテ. Ingredients: Vegetable creaming powder (powdered starch syrup, vegetable oil, rice flour, rice protein hydrolyzate), soymilk powder (soybeans, maltose), coffee, sugar, salt/calcium carbonate, baking soda, citric acid, sunflower lecithin, flavoring.

Of the 28 specified allergens, product contains soybeans.

Online purchase link: Rakuten Ichiba

Starbucks Silky Soy Latte    Starbucks Silky Soy Latte back of package

Mini Stop:

Soy Latte/ソイラテ. Ingredients: Soymilk (contains soy), sugar, coffee, vegetable oil, dextrin, salt/emulsifier, stabilizer (carrageenan), flavoring.

100% non-adjusted soymilk (無調整豆乳- mu chōsei tōnyū) used.

The previous version of this product had the same ingredient list, except the salt and emulsifier were listed without a backslash between them, but different packaging. The Vegana No Japao blog (now defunct) contacted customer service about the previous version of this product and confirmed that at that time, the emulsifier was made of plants. It is not clear if the same emulsifier is still being used.

Contains 13mg of isoflavones.

Mini Stop Soy Latte front of package    Mini Stop Soy Latte back of package

NON-DAIRY MILKS (ALMOND, COCONUT, MACADAMIA, OAT, SOY)

ALMOND MILK

• Glico Almond Effects – No Sugar/Glicoアーモンド効果砂糖不使用. Ingredients: Almond paste, dietary fiber (inulin), table salt, processed almond oil/pH adjusting agent, cellulose, calcium citrate, emulsifier, flavoring, thickener (xanthan gum), vitamin E.

Contains none of the 27 allergens.

52605760_10156601490088515_2946332738828894208_n    52935802_10156601490028515_120734103375970304_n - Copy.jpg

Unfortunately the Original flavor is not vegan as it contains honey.

• Glico Almond Effects Original/Glico アーモンド効果 オリジナル. Ingredients: Almond paste, sugar, dietary fiber (inulin), dextrin, high-fructose corn syrup, honey, vegetable oil, salt, processed almond oil/pH adjusting agent, flavoring, cellulose, calcium citrate, emulsifier, thickener (xanthan gum), vitamin E.

20190225_215056    20190225_215104

This drink was found in a branch of Family Mart in September 2020. Note that euglena is considered to be neither a plant nor an animal, but a single-celled protist.

• Pokka Sapporo Almond Breeze Almond Milk and Euglena/W ドブルサポート アーモンドミルク & ユーグレナ. Ingredients: Sugar, almond paste, dextrin, vegetable oil, salt, Euglena gracilis powder, calcium phosphate, potassium citrate, emulsifier, stabilizer (gellan), flavoring, vitamin E.

Pokka Sapporo Almond Milk & Euglena cropped    Pokka Sapporo Almond Milk & Euglena ingredient list cropped

COCONUT MILK DRINKS

Coconut milk drinks produced in Japan generally have dairy added.

This Family Mart Tapioca Coconut Milk drink, manufactured by Elbee, is not vegan as it has collagen peptides/コラーゲンペプチド/corāgen pepuchido, defatted powdered milk/脱脂粉乳/dasshifun’nyū, sodium caseinate/カゼインナトリウム/kazein’natoriumu, squid ink/イカ墨/ikasumi (as a colorant), and shellfish calcium/貝カルシウム/kai karushiumu.

Family Mart Tapioca Coconut Milk    Family Mart Tapioca Coconut Milk back of package

MACADAMIA NUT MILK  

The front of the package on these Kikkoman Macadamia Milk products reads “cow’s milk and soymilk not used/牛乳・豆乳不使用/gyūnyū tōnyū fushiyou.”

Kikkoman has stated that they do use bone-char processed sugar in their soymilk drinks, so the same may be true for these macadamia milk drinks.

Under pressure from PETA, Kikkoman agreed to stop animal testing as of 2015, except when accountable to public safety or to comply with the demands of government authorities.

Their animal testing policy is here (English).

•  Kikkoman Macadamia Milk, No Sugar/キッコマン マカダミアミルク 砂糖 不使用. Ingredients: Macadamia nut paste (macadamia nuts (Australia)), water-soluble dietary fiber, rice oil, sun-dried salt, agar/emulsifier, thickener (cellulose, polysaccharide thickener), pH adjusting agent, flavoring, vitamin E.

Photo from website.

Kikkoman Macadamia Nut Milk no sugar

•  Kikkoman Macadamia Milk, Original/キッコマン マカダミアミルク オリジナル. Ingredients: Macadamia nut paste (macadamia nuts (Australia)), sugar, water-soluble dietary fiber, rice oil, sun-dried salt, agar/emulsifier, thickener (cellulose, polysaccharide thickener), pH adjusting agent, flavoring, vitamin E.

Kikkoman Macadamia Nut Milk    Kikkoman Macadamia Nut Milk ingredient list

OAT MILK

The following series of products is from Coca-Cola and according to their press/news release, was launched 3/29/2021 in Tokyo, Kanagawa, Chiba, Saitama, Gunma, Tochigi, Ibaraki, Yamanashi, Shizuoka, Niigata, Aichi, Gifu, and Mie. Photos taken in a branch of 7-11 in April 2021.

•  Go Good Oatmilk, Oat Cafe Latte/GO:GOOD おいしいオーツ麦ミルク オーツカフェラテ. Ingredients: Oat concentrate (domestically produced), coffee, sugar, sunflower oil, salt/flavoring, emulsifier, phosphate (potassium, calcium), cellulose, stabilizer (gellan gum, carrageenan).

Go Good Oatmilk, Oat Cafe Latte    Go Good Oatmilk, Oat Cafe Latte ingredient list

•  Go Good Oatmilk, Smooth Plain/GO:GOOD おいしいオーツ麦ミルク なめらかプレーン. Ingredients: Oat concentrate (domestically produced), oat extract powder, sunflower oil, dietary fiber (inulin), salt/emulsifier, phosphate (potassium, calcium), stabilizer (gellan gum).

Go Good Oatmilk, Smooth Plain    Go Good Oatmilk, Smooth Plain ingredient list

SOYMILK AND SOYMILK BEVERAGES

Here are some of the products you might see in convenience stores. As with the other products in this list, some products may contain ingredients that are not confirmed vegan such as flavorings and emulsifiers. Check our Soy, Almond, & Other Non-Dairy Milks section for more detailed information.

The photo of the following product was taken April 2021 in a 7-11.

Kagome Orange Mango Mix Soy Plus/Kagome 野菜生活Soy+ オレンジ・マンゴーMix. Ingredients: Fruits (apples (imported), pineapples, oranges, mangoes, lemons), vegetables (carrots, kale, spinach, asparagus, watercress, parsley, pumpkins, lettuce, cabbage, beets, daikon radish, Chinese cabbage, onions, celery), soybeans, defatted soybeans, soymilk, salt (from Okinawa prefecture)/emulsifier, pH adjusting agent, flavoring, vitamin C, cellulose, stabilizer (gellan gum), vitamin E.

Product contains oranges, soybeans, and apples.

Kagome Orange Mango Mix Soy Plus

In 2019, Kikkoman stated that they use beef bone char as a filtering agent for the sugar production process of their soymilks. They also stated they use no other animal-derived agents in the process of making the soymilks.

Under pressure from PETA, Kikkoman agreed to stop animal testing as of 2015, except when accountable to public safety or to comply with the demands of government authorities.

Their animal testing policy is here (English).

Probably their most famous soymilk product is their regular adjusted soymilk, which is used widely across Japan, including in many commercial establishments (coffees and smoothies are often made with this) and vegan items (unless you’re in a vegan restaurant that specifically states they don’t use bone-char processed sugar, in which case they might use something like unadjusted soymilk instead).

At the bottom of the package it reads “植物性たんぱく飲料,” shokubutsu-sei tanpaku inryō, meaning “vegetable protein drink.”

For much more extensive information about Kikkoman soymilks, check our Soy, Almond & Other Non-Dairy Milks section.

• Kikkoman Adjusted Soymilk/キッコーマン 調製豆乳. Ingredients: Soybeans (Canada or USA) (not genetically modified), sugar, rice oil, sun-dried salt/calcium lactate, emulsifier, thickener (carrageenan), flavoring.

Product contains soybeans.

Kikkoman Adjusted Soymilk, Natural Lawson

Kikkoman Banana Flavored Soymilk Beverage/キッコーマン バナナ. Ingredients: Soybeans (Canada or America) (not genetically modified), sugar, banana puree, rice oil/thickener (pectin, cellulose), flavoring, gardenia pigment.

Product contains soybeans and banana.

Kikkoman Banana Flavored Soymilk

Kikkoman Coffee Flavored Soymilk Beverage/キッコーマン 麦芽コーヒー. Ingredients: Soybeans (from Canada or America) (non-genetically modified), sugar, malt extract, rice oil, coffee extract, chicory extract, dextrin, sun-dried salt/caramel color, calcium lactate, emulsifier, flavoring, thickener (carrageenan).

Product contains soybeans.

Kikkoman Coffee Flavored Soymilk

The Kikkoman Honey flavored soymilk beverage is not vegan as it has real honey/はちみつ/hachimitsu.

•  Kikkoman Honey/キッコーマンはちみつ豆乳飲料.

Kikkoman Honey

n 2019, Kikkoman stated that they use beef bone char as a filtering agent for the sugar production process of their soymilks. They also stated they use no other animal-derived agents in the process of making the soymilks. The Oishii Muchousei does not use sugar nor any of the animal-derived ingredients they stated they use in some of their products (vitamin D, shell calcium, or honey), meaning they’re animal-ingredient-free in the finished product as well as have no animal ingredients used in processing. Both of these products are pictured below.

Zero cholesterol, contains soy isoflavones and lecithin. 2020 Monde Selection Gold Award winner.

Kikkoman Oishii Muchousei (Delicious Unadjusted) Soymilk/キッコーマン おいしい無調整豆乳. Ingredients: Soybeans (Canada or America) (not genetically modified).

Kikkoman Oishii Muchousei (Delicious Unadjusted) Soymilk

• Marusan Co-Trip Brown Sugar Syrup Soymilk Beverage/Marusan ことりっぷ 豆乳飲料 黒蜜きなこIngredients: Soybean (Canadian) (not genetically modified), saccharides (high-fructose corn syrup, fructose, sugar, brown sugar syrup), soy powder, salt, mirin, yeast extract powder/flavoring, stabilizer (thickening polysaccharide). Product contains soy.

This collaboration product with travel book co-Trip is made with Japanese brown sugar syrup called kuromitsu and kinako soy powder and is meant to taste like a traditional dessert.

20190123_194830 - Copy    20190123_194820 - Copy (2).jpg

The Marusan Vegan Protein drinks are certified vegan by VegeProject Japan. The Matcha Soy Latte flavor was spotted in a branch of Family Mart in Naha in May 2021.

• Marusan Vegan Protein Matcha Soy LatteIngredients: Soybeans (Canada), organic blue agave syrup, organic powdered pea protein, powdered soybean protein, matcha, salt/stabilizer (thickening polysaccharide), baking soda.

Product contains soy.

Marusan Vegan Protein Matcha Soy Latte, Family Mart

This brown sugar soymilk beverage contains vegetable lactic acid (from barley) and euglena. Note that euglena is considered to be neither a plant nor an animal, but a single-celled protist. However, Pokka Sapporo’s website states that they do test this specific lactic acid (SBL88) on mice. Photo taken in April 2021.

• Pokka Sapporo Ishigakijima Island Brown Sugar Soymilk Beverage/黒糖豆乳飲料. Ingredients: Soybean, kokutō sugar, salt, vegetable oil, Euglena gracilis powder, lactic acid bacteria (sterilized), calcium lactate, pH adjusting agent, emulsifier, stabilizer (thickening polysaccharides), flavoring.

Product contains soybeans.

Pokka Sapporo Ishigakijima Island Brown Sugar Soy Milk

Photo taken in a branch of 7-11 in April 2021. Uses kokutō sugar from Okinawa.

• Sujahta Roasted Soybean Flour Soymilk with Organic Soybeans/スジャータ 豆乳 きなこ with Organic Soybeans. Ingredients: Organic soybeans (Canada or America) (not genetically modified), sugar (50% Okinawan kokutō sugar), vegetable oil, powdered starch syrup, organic roasted soybean flour, sun-dried salt/cellulose, emulsifier, flavoring, polysaccharide thickener.

Sujahta Roasted Soybean Flour Soymilk with Organic Soybeans

SMOOTHIES 

Kagome Vegetable Life 100 Smoothies are widely carried. The available flavors vary by season. The products use no sugar, sweetener or thickeners. The company does animal testing. Some products in the line use dairy (fermented dairy/発っ酵乳), so are not vegan.

The following item was released in April 2021 and is a limited-edition flavor. Photo taken in April 2021 in a branch of 7-11. According to Wikipedia, amanatsu, also known as natsumikan, is a yellowish orange citrus hybrid fruit that was discovered in 1740 in Yamaguchi Prefecture.

Kagome Vegetable Life 100 Smoothie Ehime Amanatsu & Lemon Mix/Kagome 野菜生活100 Smoothie 愛媛甘夏&レモンMix. Ingredients: Vegetables (carrots, kale, spinach, asparagus, watercress, parsley, pumpkin, lettuce, cabbage, beets, daikon radish, Chinese cabbage, onions, celery), fruits (apples, oranges, lemons, amanatsu, bananas), dietary fiber/citric acid, vitamin C, flavoring.

Contains oranges, bananas, and apples.

Kagome Vegetable Life 100 Smoothie Ehime Amanatsu & Lemon Mix

Photo taken in March 2021.

• Kagome Vegetable Life 100 Smoothie Green Smoothie Gold and Green Kiwi Mix/Kagome 野菜生活100 Smoothie グリーンスムージー ゴールド&グリーンキウイMix. Ingredients: Vegetables (carrot (imported), bell peppers, Japanese mustard spinach, kale, spinach, asparagus, watercress, parsley, pumpkin, lettuce, cabbage, beet, daikon radish, Chinese cabbage, onion, celery), fruits (apples, grapes, kiwi fruits, lemon, banana), dietary fiber/flavoring, citric acid, vitamin C, safflower yellow pigment, gardenia blue pigment.

Product includes orange, kiwi fruit, banana, and apple.

Kagome Vegetable Life 100 Smoothie Green Smoothie Gold & Green Kiwi Mix    Kagome Vegetable Life 100 Smoothie Green Smoothie Gold & Green Kiwi Mix ingredient panel

You might stilll see the product image of an older version if ordering online.

• Kagome Vegetable Life 100 Smoothie Green Smoothie Mix/Kagome 野菜生活100 Smoothie グリーンスムージーMix. Ingredients: Vegetables (carrot, peppers, Japanese mustard spinach, kale, spinach, asparagus, watercress, parsley, pumpkin, lettuce, cabbage, beet, daikon radish, Chinese cabbage, onion, celery), fruits (apples, grapes, kiwi fruits, banana, lemon), dietary fiber/flavor, citric acid, safflower yellow pigment, gardenia blue pigment.

Product includes orange, kiwi fruit, banana, and apple.

20190414_191740 (2)    20190414_191744 (2)

The following item was released in February 2021 and is a limited-edition spring flavor. The photo was taken in March 2021.

Kagome Vegetable Life 100 Smoothie Kawanakajima White Peach and Mango Mix/Kagome 野菜生活100 Smoothie 川中島白桃&マンゴーMix. Ingredients: Vegetables (carrots, tomatoes, kale, spinach, asparagus, watercress, parsley, pumpkins, lettuce, cabbage, beets, daikon radish, Chinese cabbage, onions, celery), fruits (apples, mangoes, peaches, bananas, lemons), dietary fiber/flavoring, vitamin C, citric acid, vitamin E.

Product contains bananas, peaches and apples.

Kagome Vegetable Life 100 Smoothie Kawanakajima White Peach & Mango Mix    Kagome Vegetable Life 100 Smoothie Kawanakajima White Peach & Mango Mix ingredient panel

The version below was released in March 2021. The photos were also taken in March 2021.

Kagome Vegetable Life 100 Smoothie Ripe Banana and Soymilk Mix/Kagome 野菜生活100 Smoothie 完熟バナナ&豆乳MixIngredients: Vegetables (carrots (New Zealand or America), kale, spinach, asparagus, watercress, parsley, pumpkin, lettuce, cabbage, beets, daikon radish, Chinese cabbage, onions, celery), fruits (apples, lemons, bananas), soybeans, dietary fiber, agar, soymilk/pH adjusting agent, flavoring, emulsifier, vitamin C.

Product contains soybeans, bananas and apples.

Kagome Vegetable Life 100 Smoothie Ripe Banana and Soymilk Mix    Kagome Vegetable Life 100 Smoothie Ripe Banana and Soymilk Mix ingredient panel

Previous versions are shown below. You may still see older product images when shopping online.

• Kagome Vegetable Life 100 Smoothie Soymilk and Banana Mix/Kagome 野菜生活100 スムージー豆乳バナナMix. Ingredients: Vegetables (carrot (America or New Zealand), sweet potato, kale, spinach, asparagus, watercress, parsley, pumpkin, lettuce, cabbage, beets, daikon radish, Chinese cabbage, onion, celery), fruits (apple, banana, lemon), soybeans, dietary fiber, agar-agar, adjusted soymilk/pH adjusting agent, flavor, emulsifier, vitamin C.

kagome tonyuu banana (2)    kagome tonyuu banana yasai seikatsu smoothie mix back of package

• Kagome Vegetable Life 100 Smoothie Soymilk and Banana Mix/Kagome 野菜生活100 スムージー豆乳バナナMix. Ingredients: Vegetables (carrot (imported), sweet potato, kale, spinach, asparagus, watercress, parsley, pumpkin, lettuce, cabbage, beets, daikon radish, Chinese cabbage, onion, celery), fruits (apple, banana, lemon), soybeans, dietary fiber, agar-agar, adjusted soymilk/pH adjusting agent, flavor, emulsifier, calcium phosphate, vitamin C.

Kagome vegetable life smoothie tonyuu banana old packaging front of package 2    kagome vegetable life smoothie tonyuu banana old package ingredient list

The W Berry Smoothie Yogurt Mix/Wベリースムージー ヨーグルトMix flavor has fermented dairy/発っ酵乳. It’s also marked “contains dairy/乳使用” in Japanese on the bottom front left of the package.

Kagome Vegetable Life 100 Smoothie W Berry Smoothie Yogurt Mix    Kagome Vegetable Life 100 Smoothie W Berry Smoothie Yogurt Mix ingredient panel

The following Sujahta Meiraku Kiwi Chia Seed drink contains 1.0 g of n-3 fatty acid (omega 3 fatty acid) and 100 mg of vitamin C. The product page states that n-3 fatty acid helps maintain the health of the skin. (It also states that the product does not cure illness or improve health by ingesting a large amount and to please follow recommended daily intake guidelines and maintain a balanced diet.)

• Sujahta Meiraku Kiwi Chia Seed/スジャータ めいらく キウイチアシード. Ingredients: Apple juice concentrate (produced in China), kiwifruit pulp, grape juice concentrate, chia seed, lemon juice concentrate, kiwifruit juice concentrate, pineapple juice concentrate/vitamin C, stabilizer (polysaccharide thickener), flavoring, coloring (Lantana flower, gardenia).

Product contains apple and kiwi fruit.

Photo from website.

Sujahta Meiraku Kiwi Chia Seed

The following product may be somewhat similar to a smoothie. Photo taken in May 2021.

• Sujahta Meiraku Drinkable Taiwanese Sweets, Toufa/スジャータ めいらく 飲む台湾スイーツ 豆花(トウファ)Ingredients: Sugars (sugar, high-fructose corn syrup), organic soybeans (not genetically modified) (Canada or USA), grain konjac with sweet potato flour (konjac flour, sweet potato starch), banana pulp, agar/modified starch, stabilizer (polysaccharide thickener), calcium hydroxide, colorant (gardenia, tomato pigment), flavoring.

Product contains soybeans and banana.

Sujahta Meiraku Drinkable Taiwanese Sweets, Toufa

TEA

There are quite a lot of plain teas in convenience stores, but check for honey/蜂蜜/ハチミツ/はちみつ (hachimitsu) in sweetened teas.

OTHER BEVERAGES

Regular Calpis is not vegan because it has milk ingredients. Per the company, for their Green Calpis product, they don’t know if bone char was used to whiten the sugar. Lactic acid bacteria from milk is used to make the drink. It does not have milk allergens so those who are allergic to milk can safely drink it. They cannot call it a vegan beverage. The beverage department is not currently conducting animal testing.

Therefore, the “does not contain dairy/乳成分不使用” statement on the Green Calpis product does not appear to extend to the lactic acid bacteria (from milk) that was used.

Green Calpis (2)

All kinds of Monster Energy drinks- all ingredients in finished product (including amino acid) chemical/synthetic material and not animal-based, per an email to manufacturer 1/24/2019. Information courtesy of the Halal Japan Facebook group.

20190612_212742 (2)

This clearish, jellylike liquid is meant to taste like the Japanese confection warabi mochi, but in a drinkable form. It was found in a branch of Family Mart in September 2020.

Warabimochi Drink/わらびもちは飲み物です. Ingredients: Warabimochi-flavored drink: Sugar, 100% bracken powder, gelling agent (thickening polysaccharide), flavoring. Kuromitsu: Kokutō sugar, sugar, starch syrup. Roasted soy flour: Soybeans, sugar, salt.

warabi mochi drink family mart

FROZEN CONFECTIONERY

Different flavors of ice candy will be available at different times of the year. The easiest to find seem to be the Akari Gari Gari Kun soda bar and the Imuraya Adzuki bar. More non-dairy choices are available in summer than winter.

This is an example of a typical convenience store, Family Mart’s, single-serving frozen confectionery section. Everything has dairy and sometimes additional non-vegan ingredients listed in the ingredient list, except for what is outlined in red- the Futaba Sacre White Peach, Morinaga Rich Muscat Grape Ice Box, Glico Ice Fruit, Strong series, and Akagi Gari Gari Kun Golden Pineapple Popsicle for Adults. Photo taken in April 2021.

Frozen Confectionery Family Mart April 2021

Here are some examples of products you may find in convenience stores, some of them only seasonally available.

Akagi Gari Gari Kun Golden Pineapple For Adults Popsicle Multipack/赤城乳業  ガリガリ君 ゴールデンパイン(マルチ). Ingredients: Pineapple juice, sugar, high-fructose corn syrup, starch syrup, liqueur/acidulant, stabilizer (polysaccharide thickener), flavoring, coloring (yellow safflower, carotenoid), sweetener (sucralose, acesulfame potassium).

Manufactured on common equipment with products containing milk and egg.

Uses 33% golden pineapple juice. Has a finer-textured grain of ice than the typical Gari Gari Kun ice bars. The company recommends pairing it with sparkling water.

IMG_1005    IMG_1006

• Akagi Gari Gari Kun Kyushu Mandarin Popsicle/赤城乳業 ガリガリ君九州みかん (棒). Ingredients: High-fructose corn syrup, mandarin juice, sugar, apple juice, salt/flavoring, stabilizing agent (pectin), acidulant, paprika pigment, sweetener (stevia).

Uses 7% mandarin juice.

Manufactured on common equipment with products containing milk and egg.

20190314_131608 (2).jpg    20190314_131608 (3)

Akagi Gari Gari Kun Pear Popsicle/赤城乳業 ガリガリ君 梨.  Ingredients: High-fructose corn syrup (domestically produced), sugar, pear juice, apple juice, starch syrup, liqueur, salt/flavoring, stabilising agent (pectin), acidity regulator, caramel colour.

Product contains apple.

Manufactured on common equipment with products containing milk and egg.

Uses Japanese pears.

Gari Gari Kun Pear

• Akagi Gari Gari Kun Soda Popsicle/赤城乳業 ガリガリ君 ソーダ(棒) and Akagi Gari Gari Kun Soda Popsicle Multipack/赤城乳業  ガリガリ君 ソーダ(マルチ). Ingredients: High-fructose corn syrup, sugar, apple juice, glucose, lime juice, starch syrup, liqueur, salt/flavoring, stabilising agent (pectin), acidity regulator, colouring (spirulina blue, gardenia pigment, safflower yellow pigment).

Manufactured on common equipment with products containing milk and egg.

20190307_210905    20190307_210916 - Copy

20190311_170939 (2).jpg    20190530_131055 (2)

20190611_150223 (2)

Akagi also makes other varieties of dairy-free popsicles and ices. The photos were taken in a branch of 7-11 convenience store in April 2021.

Akagi Mandarin with a Kick, Multipack/赤城乳業 ガツン、と みかん(マルチ). Ingredients: Mandarin syrup (domestically produced), mandarin juice, high-fructose corn syrup, sugar, fructose, liqueur, salt/acidulant, stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener), flavoring.

Manufactured on common equipment with products containing dairy and egg.

Made with 30% mandarin juice and flesh.

Akagi Mandarin with a Kick, Multipack, 7-11    Akagi Mandarin with a Kick, Multipack, ingredient list, 7-11

Family Mart Fruit Bars with Fruit Juice/ 果汁入りフルーツバーContains three flavors, orange, grape, and apple.

(Orange bars): Orange juice, sugar, starch syrup, acidulant, stabilising agent (polysaccharide thickener), flavoring, paprika pigment, carotene pigment.

(Grape bars): Grape juice, sugar, starch syrup, stabilising agent (polysaccharide thickener), acidulant, flavoring, grape pigment.

(Apple bars): apple juice, sugar, starch syrup, acidulant, stabilising agent (polysaccharide thickener), flavoring, gardenia pigment.

Does not contain any of the seven most common allergens. The three flavors are manufactured on the same equipment.

20181105_001017    20181105_001027

The following frozen smoothie-like ice cream product is available in the warmer months in NewDays convenience stores. After buying it, you’re meant to add cow’s milk from a machine by the register and mix well, making it non-vegan. However, it may be possible to veganize it by adding plant milk to it at home instead.

• Fruits Frozen Fru & Fro Mango/Fruits Frozen Fru & Fro マンゴー. Ingredients: Mango flesh, sugar, dextrin, powdered starch syrup/acidulant, sweetener (aspartame L-phenylalanine compound, sucralose), coloring (gardenia yellow, paprika pigment), flavoring, thickener (guar gum).

Fruits Frozen Fru and Fro Mango (2)

• Fruits Frozen Fru & Fro Strawberry/Fruits Frozen Fru & Fro イチゴ. Ingredients: Strawberry flesh, sugar, dextrin, powdered starch syrup/acidulant, sweetener (aspartame L-phenylalanine compound), flavoring.

Fruits Frozen Fru and Fro strawberry

The following product was found in a branch of Family Mart convenience store in April 2021.

Futaba Sacre White Peach/Futaba サクレ 白桃. Ingredients: White peach syrup (white peach, sugar) (manufactured in China), high-fructose corn syrup, sugar, peach juice, fructose, dextrin, caramel sauce, spirits, western liquor, salt/acidulant, stabilizer (thickening polysaccharide), vegetable pigment, sweetener (stevia), flavoring.

Product includes peaches.

Of the 28 specified allergens, product contains peach.

Futaba Sacre Peach    Futaba Sacre Peach allergens

Unfortunately the Lemon and Apple flavors in the same series aren’t vegan. The Lemon has whey protein/乳清たん白/nyūsei tanpaku (also marked as milk components/乳成分/chichiseibun on the allergen section of the label) and the Apple has honey/はちみつ/hachimitsu. Photo taken May 2021.

Futaba Sacre Lemon and Apple

For a long time, the Glico Ice Fruit, Strong series, a series of round ice creams, had dairy/乳製品/nyūseihin. It was also listed as milk components/乳成分/chichiseibun on the allergy information section of the labels. As of March 2021, the ingredient lists no longer show dairy.

• Glico Ice Fruit, Strong Peach/Glico アイスの実<濃いもも>. Ingredients: Peach juice・peach flesh, sugar, maltose, starch syrup, vegetable oil, high-fructose corn syrup/flavoring, stabilizer (polysaccharide thickener), emulsifier, acidulant.

Of the 28 specified allergens, product contains peaches.

Products containing dairy are made on the same factory line.

• Glico Ice Fruit, Strong Grape/Glico アイスの実<濃いぶどう>. Ingredients: Grape juice, sugar, starch syrup, maltose, vegetable oil/flavoring, stabilizer (polysaccharide thickener), emulsifier, acidulant.

Contains none of the 28 specified allergens.

Products containing dairy are made on the same factory line.

• Glico Ice Fruit, Strong Blood Orange/Glico アイスの実<濃いブラッドオレンジ>. Ingredients: Orange juice, sugar, maltose, starch syrup, vegetable oil/stabilizer (polysaccharide thickener), emulsifier, flavoring, acidulant, paprika pigment.

Of the 28 specified allergens, product contains orange.

Products containing dairy are made on the same factory line.

Glico Ice Fruit, Strong Grape & Strong Blood Orange & Strong Peach    Glico Ice Fruit, Strong Grape & Strong Blood Orange & Strong Peach back of package

The Glico Papico Grape/グレープ version appears to possibly be vegan, but from Glico’s website, it looks as if it’s currently being sold only in a box with other, non-vegan flavors and not on its own.

Glico Papico Grape

Red bean ‘ice cream’ can easily be found in convenience stores, and many types do not contain dairy.

Imuraya Adzuki Bar/井村屋 あずきバー. Ingredients: Sugar, adzuki beans, starch syrup, cornstarch (non-genetically modified), salt.

20190414_192232 (2)    20190414_192232 (3)

This pineapple-shaped treat from the same company was found in a branch of the convenience store Lawson in May 2020.

Imuraya Ring-Shaped Pineapple Ice Candy/井村屋 輪切りパインアイス. Ingredients: Pineapple pulp, sugar, pineapple juice, stabilizer (thickening polysaccharide), acidulant, flavoring, gardenia pigment.

Photo from website.

Imuraya Ring-Shaped Pineapple Ice Candy

Lawson convenience stores carry a house brand called Uchi Cafe (meaning At-Home Cafe). Some past flavors of the Uchi Cafe Japanese Fruits ice bars are shown here. We have looked at the ingredient list of various Uchi Cafe Japanese Fruits bars and the ingredient lists have not listed obvious animal ingredients like milk, egg, honey, or gelatin. However, other bars under the Uchi Cafe brand may contain animal ingredients like dairy.

Photo taken in May 2021.

Lawson Uchi Cafe Japanese Fruits Amaou Strawberry/ローソン ウチカフェ 日本のフルーツ あまおういちご. Ingredients: Strawberry juice (domestically produced), high-fructose corn syrup, sugar, starch syrup, powdered starch syrup, fructose, liquor, cornstarch/stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener), coloring (anthocyanin, safflower yellow), flavoring, acidulant.

Lawson Uchi Cafe Japanese Fruits Amaou Strawberry

Per an article in LiveKindly in November 2018, the Japanese company Morinaga has agreed to cease all animal testing not required by law.

• Morinaga Ice Box, Grapefruit/森永アイスボックス、グレープフルーツIngredients: Grapefruit juice, high-fructose corn syrup, salt/flavoring, acidulant, sweeteners (aspartame/L-phenylalanine compound, sucralose), vitamin C, sodium polyphosphate, carotenoid pigment.

Contains none of the 27 allergenic substances.

Items containing egg and dairy are manufactured in the same process.

20190619_164016 (2)

• Morinaga Rich Muscat Grape Ice Box/森永アイスボックス濃い果実氷<マスカット>. Ingredients: Muscat juice/flavoring, acidulant, sweetener (aspartame/L-phenylalanine compound, sucralose), sodium polyphosphate.

Contains none of the 27 specified allergens.

Manufactured on common equipment with items containing dairy and egg.

Morinaga Ice Box, Muscat Grape

These bars can be found at the convenience store 7-11.

• 711 Fruit Ice Bars/セブンプレミアム4種のフルーツバー. Contains four flavors, Kyoho grape, white peach, Satsuma mandarin, and Muscat grape.

(Kyoho grape bars): Grape juice, high-fructose corn syrup, starch syrup, sugar/stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener), acidulant, flavoring.

(White peach bars): Peach juice, starch syrup, high-fructose corn syrup, sugar/stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener), acidulant, flavoring, coloring (vegetable pigment, safflower yellow).

Product contains peaches.

(Satsuma mandarin bars): Mandarin juice, high-fructose corn syrup, sugar, starch syrup/acidulant, stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener), flavoring, carotenoid pigment.

(Muscat grape bars): Grape juice, high-fructose corn syrup, sugar, starch syrup/acidulant, stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener), flavoring, coloring (safflower yellow, gardenia).

7-11 fruit bars    7-11 fruit bar ingredients

Photos taken at a branch of the convenience store 7-11 in April 2021.

• 711 Fruit Ice Bars/セブンプレミアム4種のフルーツバー. Contains four flavors, Satsuma mandarin, Sicilian lemon, muscat, and white peach.

(Satsuma mandarin bars): Mandarin juice, high-fructose corn syrup, sugar, starch syrup/acidulant, stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener), flavoring, carotenoid pigment.

(Sicilian lemon bars): Sugar, high-fructose corn syrup, starch syrup, lemon juice, lemon paste/stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener), flavoring, coloring (safflower yellow, fruit pigment), acidulant.

(Muscat bars): Grape juice, sugar, high-fructose corn syrup, starch syrup/acidulant, stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener), flavoring, coloring (safflower yellow, gardenia).

(White peach bars): Peach juice, starch syrup, high-fructose corn syrup, sugar/stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener), acidulant, flavoring, coloring (vegetable pigment, safflower yellow).

Product contains peach.

All four flavors manufactured on common equipment, so the flavors may mix with each other.

Products containing dairy manufactured on common equipment.

Contains none of the 7 specified allergens.

7-11 Fruit Ice Bars    7-11 Fruit Ice Bars ingredient list    7-11 Fruit Ice Bars side of package

33 thoughts on “Convenience Stores

  1. buzzinjapan

    Thank you for this comprehensive list! A lot of stuff I wouldn’t haven even thought to check.

    I have not been able to find any packaged onigiri or sushi in supermarkets, convenience stores, or department stores that doesn’t list amino/アミノas an ingredient, though, which may or may not be vegan. I’ve found packaged daifuku to often suffer from the same problem, though I finally found some ichigo daifuku in Daimaru that was 100% vegan without a doubt.

    Reply
  2. Leïla

    This list is very useful, thanks !
    It may be useful to add the japanese writing of anman あんまん (according to wikipedia) to have a 2nd verification at the combini.

    Reply
  3. Korellia

    The new Soy Joy Crispy bars would be worth adding. The original ones contain egg, but the crispy kind is vegan!

    Reply
  4. Chan Huat Low

    Thank you so much for the list and updated information. It really helps for vegetarians. May you be well and happy always!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: How to Live as a Vegan in Japan – VeganMegane

  6. Pingback: Onigiri 115 yen? Ramen 800yen? – V1S1ON

  7. A.S

    Hi this is a great list! Thank you so much 🙂 How old is this information? It might be a nice idea to add a ‘last updated’ date 🙂 (I am sorry if I missed it)

    Reply
      1. isitveganjapan Post author

        No problem! We don’t have a specific restaurants section because there are already websites that cover that info very well, like Happy Cow and Vegewel. There are a few restaurants in the Airports and Fast Food sections though, both under the “Food to Go” sections

  8. Pingback: Vegan Guide to Tokyo - The Tasty K

  9. Pingback: 7 consejos para comer vegano en Japón | Turismo Responsable

  10. Pingback: Healthy Tokyo Guide (vegan eats, wellness, & fun) - This Somebody.

  11. Alex

    Thank you so much! So informative! Makes it super easy to find vegan food in Japanese convinience stores. Only thing I would love to see would be sekihan onigiri and wakame onigiri added to the list. (Which i’m pretty sure is vegan and can be found at 7/11. They are the ones without the nori wrap on the outside)

    Reply
    1. isitveganjapan Post author

      Thanks for your comment. Unfortunately, it’s very difficult to confirm if any onigiri from 7/11 is animal-ingredient free. The reason is that 7-11 has reported its onigiri differ in ingredients depending on what part of the country they are made at, as they are made at different manufacturing facilities. Therefore even if we inquire about sekihan or wakame onigiri, the answer would only be applicable to our area and not the whole country. They could only confirm their salt onigiri (銀しゃりむすび塩むすび) to be animal-ingredient free. We don’t have information about wakame onigiri, but 4 out of 5 convenience stores asked said their kombu seaweed onigiri does contain animal ingredients. It’s possible wakame onigiri contains animal ingredients to flavour the seaweed off-label in small amounts.

      Reply
      1. Joaha

        Thanks a lot for all the effort. Do you have new informations regarding the kombu onigiri at Mini stop?

      2. isitveganjapan Post author

        You’re very welcome! Unfortunately we don’t have new information about Mini Stop onigiri-whenever we do we’ll add it as quickly as possible. Due to time constraints it’s been very difficult to keep the onigiri list updated as companies change their onigiri names and ingredient lists so quickly, but we’ll keep it in mind that it’s a category a lot of people depend on when eating out (me included).

  12. Viet

    I’ve been wanting to work through this list, but after I checked the fifth Family Mart (I live in Sendai, which I believe has less variety compared to bigger cities) and finally found the tofu somen style noodles (https://www.kibun.co.jp/products/all_152330a?fbclid=IwAR1RbRU41MGsDw8KxyA0ULUJopruda8nqgWe1C3B1sszW-CVYBddP3rrZvk <- ingredient list is not up to date!!!!!!!!!!!), I saw that in both packages, which are pictured on this page, KATSUO (skipjack bonito fish) is in their sauces! Unfortunately Japanese food companies change their recipes all the time, which is such a drag. 😦

    Reply
    1. isitveganjapan Post author

      Thanks so much for your comment! The ingredient list on the kibun.co.jp website still shows the 胡麻つゆ sesame sauce one as not containing fish. Do you have a picture of the ingredient list on the package? If so can you send it to: isitveganjapan@hotmail.com? The one with mentsuyu sauce has fish and is only on our page as an example of what not to buy. If we can confirm the sesame sauce one has fish too we’ll change the listing.

      Edit: The kibun.co.jp website has been updated to show the new packaging. The sesame sauce version in orange packaging still is listed as not containing fish or other animal ingredients and the listed ingredients have not changed, but the packaging looks slightly different. The mentsuyu version has fish still but is now in blue packaging instead of purple. And there is now a third a version containing egg and fish in green packaging. We have added updated photos and information. Thanks for letting us know these items had changed.

      Reply
  13. Yasmin

    Hi there, was wondering whether unsweetened soy milk or any other plant based milk is readily available there and the average price of them. Also, are there any packaged cakes/breads that are vegan? Thanks in advance!

    Reply
    1. isitveganjapan Post author

      Hi Yasmin. There are a great many packaged unsweetened soymilks in Japan, starting at a few hundred yen a container. Please check our section on non-dairy milks in the “non-adjusted soymilk” section. https://isitveganjapan.com/food-products-n-z/soy-milk/ My personal favorites are Otsuka Amazing Soy and another Otsuka product in the same line called “Yukipirika” because they undergo a process in the factory to remove the strong beany taste. Please check our bread section for a few choices. https://isitveganjapan.com/food-products/bread-and-bakery-products/ In general you need to go to specific stores to obtain breads that don’t have animal ingredients but unsweetened soymilk is not at all difficult to find.

      Reply
  14. Pingback: HOW TO: Be Vegan In Japan! 🇯🇵 – Hello Vegan Bee

  15. Pingback: Japan Vegan Diary/Guide – Treks and Plant Food

  16. Pingback: VeganMoFo 2019: Convenience Store Snacks of Japan | Herbivores' Heaven

  17. Pingback: Vegan Snacks and Street Food In Japan (+Tips For Finding Them) - I Travel For Vegan Food

  18. Pingback: Vegan Grocery Shopping in Tokyo (Convenience Stores, Supermarkets, Veg Stores and more) - I Travel For Vegan Food

  19. Pingback: Keep it Cruelty-Free at These Vegan Restaurants in Tokyo - Voyagin Blog

  20. Pingback: Being Vegan in Japan: An Impossible Task? - Savvy Tokyo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s