Noodles and Pasta

So which noodles are vegan in Japan? As a general rule, udon noodles and soba noodles are vegan, while the majority of ramen noodles are not. (The soup or sauce that comes with udon, soba and ramen in non-vegan restaurants contains animal products like fish stock, etc.). However, udon and soba noodles are not always vegan, so vegans still need to be careful to check for animal ingredients. Below are some examples of vegan and non-vegan noodles in Japan.

How about pasta? That’s not such a problem. We’ve also included some examples of vegan and non-vegan pasta.

PASTA

It’s easy to find vegan pasta in supermarkets. Recently many supermarkets have begun carrying a small selection of whole-grain pastas as well. Vegans have to be careful with colored pasta. Black pasta can sometimes be colored with cuttlefish ink/イカスミ. Below are some examples of pasta available in Japan.

Hagoromo 7 Minute Spaghetti/はごろもフーズ ポポロスパ7分結束. Ingredients: Durum wheat semolina.

Hagoromo pastaHagoromo pasta back

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mitoku Whole Wheat Organic Penne Pasta/ミトク フェリチェッティ オーガニック全粒粉ペンネ. Ingredients: Organic durum wheat whole grain flour.

Penne pastaPenne pasta back

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

• Della Costa Disney Princess Tricolored Pasta/ダラコスタ ディズニープリンセス . Ingredients: Durum wheat semolina, spinach, tomato. Photo from website.

della costa princess pasta tricolore

• De Cecco Fettucini no 303 All’uovo is not vegan because it has eggs. Ingredients: Durum wheat seminola, eggs.

The word “all’uovo” indicates that the product contains eggs/卵/tamago.

20190128_215324    20190128_215338_

However, not all kinds of fettucini have eggs. The below product from Mujirushi Ryouhin does not.

• Mujirushi Ryouhin Fresh Pasta Fettuccine/無印良品 生パスタ フェットチーネ. Ingredients: Durum seminola wheat flour, salt (Product contains wheat and buckwheat.)

20190414_194813 (2)    20190414_194818 (2).jpg

Below are some photos from a pasta display in a grocery store. Other than the fettucini first on the left on the top shelf in the first photo, which has egg, all the other products appear to be vegan. The gnocchi second from the left on the top shelf in the first photo has emulsifier and flavorings of unknown origin. (The two products at the right on the top shelf in the first photo are rosti potatoes, not pasta, and one has cheese).

20190128_214620

20190128_214939    20190128_215053

Smaller health food and specialty stores will sometimes carry non-seminola pastas. The photo below was taken at a small shop in Kurashiki, Okayama and shows green peas fusilli, red lentils fusilli and chickpeas fusilli.

20180909_112101 - Copy

Bio C’ Bon supermarkets have vegan cheese-filled ravioli, imported from Italy.

• La Spiga Bio Pasta Fresca Ravioli with Demeter Vegetables. 

20191124_144321 (2)

La Spiga Bio Pasta Fresca Ravioriselli Spreadable and Spinach. Ingredients: Durum wheat seminola, processed sprouted brown rice product (sprouted brown rice drink (sprouted brown rice, salt, apple vinegar), coconut oil, starch syrup, lemon juice), panko bread crumbs, spinach, onion, dietary fiber, miso (contains soybeans), salt, brown rice, sunflower oil, dehydrated spinach, nutmeg, thickener (agar, polysaccharide thickener), flavoring.

Products that include eggs and dairy are manufactured at the same facility.

20191124_144323 (2)    la spiga bio spinach ingredients

SOBA

The first soba is not vegan as it contains egg white (卵白):

Yude (boiling) Japanese Soba. Ingredients: Wheat flour, buckwheat flour, wheat protein, egg white, salt.

Yude SobaYude soba back

 

 

 

 

 

 

The soba below appears to be vegan.

Nama (raw) Soba. Ingredients: Wheat flour, buckwheat flour, salt, reduced starch syrup, alcohol, acidity regulator, modified starch.

Nama SobaNama Soba back

 

 

 

 

 

 

TOFU

Tofu noodles are not very common, but supermarkets and convenience stores like Family Mart sometimes have pre-packaged noodle-shaped tofu with sesame sauce. The amino acids in the product are confirmed vegan, however, the manufacturer could not confirm if the sugar used in the product was bone char processed or not.

Be careful to get the product in the red-orange package with sesame tsuyu included, and not one in the blue package with fish included or the green package with egg and fish included. 

Kibun Tofu Somen Style with Sesame Tsuyu Sauce/紀文 豆腐そうめん風 胡麻つゆ付き. Ingredients: 【Noodle-shaped tofu】 Soybean (USA, Canada), starch components, salt/paste materials (processed starch, sodium alginate, polysaccharide thickener), coagulant (calcium chloride, magnesium chloride) (Contains soybeans as part of ingredients.)【Attached Sauce Packet】  Sugar, soy sauce, salt, sesame seed paste, sesame oil, yeast extract / seasoning (amino acid etc), thickener (processed starch), coloring (caramel), flavoring. (Includes wheat, sesame and soybeans as part of ingredients.) Manufactured on equipment that also processes eggs.

Roasted sesame was used to create the sauce. The products are meant to be eaten cold, without cooking. Open the noodle container and throw out the water, then add the sauce to the noodles and eat. 

Kibun Tofu Somen Style front of package    Kibun Tofu Somen Style back of package

Kibun Tofu Somen Style with Mentsuyu Sauce/紀文 豆腐そうめん風 麺つゆ付き contains fish in the sauce, as is typical for mentsuyu not made in a vegan restaurant.

The package has been changed recently. The old packaging is shown on the left, and the new packaging is shown on the right. Photo on the right from website.

20181121_233327 - copy    katsuo tofu noodles new package

Kibun Tofu Somen Style with Egg/紀文 玉子とうふそうめん風 is not vegan as it contains fish and egg.

Photo from website.

egg tofu noodles new package

UDON

Co-op supermarkets sell a 7-allergen-free udon noodle. More detailed information about the ingredients is given here (Japanese).

•  Co-op Smile Dish 7-Allergen-Free Udon Noodles/Co-op Smile Dish 7品目を使わない うどんタイプ 90g. Ingredients: White rice flour (white rice (domestic)), germinated brown rice flour (germinated brown rice (domestic rice)), rice puree/modified starch, thickener (alginate, thickening polysaccharide).

Photo from website.

Co-op Smile Dish Udon Noodles

Yude (boiling) Udon. Ingredients: Wheat flour, salt.

Manufactured in a facility that also makes products containing soba and egg.

Udon Udon back

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yude (boiling) Udon. Ingredients: Wheat flour, salt/modified starch, acidulant.

Product contains wheat.

Manufactured in a facility that also makes products containing egg, soba, soybean, and yamaimo.

20191117_193112 (2)    20191117_193103 (2)

RAMEN

Although there may be a few choices for fresh or dried ramen noodles in the grocery store, probably 80-90% of ramen noodles are not vegan as they contain egg. Fresh (nama) ramen may also come with a non-vegan sauce packet.

Vegan ramen is available at some restaurants like T’s Tantan, Kyushu Jangara and Chabuton. See our Fast Food section. T’s Tantan and Kyushu Jangara also have vegan cup noodles to take home, detailed below.

Nama (raw) Ramen. Contains whole egg powder. Fired calcium, 焼成カルシウム, can also be derived from shells or eggshells.

RamenRamen back

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is another example of an ingredient list of ramen noodles that are not vegan because they contain calcium derived from shells (貝殻カルシウム), spotted at the Ramen Museum in Yokohama.

ramen restaurant non-vegan noodles

Chinese noodles/chūkamen/中華麺 are often used in ramen. Co-op supermarkets sell a 7-allergen-free Chinese noodle. More detailed information about the ingredients is given here (Japanese).

•  Co-op Smile Dish 7-Allergen-Free Chinese Noodles/Co-op Smile Dish 7品目を使わない 中華めんタイプ 90g. Ingredients: White rice flour (white rice (domestic)), germinated brown rice flour (germinated brown rice (domestic rice)), rice puree/modified starch, thickener (alginate, thickening polysaccharide), colorant (gardenia yellow).

Photo from website.

Co-op Smile Dish Chinese Noodles

Let’s move on to discussing some noodles you can take with you while you’re on the go or only have access to limited cooking facilities.

CUP NOODLES

It can be hard to find vegan cup noodles in stores in Japan and there’s a high probability you’ll have to head to specific stores to find them. More can be ordered online at websites like iHerb.

Per the PR Times (Japanese), Ikea Plant Ramen, Salt and Ikea Plant Ramen, Curry launched at Ikea stores 4/25/2020 and feature non-fried noodles. Both are free of palm oil.

Ikea Ramen

To celebrate their 35th anniversary, Kyushu Jangara Ramen, which has five stores in Japan, all in Tokyo, created an in-store Kumamoto-style vegan ramen with garlic oil, as well as a vegan cup noodle. The vegan cup noodle has sold out online, so the stock currently in their restaurants is what’s left, and when it’s gone, it’s gone. These join their permanent choices of vegan soy sauce or salt ramen. You can see the vegan ramen they sell to be eaten in-store here (bilingual). The press release about the limited-edition products is here (Japanese).

• Kyushu Jangara “No-Tonkotsu” Kumamoto Ramen/九州じゃんがらとんこつ不使用の熊本風らぁめん. Ingredients: Noodles: Flour, salt, soy fiber.Soup: Vegetable oil, salt, sesame paste, sugars, vegetable powder, soy sauce, protein hydrolyzate, yeast extract, spices, roasted flour, kelp powder, shiitake extract. Seasoning packet: Cabbage, flavored granular soy protein, sesame, fried garlic, green onion, wood ear mushrooms/alcohol, thickener (processed starch), lye water, flavoring, antioxidant (vitamin E), caramel pigment, cocoa pigment, charcoal powder, gardenia pigment, acidulant.

Product includes wheat, sesame and soybeans.

20200201_011624    20200126_143411

The vegan restaurant chain T’s makes instant vegan cup noodles in two flavors. Both flavors use non-fried noodles and as few additives as possible. They are reported to contain palm oil by the blog sushivoyage.net (Japanese).

This product has been reformulated and repackaged, with a slightly different ingredient list. The new version of the product, launched September 2019, is shown here:

• T’s Noodle Hot and Sour Noodle Soup. Ingredients: Noodles (wheat flour, salt, soy dietary fiber), soup (soy sauce, sugars, brewed vinegar, salt, vegetable oil, miso, spice, yeast extract, garlic paste, flavor oil, shiitake extract, kelp powder) toppings (tofu, corn, bok choi, chili)/thickener (guar gum), lye water, caramel pigment, antioxidant (vitamin E), spice extract, red pepper pigment. (Product contains wheat, sesame and soy.)

t's tantan new version

• T’s Noodle Vegan Tantan Noodle Soup. Ingredients: Noodles (wheat flour, salt, soybean dietary fiber), soup (sesame seeds, salt, sugars, vegetable oil, yeast extract, broad bean chili sauce, onion powder, spices, flavor oil, sweet soybean paste, protein hydrolyzate, shiitake extract), toppings (bok choi, sesame, granular soybean protein, edamame, spices)/lye water, thickening polysaccharides, caramel pigment, antioxidant (vitamin E), acidulant, red pepper pigment, spice extract. (Product contains wheat, sesame and soy)

t's tantan new version 2

The older version of the product is shown below. There may still be some online retailers selling this older version:

• T’s Noodle Hot and Sour Noodle Soup Ingredients: noodles (flour, salt, soybean dietary fiber), soup (soy sauce, sugar, salt, brewed vinegar, vegetable oil and fat, miso, spices, yeast extract, garlic paste, flavor oil, shiitake mushroom extract, kelp powder), condiments (cabbage, tomato, granular soybean protein, red pepper), lye water, thickener (guar gum), caramel colorant, antioxidant (vitamin E), spice extract, capsicum pigment. (Product includes sesame.)

• T’s Noodle Vegan Tantan Noodle Soup Ingredients: noodles (flour, salt, soybean dietary fiber), soup (sesame, salt, sugar, vegetable fat, miso, onion powder, yeast extract, chili bean sauce, spice, protein hydrolyzate, flavor oil, shiitake extract), condiments (sesame, granulated soybean protein, corn, bok choy, red pepper), thickener (processed starch, guar gum), lye water, caramel pigment, antioxidant (vitamin E), acidulant, capsicum pigment, spice extract.

20180611_200830        20180611_200830 - copy

They have been found at (availability may vary):

some Natural Lawson (not regular Lawson) convenience stores in Chiba, Saitama, and Kanagawa Prefectures, as well as Tokyo
• TIAT DUTY FREE SHOP CENTRAL,  Haneda Airport 3rd floor around gate area 109~111. 12 pc/ 2280 jpy
• T’s Tantan noodle shop at JR Tokyo train station (behind the ticket gates)
• T’s Tantan noodle shop at JR Ueno train station, Tokyo (behind the ticket gates)
• T’s Tantan noodle shop at JR Ikebukuro train station, Tokyo (behind the ticket gates)
• T’s Tantan noodle shop at Narita Airport (NRT), Terminal 2, Main Building, 4F (before passport control)
• T’s Tantan noodle shop at Narita Airport (NRT), Terminal 1, South Wing 3F, near Gate 51 (after passport control)
T’s Restaurant, Jiyugaoka, Tokyo
online – T’s website. Tantanmen Hot and Sour Noodle Soup 
online -Amazon Japan- the seller is New Touch, the manufacturer. Tantanmen Hot and Sour Noodle Soup
•  the occasional NewDays convenience stores in or next to JR East train stations
once in awhile, in regular supermarkets in larger cities in Japan

 

Although they don’t appear to be carried in any physical stores, Shojin Ramen Zendo cup noodles can be purchased online in sets of 12. They don’t use animal ingredients or the five pungent roots. There’s an in-depth article about this product here at Sora News. The company has made other flavors of animal-ingredient free noodles before, but these are soy sauce-flavored with soy meat and menma.

•  Zen Foods Shojin Ramen Zendo, 12 pc/禅道 醤油ラーメン12個入. Ingredients: Fried noodles: Wheat flour, vegetable oil, processed starch, salt, calcium carbonate, soy sauce, lye water, carotenoid pigment, antioxidant (vitamin E), vitamin B2, vitamin B1. Soup: Soy sauce, protein hydrolysate, water, sugars, alcohol, salt, yeast extract, caramel pigment, menma powder, fermented seasoning, thickener (xanthan gum), kelp. Seasoning packet: Processed soybeans, pak choi, wheat gluten, carrot, pumpkin, caramel pigment, Monascus purpureus pigment, antioxidant (vitamin E).

Product contains wheat and soy.

Photos from website.

Zendo soy sauce ramen    shindo ramen photo 2

shindo ramen photo 3

INSTANT NOODLES

Vegan instant noodles that require cooking on a stove are rare in Japan. As with vegan cup noodles, it’s likely you’ll need to head to a specific store to get them, or order online.

Harajuku-based noodle shop Chipoon is selling two kinds of instant ramen, both available with or without toppings, in their online vegan ramen shop (Japanese).

Chipoon Vegan Noodles/ヴィーガンヌードル and Chipoon Vegetable Tantanmen Noodles/ベジタブルタンタンヌードル.

Photos from website.

 

Chipoon vegan noodles    Chipoon vegetable tantanmen noodle

A company called Maisen sells brown rice ramen at the link below, which is the only item specifically marked animal-ingredient-free/動物性原料不使用 on the “vegetarian” section on their website. Unfortunately, the plain doughnuts in the “vegetarian” section contain fish-derived collagen. No other animal-derived ingredients are apparent from reading the ingredient list of the items in that section, but Maisen does not disclose on the website what their emulsifier used in certain items is made of, only stating it does not have dairy.

The brown rice ramen is gluten-free.

Maisen Brown Rice Ramen/玄米ラーメン. Ingredients: <Noodles> Brown rice flour, potato starch, vinegar <Soup> Soy sauce, protein hydrolyzate, vegetable oil, salt, sugar, yeast extract, starch, dried shiitake mushrooms, garlic, menma bamboo shoots, ginger (Contains sesame and soybeans), alcohol, thickener (xanthan gum, alginate), lye water, gardenia pigment, powder for coating (modified starch).

Photo from website.

Maisen Brown Rice Ramen    Maisen Brown Rice Ramen 3

A Korean company called Nongshim does sell a product called Shin Ramen.

Per the company as of February 2020, the bag version of Nongshim Shin Ramen made and sold in Japan does not contain animal ingredients. The bag version is sold in 7-11 convenience stores and you can also find a three-pack for sale online. A five-pack is also available in Don Quixote. However, there is an imported bag version (from Korea) that contains eggshell calcium/卵殻カルシウム, beef seasoning/ビーフシーズニング and pork bone seasoning/豚骨シーズニング. All are listed on the ingredient list in Japanese. This nonvegan version has been spotted on Rakuten and at Carnival import store. Check the ingredient list of the bag version before you buy.

Photo of three-pack from website.

Nongshim Shin Ramen/Nongshim シンラーメン. Fried noodles: Flour, starch, vegetable oil, salt, vegetable seasoning. Soup: Flavor seasoning, salt, chili seasoning powder, sugars, soy sauce, yeast seasoning powder, pepper, garlic powder, miso, shiitake powder, onion flavor powder, ginger extract. Toppings: (Bok choy, shiitake, seasoned soy protein, carrot, green onion, chili flake)/processed starch, seasoning (amino acids, etc.), lye water, thickener (gum arabic), emulsifier, spice extract, antioxidants (vitamin E, green tea extract), acidulant, niacin, vitamin B1, iron, vitamin B2, folic acid.

Product includes wheat and soybeans.

Products containing pork, beef, sesame, soba, egg, dairy, peanuts, shrimp, crab, chicken, squid, and mackerel are processed in the same factory.

20200201_203538 (2)    20200201_203543 (3)

shin ramen stock image 3 pack

Here are photos of the made-in-Korea version that contains eggshell calcium/卵殻カルシウム, beef seasoning/ビーフシーズニング and pork bone seasoning/豚骨シーズニング.

shin ramen made in korea front of package    shin ramen made in korea ingredient list

Per the company, the large cup version has sardines/イワシ off-label. The mini cup version has multiple animal ingredients listed in the ingredient list.

Another brand you might be able to find is Samurai Ramen, which can be found at vegan food festivals or in some Don Quixote stores or ordered online. It comes in both a less expensive plastic pack and a gold gift pack. The plastic pack version is also available at selected Gyomu Supermarkets for 198 yen. They both say “vegan” on the package.

There is also a version available that does not use the five pungent roots. It says “vegan” and “plant-based” on the package.

• Samurai Ramen UMAMI. Ingredients: Noodle (flour and salt), soup (soy sauce, sesame paste, miso, garlic, maple sugar, salt, yeast extract powder, rice refined oil, chili oil, garlic extract, starch, ginger powder, seaweed powder, black pepper and red pepper) Spices (cayenne pepper powder), lye water. (Includes wheat, soybeans and sesame.)

Chemical condiments & additives & preservative-free.

The list of Gyomu supermarkets carrying the 198 yen plastic pack version is as follows:

Kanto Area:
Ebina
Yotsukaido
Makuharihongō
Kawaguchi Eki-mae
Ueno-hirokoji

Kansai Area:
Nishikujō
Nishiyodogawa
Harborland
Kyujoji Eki-minami
Ooyasutei
Hanata
Tadera
Shimoteno
Momodani
Izumisano
Takaishi Ayazono
Ritto
Minoh
Esaka
Oshikuma
Southern Mall Rokko
Izumisano Nakasho

Kyushu Area:
Hakozaki station
Shinmunakata
Hakata sensho

Photo on the left from website.

samurai ramen      20190105_174900 - copy

The following version does not contain any of the five pungent roots.

Samurai Ramen, Five-Pungent-Roots-Free/Samurai Ramen UMAMI 五葷. Ingredients: Noodles (flour (domestically produced), salt), soup (miso, soy sauce, protein hydrolyzate, sesame oil, salt, kokuto sugar, sesame paste, ground sesame, yeast extract, ginger paste, chili oil, kelp seaweed extract, shiitake extract powder, spices)/lye water, thickener (processed starch).

Product contains wheat, soybeans, and sesame.

20191021_184347 (2)    20191021_184355 (2)

If you have a health food store near you, you’ll probably be able to find more kinds of vegan instant ramen there, or order online. Some examples of vegan instant ramen available at health food stores are shown below.

Ohsawa Veggie Brown Rice Ramen, manufactured by Sakurai Foods, comes in five flavors, soy sauce, miso, salt, sesame miso and dandan noodles. They all read “does not use animal ingredients/動物性原料不使用” in Japanese, and some of them may say “For Vegan” in English on the package. They use non-fried noodles. They don’t use chemical seasoning or sugar. See all the flavors here (Japanese).

• Ohsawa Veggie Brown Rice Ramen, Miso/オーサワのベジ玄米ラーメン(みそ). Ingredients: Noodles (flour, brown rice flour, wheat gluten, salt), miso, soy sauce, fermented seasoning, maple sugar, spice, vegetable oil (sesame oil), salt, yeast extract, kelp powder. (Product includes wheat, soy and sesame.)

Products containing shrimp, crab, soba, egg, milk, and peanuts are processed in the same factory.

Uses domestic wheat and brown rice flour. Does not use lye water.

20190403_023834 (2)    20190403_023846 (2).jpg

• Ohsawa Veggie Brown Rice Ramen, Tantanmen/オーサワのベジ玄米ラーメン(担担麺). Ingredients: Noodles (flour (from Hokkaido and Iwate), brown rice flour (domestic), wheat gluten (Australia), salt), soup [sesame, salt, mirin, edible vegetable oil (sesame oil, paprika), sake, soy sauce, miso, maple sugar, yeast extract, spice (garlic, ginger, chili pepper, pepper), potato starch]

Uses “shimamars” salt, which is made by dissolving imported solar salt in Okinawa sea water and slowly boiling it in a flat pot over time.

Products containing shrimp, crab, soba, egg, milk, and peanuts are processed in the same factory.

Uses domestic wheat and brown rice flour. Does not use lye water.

20190403_201054 (2).jpg    20190403_201030 (2).jpg

Sakurai Foods, headquartered in Gifu, is a company making various types of vegan instant noodles. They can be found in health food shops or ordered online. From the English section of their website: “Our history begins in 1910, when the Sakurai family purchased a machine to process noodles in Gifu Prefecture, Japan. Maintaining operation through World War II and onward, in 1968, the Sakurai family business started to produce and sell additive-free and natural products without artificial coloring. At that time, the commercial industry was moving heavily into mass production and mass consumption, creating an era where efficiency in production was top priority. It was during this era that the Sakurai Foods defined their mission to commit to quality rather than to efficiency.”

To guarantee the safety of our goods, we are committed to manufacturing and selling a variety of food products with ingredients from domestically contracted farmers who use organic or ecologically friendly methods to produce their agricultural products.

Our imported food items have cleared both national JAS-certified organic standards and organic standards abroad.”

Sakurai Foods Organic Miso Ramen/桜井食品 有機育ち 味噌ラーメン. Ingredients: Organic noodles (organic wheat flour (wheat (domestic)), salt), organic miso, organic soy sauce, organic brewed seasoning, organic sesame oil, organic coconut sugar, salt, organic yeast extract powder, garlic, kombu seaweed powder, ginger, black pepper, chili.

Product contains wheat, sesame and soybean.

Marked “vegan” in English on the package.

Photo from website.

Sakurai Foods Organic Miso Ramen

The package of the same company’s Organic Soy Sauce Ramen looks extremely similar.

Sakurai Foods Organic Soy Sauce Ramen/桜井食品 有機育ち しょうゆラーメン. Ingredients: Organic noodles (organic wheat flour, salt), organic soy sauce, organic brewed seasoning, organic sesame oil, salt, organic coconut sugar, organic yeast extract powder, onion extract, garlic extract, green onion extract, kelp powder, black pepper.

Product contains wheat, sesame and soybean.

Marked “vegan” in English on the package.

Photo from website.

Sakurai Foods Organic Soy Sauce Ramen

• Sakurai Foods Vegetarian Soymilk Spicy Noodle/桜井食品 豆乳ぴり辛めん. Ingredients: Fried noodles (wheat flour (domestically produced), vegetable oil (palm oil, sesame oil), wheat protein, potato starch, salt), sesame, soymilk, soy sauce, vegetable oil, salt, yeast extract powder, chili oil, spices, cabbage extract.

Product contains wheat and soybeans.

Marked “vegan” in English on the package.

Sakurai Foods Spicy Soymilk Ramen

The package of the following product says RSPO certified sustainable palm oil is used.

Sakurai Foods Vegetarian Miso Ramen/桜井食品 ベジタリアンのためのラーメン (みそ). Ingredients: Fried noodle (wheat flour, wheat (domestically produced), palm oil, wheat protein, salt), powdered miso, salt, powdered soy sauce, maple sugar, yeast extract, spices, shiitake extract, fermented seasoning, vegetable extract, kelp powder, malt extract, sesame oil, menma powder.

Product includes wheat, sesame and soybeans.

Marked “vegan” in English on the package.

Photo from website.

Sakura Foods Vegetarian Miso Ramen

The package of the following product says RSPO certified sustainable palm oil is used.

Sakurai Foods Ramen Vegetarian Shoyu Ramen/桜井食品 ベジタリアンのためのラーメン (しょうゆ). Ingredients: Fried noodle (wheat flour, (wheat (domestically produced)), palm oil, wheat protein, salt), salt, powdered soy sauce, maple sugar, yeast extract, spices, sesame, powdered miso, vegetable extract, fermented seasoning, kelp powder, peanut powder, almond powder, shiitake mushroom powder, Japanese bunching onion, shiitake mushroom extract, malt extract, sesame oil, menma powder.

Product includes wheat, peanuts, almonds, sesame, and soybeans.

Marked “vegan” in English on the package.

Photo from website.

Sakurai Foods Vegetarian Shoyu Ramen

This version of the classic and usually non-vegan dish yakisoba is vegan/oriental vegetarian (does not use the five pungent roots) with no MSG.

• Sakurai Foods Vegetarian Stir-Fried Noodles, Worchestershire Sauce Flavor/桜井食品 ベジタリアンのソース焼きそば. Ingredients: Deep-fried noodles (flour (domestically produced), vegetable oil (palm oil and sesame oil), wheat protein, potato starch, salt), maltose, tomato puree, salt, rice vinegar, apple pulp, vegetable oil, yeast extract powder, cabbage extract, malt extract, spices, furikake seasoning (green laver seaweed, red pickled ginger).

Product includes wheat, apples and sesame seeds.

Marked vegan in English on the package.

Photo from website.

Sakurai Foods Vegetarian Stir-Fried Noodles (Worchester Sauce Flavor)

REIMEN (KOREAN COLD NOODLES)

The Shibuya-based Tsurushiko cold noodle shop has launched one vegan flavor in their online shop. Morioka-style reimen was created by a Korean-born resident of Morioka, Japan in the 1950s, who amalgamated the spicy flavors popular in his hometown with the Pyongyang-style dish. Read about Morioka reimen at Visit Iwate (English) (shows non-vegan items containing meat).

Tsurushiko Vegan Morioka Cold Noodle Soup/ビーガン盛岡冷麵

Photos from website.

Tsurushiko Vegan Morioka Ramen Cold Noodle Soup 2    Tsurushiko Vegan Morioka Ramen Cold Noodle Soup