Frozen Confectionery

A range of frozen confectionery that does not contain dairy products and which appears to be vegan is widely available in Japan, although some contain ingredients such as flavoring and emulsifiers which may be animal-derived or sugar that may be bone-char processed. We have listed below wherever we have information on how these ingredients were made. We have marked down cross-contamination information where available.

There are a variety of fruit bars and a handful of gelatos and creamy ice creams without listed animal ingredients, but no vegan frozen yogurt, on the mainstream market. Not all items are available year-round. Different flavors of ice candy will be available at different times of the year. The easiest to find seem to be the Akagi Gari Gari Kun Soda Popsicle and the Imuraya Adzuki Popsicle. More non-dairy choices are available in summer than winter. You may only be able to find one or two options at a time in your typical convenience store, although sometimes more is available.

This is an example of a typical convenience store, Family Mart’s, single-serving frozen confectionery section. Everything has dairy and sometimes additional non-vegan ingredients listed in the ingredient list, except for what is outlined in red- the Akagi Gari Gari Kun Soda Popsicle and the Morinaga Rich Muscat Grape Ice Box. Photo taken in May 2020.

Family Mart Frozen Confectionery section

There are also additional brands available in smaller health food shops and supermarkets such as Natural House and Bio C’ Bon as well as for online purchase.

There are very often non-vegan ingredients added such as:

• dairy products/乳製品/nyūseihin. Most frozen confectioneries in Japan contain this.
• gelatin/ゼラチン/zerachin. Sometimes used in frozen confectionery, but not as often as dairy products.

Where vegans also have to be careful is in relation to additives like:

• emulsifier (乳化剤 – nyūkazai)
• flavoring (香料 – kōryō)

Below are some examples, mostly of things that are widely available.

First let’s look at the most popular brand of popsicle in Japan.

Akagi Gari Gari Kun Popsicles are the top-selling brand of popsicle in Japan, moving about 400 million units per year, or 3-4 per person in Japan. They consist of crunchy ice particles around a center. Garigari is an onomatopoeia for hard and crunchy and also the name of the company mascot Garigari-kun, a middle schooler with short hair and big teeth. The suggested retail price is 70 yen before tax. They can be found in many convenience stores and supermarkets.  The Japan Times has an interesting article about Gari Gari Kun Popsicles: Unknown overseas, Garigari-kun popsicles year-round best-sellers in Japan (English).

Akagi Gari Gari Kun Cola Popsicle/赤城乳業 ガリガリ君コーラ(棒). Ingredients: High-fructose corn syrup, apple juice, sugar, glucose, starch syrup, liqueur, salt/flavor, coloring agent (caramel, anthocyanin), stabilizing agent (pectin), acidulant, baking soda, sweetener (sucralose, acesulfame K), emulsifier.

Manufactured on common equipment with products containing milk and egg.

20190414_192401 (2)    20190414_192357 (2)

• Akagi Gari Gari Kun Golden Pineapple for Adults Ice Block/赤城 大人なガリガリ君 ゴールデンパイン. Ingredients: Pineapple juice, sugar, high-fructose corn syrup, starch syrup, liqueur/acidulant, stabilizer (polysaccharide thickener), flavoring, coloring (yellow safflower, carotenoid), sweetener (sucralose, acesulfame potassium).

Manufactured on common equipment with products containing milk and egg.

Uses 33% golden pineapple juice. Has a finer-textured grain of ice than the typical Gari Gari Kun ice bars. The company recommends pairing it with sparkling water.

Photo from website.

Akagi Gari Gari Kun Golden Pineapple

It’s also available in Pokemon-themed packaging.

Photo from website.

Akagi Gari Gari Kun Golden Pineapple Pokemon Version

Akagi Gari Gari Kun Grapefruit Popsicle/赤城乳業 ガリガリ君 グレープフルーツ(棒). Ingredients: High-fructose corn syrup, grapefruit juice, sugar, starch syrup, lime juice, liqueur, salt, flavor, stabilizing agent (pectin), acidulant, sweetener (sucralose, acesulfame K), gardenia yellow pigment.

Photo from website.

Akagi Gari Gari Kun Grapefruit

Akagi Gari Gari Kun Kyushu Mandarin Popsicle/赤城乳業 ガリガリ君九州みかん (棒). Ingredients: High-fructose corn syrup, mandarin juice, sugar, apple juice, salt/flavoring, stabilizing agent (pectin), acidulant, paprika pigment, sweetener (stevia).

Uses 7% mandarin juice.

Manufactured on common equipment with products containing milk and egg.

Photo from website.

Gari Gari Kun Kyushu Mikan

The Kyoho Grape flavor is no longer viewable on the Akagi website, so may have been discontinued. However, as of July 1, 2020, it’s still available for purchase on Rakuten.

• Akagi Gari Gari Kun Kyoho Grape Popsicle for Adults/赤城乳業 大人なガリガリ君巨峰 (棒). Ingredients: Grape juice (Kyoho grape 53%), sugar, high-fructose corn syrup, starch syrup, salt/thickener (stabilizing polysaccharide), acidulant, flavoring, sweetener (sucralose), acesulfame K.

Manufactured on common equipment with products containing milk and egg.

Product is 44% grape juice.

20190821_204055 (2)    20190821_204107 (2).jpg

Akagi Gari Gari Kun Pear Popsicle/赤城乳業 ガリガリ君 梨 and Akagi Gari Gari Kun Pear Popsicle Multipack/赤城乳業 ガリガリ君 梨(マルチ).  Ingredients: High-fructose corn syrup (domestically produced), sugar, pear juice, apple juice, starch syrup, liqueur, salt/flavoring, stabilising agent (pectin), acidity regulator, caramel colour.

Product contains apple.

Manufactured on common equipment with products containing milk and egg.

Uses Japanese pears.

Gari Gari Kun Pear

Photo from website.

Gari Gari Kun Pear Multipack

Akagi Gari Gari Kun Soda Popsicle/赤城乳業 ガリガリ君 ソーダ(棒) and Akagi Gari Gari Kun Soda Popsicle Multipack/赤城乳業  ガリガリ君 ソーダ(マルチ). Ingredients: High-fructose corn syrup, sugar, apple juice, glucose, lime juice, starch syrup, liqueur, salt/flavoring, stabilising agent (pectin), acidity regulator, colouring (spirulina blue, gardenia pigment, safflower yellow pigment).

Manufactured on common equipment with products containing milk and egg.

20190307_210905    20190307_210916 - Copy

20190311_170939 (2).jpg

The soda flavor is also sometimes sold in packaging saying “Samurai Blue,” a catchphrase thought up by the Japanese Football Association in order to support the Japanese team. “Soda” is also written on the front of the package in English and hiragana (ソーダ) for the multipack version, but only in hiragana for the individually packaged version.

Photos from website.

Gari Gari Kun Samurai Blue

Akagi Gari Gari Kun Samurai Blue Soda Multipack

It’s not clear whether the Sports Drink flavor is free of animal ingredients. The source of the various amino acids is not listed.

Akagi Gari Gari Kun Sports Drink Popsicle/赤城乳業 ガリガリ君 スポーツドリンク味(棒)Ingredients: Sugar, high-fructose corn syrup, apple juice, grapefruit juice, dextrin, salt, starch syrup/acidulant, stabilizer (pectin), flavoring, potassium chloride, seasoning (amino acids, etc.), arginine, emulsifier, isoleucine, valine, leucine. 

Product contains apples.

Manufactured on common equipment with products containing milk and egg.

20190710_124155 (2)    20190710_124202 (2)

Akagi also makes other varieties of dairy-free popsicles. This Cassis & Blood orange version is sold at some Family Mart convenience stores as of May, 2020.

•  Akagi Cocktail & Fruit Cassis & Blood Orange/赤城 カクフル カシス&ブラッドオレンジ. Ingredients: Blood orange juice (manufactured in Italy), sugar, cassis juice, powdered syrup, high-fructose corn syrup, fructose, vegetable oil, liqueur/stabilizer (polysaccharide thickener), flavoring, coloring (carotenoid, anthocyanin), acidulant, emulsifier.

Out of the 28 specified allergens, product contains orange.

Photo from website.

Akagi Cocktail & Fruit Cassis & Blood Orange

Akagi Mandarin with a Kick/赤城乳業 ガツンと、みかん and Akagi Mandarin with a Kick, Multipack/赤城乳業 ガツン、と みかん(マルチ). Ingredients: Mandarin syrup, mandarin juice, high-fructose corn syrup, sugar, fructose, liqueur, salt/acidulant, stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener), flavoring.

Manufactured on common equipment with products containing milk and egg.

Made with 30% mandarin juice and flesh.

This product appears to come in two different packages, but the ingredient list and allergen warnings are identical.

20190117_195549 - copy (2)    20190117_195606 - copy

20190406_183541 (2)    20190406_183549 (2)

This individually wrapped version has a slightly different ingredient list.

20190625_203440 (3)    20190625_203447 (3)

Here’s an example of a non-vegan Akagi product. This tropical fruit bar has dairy/乳製品/nyūseihin.

Akagi Fruits from Tropical Countries with a Kick

• Dole Forest Fruits/Dole もりたくさんフルーツ. Contains four flavors, grape, orange, apple, and pineapple.

(Grape bars): Grape juice, sugar, starch syrup, dextrin, lemon juice, fermented grape juice/stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener, cellulose), flavoring.

(Orange bars): Orange juice, sugar, starch syrup, dextrin/trehalose, stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener), acidulant, flavoring, paprika coloring.

(Apple bars): Apple juice, sugar, starch syrup, dextrin, salt/stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener), acidulant, flavoring, carotene pigment.

(Pineapple bars): Pineapple juice, sugar, dextrin, starch syrup/trehalose, stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener), acidulant, gardenia pigment, flavoring.

Product contains orange and apple.

All four flavors are processed on shared equipment.

20190117_195549 - copy    20190117_195606 - copy (2)

• Dole Forest Fruits with Peach, Limited Edition/Dole もりたくさんフルーツ 期間限定ピーチ. Contains four flavors, apple, orange, grape and peach.

(Apple bars): Apple juice, sugar, starch syrup, dextrin, salt/stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener), acidulant, flavoring, carotene pigment.

(Orange bars): Orange juice, sugar, starch syrup, dextrin/trehalose, stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener), acidulant, flavoring, paprika coloring.

(Grape bars): Grape juice, sugar, starch syrup, lemon juice, dextrin, fermented grape juice/stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener, cellulose), flavoring.

(Peach bars): Peach juice, sugar, starch syrup, fermented peach juice, salt/stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener), acidulant, vegetable coloring, flavoring.

Product contains orange, peach and apple.

All four flavors are processed on shared equipment.

Photo from website.

Dole Forest Fruits with Peach, limited edition

• Dole Grape Ice Bars/Dole グループアイスバー. Ingredients: Grape juice, starch syrup, sugar/stabilizing agent (thickening polysaccharide, cellulose) acidulant, flavor.

Photo from website.

dole grape ice bars

• Dole Grapefruit With Peel Fruit for Adults/Dole 大人なフルーツ「皮ごとトグレープフルーツ. Ingredients: Grapefruit juice, sugar, sweetened grapefruit peel, grapefruit pulp, fermented grapefruit juice, vegetable oil, salt/stabilizing agent (thickening polysaccharides, agar), acidulant, emulsifier, flavoring, gardenia pigment.

Slightly bittersweet ice candy for adults.

20190419_140904 (3)

20190419_140904 (4)

While the lemon flavor of the Futaba Sacre ice contains whey protein/nyūsei tanpaku/乳清タン白 derived from dairy, so is not vegan, the salted lychee flavor doesn’t show animal ingredients on the ingredient list. As of 8/5/2020, this flavor is limited-edition and only at Family Mart convenience stores.

Futaba Sacre Salted Lychee/フタバ サクレソルティライチ. Ingredients: Mixed sugar corn syrup (domestically produced), sugar, lemon, grape juice, grapefruit juice, lychee juice, fructose, dextrin, spirits, salt/acidulant, stabilizer (thickening polysaccharide), flavoring, sweetener (stevia).

Futaba sacre    Futuba sacre ingredients

Family Mart Fruit Bars with Fruit Juice/ 果汁入りフルーツバー. Contains three flavors, orange, grape, and apple.

(Orange bars): Orange juice, sugar, starch syrup, acidulant, stabilising agent (polysaccharide thickener), flavoring, paprika pigment, carotene pigment.

(Grape bars): Grape juice, sugar, starch syrup, stabilising agent (polysaccharide thickener), acidulant, flavoring, grape pigment.

(Apple bars): Apple juice, sugar, starch syrup, acidulant, stabilising agent (polysaccharide thickener), flavoring, gardenia pigment.

Does not contain any of the top seven allergens. The three flavors are manufactured on the same equipment.

20181105_001017    20181105_001027

The following frozen smoothie-like ice cream product is available in the warmer months in NewDays convenience stores. After buying it, you’re meant to add cow’s milk from a machine by the register and mix well, making it non-vegan. However, it may be possible to veganize it by adding plant milk to it at home instead.

• Fruits Frozen Fru & Fro Mango/Fruits Frozen Fru & Fro マンゴー. Ingredients: Mango flesh, sugar, dextrin, powdered starch syrup/acidulant, sweetener (aspartame L-phenylalanine compound, sucralose), coloring (gardenia yellow, paprika pigment), flavoring, thickener (guar gum).

Fruits Frozen Fru and Fro Mango (2)

• Fruits Frozen Fru & Fro Strawberry/Fruits Frozen Fru & Fro イチゴ. Ingredients: Strawberry flesh, sugar, dextrin, powdered starch syrup/acidulant, sweetener (aspartame L-phenylalanine compound), flavoring.

Fruits Frozen Fru and Fro strawberry

• Glico Seventeen Ice Cider Sherbet/グリコ セブンティーンアイス サイダー. Ingredients: Sugar, high-fructose corn syrup, vegetable oil, starch syrup, lemon juice, pineapple juice, glucose/flavoring, acidulant, stabilizing agent (thickening polysaccharide), emulsifier, spirulina dye.

Contains none of the 27 allergens.

Products containing dairy are made on the same factory line.

Available in Glico Seventeen Ice vending machines.

Glico Seventeen ice cider front of package    20190601_165423 (3)

glico seventeen ice cider back of package

• Glico Seventeen Ice Muscat Sherbet/グリコ セブンティーンアイス ムスカット. Ingredients: Grape juice, sugar, high-fructose corn syrup, vegetable oil, starch syrup, glucose/flavoring, stabilizing agent (thickening polysaccharide), acidulant, emulsifier, coloring agent (safflower yellow pigment, spirulina blue).

Contains none of the 27 allergens.

Products containing dairy are made on the same factory line.

Available in Glico Seventeen Ice vending machines.

20190602_163238 (2)    20190601_165423 (2)  20190602_163247 - Copy (4)

Glico also manufactures a product line called Papico, which is available in many supermarkets and some convenience stores. Some Papico flavors include dairy/乳製品/nyūseihin and/or gelatin/ゼラチン/zerachin, but the flavors listed below do not. The Glico Papico product page is here.

Glico Papico Happy Veggie Apple & Carrot/Glico パピコ はピ べジ りんご & にんじんIngredients: Vegetable juice (carrot, pumpkin, yellow carrot, asparagus, red bell pepper, broccoli, kale, spinach, red cabbage, purple carrot, cabbage, cauliflower, celery, burdock, bok choy, komatsuna, bell pepper, bitter gourd, watercress, lettuce, parsley), apple juice, high-fructose corn syrup, lemon juice, sugar, vegetable oil, water-soluble dietary fiber/ stabilizing agent (thickening polysaccharide), emulsifier, flavoring.

Photo from website.

Papico Happy Veggie Carrot & Apple

Glico Papico Happy Veggie Kiwi & Green/Glico パピコ はピ べジ キウイ & グリーンIngredients: Vegetable juice (komatsuna, carrot, pumpkin, yellow carrot, asparagus, red pepper, broccoli, kale, spinach, red cabbage, purple carrot, cabbage, cauliflower, celery, burdock, bok choi, bell pepper, bitter gourd, watercress, lettuce, parsley), high-fructose corn syrup, starch syrup, apple juice, kiwi juice, vegetable oil, lemon juice/stabilizing agent (thickening polysaccharide), flavoring, emulsifier, acidulant, spirulina pigment.

Photo from website.

Papico Happy Veggie Kiwi & Green

The Japanese Plum For Adults flavor uses plum wine. It contains 0.6% alcohol.

Glico Papico Japanese Plum For Adults/パピコ 大人の梅ジェラート. Ingredients: Sugar, high-fructose corn syrup, starch syrup, Japanese plum juice and flesh, vegetable oil, Japanese plum wine, soluble dietary fiber/flavoring, stabilizing agent (thickening polysaccharides), emulsifier, acidulant, coloring (safflower yellow pigment, vegetable pigment.

Product contains peach.

Products containing dairy are manufactured on the same factory line.

Limited-edition product.

Photo from website.

Glico Papico Japanese Plum for Adults

Glico Papico Kiwi/パピコ つぶつぶキウイIngredients: Kiwi fruit, high-fructose corn syrup, kiwi sauce, sugar, starch syrup, vegetable oil/stabilizing agent (thickening polysaccharides), acidulant, emulsifier, flavoring, coloring (safflower yellow pigment, gardenia pigment), calcium lactate.

Product includes kiwi fruits.

Products containing dairy are made on the same factory line.

Limited-edition product.

Photo from website.

Glico Papico Kiwi

Glico Papico Mediterranean Lemon/パピコ地中海レモン. Ingredients: High-fructose corn syrup, sugar, starch syrup, lemon juice, vegetable oil, lemon peel, salt/acidulant, stabilizer (thickening polysaccharides), flavoring, emulsifier, safflower coloring.

Products containing dairy are made on the same factory line.

Limited-edition product.

Glico Papico Mediterranean Lemon

The Glico Papico Rich Strawberry for Adults flavor is no longer viewable on the Glico website, so may have been discontinued. However, as of May 2020, it’s still available for purchase on Rakuten.

• Glico Papico Rich Strawberry for Adults/Glico パピコ 大人の濃い苺. Ingredients: Strawberry juice, strawberry flesh, high-fructose corn syrup, starch syrup, sugar, vegetable oil, fructose, acerola juice, raspberry juice, stabilising agent (thickening polysaccharide), flavoring, emulsifier, acidity regulator, coloring (vegetable dye, red mold-Monascus purpureus), calcium lactate.

Contains none of the top 27 allergens.

Products containing dairy are made on the same factory line.

Contains 50% fruit juice and pulp. (Tochiotome strawberry fruit juice 7%, Amaou strawberry fruit juice 3%.)

Limited-edition product.

20190227_233912    20190227_233920

The Glico Papico Rich Strawberry Gelato for Adults flavor is no longer viewable on the Glico website, so may have been discontinued. However, as of May 2020, it’s still available for purchase on Rakuten.

• Glico Rich Strawberry Gelato for Adults/パピコ 大人の濃厚ジェラート つぶつぶ苺. Ingredients: Strawberry juice, strawberry flesh, high-fructose corn syrup, sugar, starch syrup, vegetable oil, fructose, raspberry juice/stabilising agent (thickening polysaccharide), flavoring, emulsifier, acidity regulator, vitamin C, coloring (vegetable dye, red mold-Monascus purpureus), calcium lactate.

Products containing dairy are manufactured on the same factory line.

20200119_102320 (2)    20200119_102325 (2)

• Glico Papico White Peach/Glico パピコ 白桃Ingredients: Peach juice/peach flesh, high-fructose corn syrup, sugar, starch syrup, vegetable oil/stabilizing agent (thickening polysaccharide), flavoring, emulsifier, acidity regulator, coloring (yellow safflower, vegetable dye).

Product contains peach.

Limited-edition product. Contains none of the top 27 allergens except for peach.

Products containing dairy are processed on the same line.

Glico Papico White Peach

The Glico Papico Grape/グレープ version does not list dairy or gelatin as ingredients, but it’s being sold only in a box with other, non-vegan flavors and not on its own.

Glico Papico Grape

Here is an example of a Papico flavor, Chocolate Coffee, that is not vegan. It contains dairy/乳製品/nyūseihin as well as gelatin/ゼラチン/zerachin. There may also be dairy in the ganache/生チョコレート/nama chocoretto, although this is not stated on the label.

Papico Chocolate Coffee

HealthyTOKYO, the all-vegan cafe and restaurant inside Haneda airport, sells Froozer frozen fruit snacks, which are made out of only whole fruit and 1% guar/acacia, as well as on their website. Mango Tango and Strawbanana Bliss both have more than 25% of the recommended daily amount of vitamin C per serving.

Froozer Mango Tango. Ingredients: Mangos, Grapes, Pineapples, Bananas, and less than 1% Guar/Acacia (a natural source of fiber).

Froozer Strawbanana Bliss. Ingredients: Strawberries, Grapes, Bananas, and less than 1% Guar/Acacia (a natural source of fiber).

Froozer Orchard Cherry Berry. Ingredients: Grapes, Apples, Cherries, Strawberries, Blueberries, and less than 1% Guar/Acacia (a natural source of fiber).

Photo courtesy of HealthyTOKYO.

Froozer-three-pack

Imuraya Adzuki Bar/井村屋 あずきバー. Ingredients: Sugar, adzuki beans, starch syrup, cornstarch (non-genetically modified), salt.

20190414_192232 (2)    20190414_192232 (3)

Also available in boxes of six bars.

20190414_192207 (2)    20190414_192213 (2)

Imuraya Organic Adzuki Bar/井村屋 オーガニック あずきバー. Ingredients: Organic sugar, organic adzuki beans, cornstarch (non-genetically modified), salt.

Imuraya Organic Adzuki Bars    Imuraya Organic Adzuki Bars ingredient list

Per Imuraya’s website (Japanese), the yuzu flavor of their popular adzuki bar was first released in 2013-2014 but was brought back in 2019 due to customer request.

Imuraya Yuzu Adzuki Bar/井村屋 ゆずあずきバー. Ingredients: Sugar (domestically produced), adzuki beans, starch syrup, fructose, yuzu juice, cornstarch, salt/acidulant, stabilizing agent (thickening polysaccharides), gardenia pigment, flavor.

Items containing dairy are produced on the same production line.

Photo from website.

imuraya yuzu and coffee bars (2)

This pineapple-shaped treat from the same company was found in a branch of the convenience store Lawson in May, 2020.

Imuraya Ring-Shaped Pineapple Ice Candy/井村屋 輪切りパインアイス. Ingredients: Pineapple pulp, sugar, pineapple juice, stabilizer (thickening polysaccharide), acidulant, flavoring, gardenia pigment.

Photo from website.

Imuraya Ring-Shaped Pineapple Ice Candy

Kubota has a series of ice candy bars made from locally-grown Shikoku Prefecture fruits as well as traditional ingredients like adzuki and kokuto. They have more flavors to purchase on their website. Yuzu, Japanese bayberry, blueberry, Okinawan pineapple, Hokkaido adzuki (two types), matcha zenzai, and Okinawan brown sugar varieties are all without listed animal ingredients.

Kubota Japanese Plum Ice Candy/南国土佐のすももアイスキャンデー. Ingredients: Japanese plums (grown in Kōchi Prefecture), sugar.

Uses Japanese plums from Tosa, Shikoku. Made with only juice, pulp and sugar.

20190227_233854    20190227_233901

• Kubota Strawberry Ice Candy/苺アイスキャンデー. Ingredients: Strawberry juice, strawberry flesh, sugar.

Strawberries from Kōchi Prefecture are washed by hand, taking time and effort, and made into an ice bar with no extra additives.

20190227_233935    20190227_233939

Lawson convenience stores carry a house brand called Uchi Cafe (meaning At-Home Cafe). The product page for the Uchi Cafe ice bars, showing past flavors is here (Japanese). As of July 1, 2020, the current flavors are listed on the ice cream section of the Lawson website (Japanese) as Blueberry, Sato Nishiki Cherry, and Yuzu Citrus & Mandarin.

• Lawson Uchi Cafe Sato Blueberry/ローソン ウチカフェ 日本のフルーツ ブルーベリ. Ingredients: Blueberry juice (domestically produced), sugar, fruit sauce (blueberry, sugar, strawberry), powdered corn syrup, high-fructose corn syrup, starch syrup, fructose, spirits, corn starch/stabilizer (thickening polysaccharides), acidulant, coloring (gardenia, anthocyanin), flavoring, calcium lactate.

Photo from website.

Lawson Uchi Cafe Blueberry

• Lawson Uchi Cafe Sato Nishiki Cherry/ローソン ウチカフェ 日本のフルーツ 佐藤錦. Ingredients: Cherry juice (domestically produced), sugar, apple juice, cherry purée, starch syrup, high-fructose corn syrup, fructose, raspberry juice, cherry blossom syrup (mixed sugar high-fructose corn syrup, cherry blossom extract), corn starch, spirits/stabilizer (thickening polysaccharides), flavor, coloring (yellow safflower, carotenoid pigment), acidulant.

Out of the 28 specified allergenic substances, product contains apples.

Photo from website.

Lawson Uchi Cafe Sato Nishiki Cherry

• Lawson Uchi Cafe Sato Yuzu Citrus & Mandarin/ローソン ウチカフェ 日本のフルーツ ゆず&みかん. Ingredients: Yuzu juice (domestically produced), mandarin orange juice, sugar, yuzu peel sauce, high-fructose corn syrup, starch syrup, powdered corn syrup, fructose, corn starch, liqueur, stabilizer (thickening polysaccharides), coloring (safflower yellow, carotenoid pigment), flavoring, acidulant, calcium lactate.

Photo from website.

Lawson Uchi Cafe Yuzu Citrus & Mandarin

• Lotte Golden Pineapple Ice Cream/ロッテ 爽 金のパイン. Ingredients: Golden pineapple juice, sugar, starch syrup, high-fructose corn syrup, vegetable oil, salt/acidulant, stabilizer (polysaccharide thickener, cellulose), emulsifier, gardenia pigment, flavoring.

Contains none of the 27 allergens.

Photo from website.

Lotte Golden Pineapple Ice Cream

Per an article in LiveKindly in November 2018, the Japanese company Morinaga has agreed to cease all animal testing not required by law.

• Morinaga Ice Box, Grapefruit/森永アイスボックス、グレープフルーツIngredients: Grapefruit juice, high-fructose corn syrup, salt/flavoring, acidulant, sweeteners (aspartame/L-phenylalanine compound, sucralose), vitamin C, sodium polyphosphate, carotenoid pigment.

Contains none of the 27 allergenic substances.

Items containing egg and dairy are manufactured in the same process.

20190619_164016 (2)

• Morinaga Rich Muscat Grape Ice Box/森永アイスボックス濃い果実氷<マスカット>. Ingredients: Muscat juice/flavoring, acidulant, sweetener (aspartame/L-phenylalanine compound, sucralose), sodium polyphosphate.

Contains none of the 27 specified allergens.

Manufactured on common equipment with items containing dairy and egg.

Morinaga Ice Box, Muscat Grape

The following product may be vegan. It isn’t clear what the “banana sauce” is made of.

• SEIKA Ripened Banana Fruit Gelato Bar/SEIKA フルーツジェラートバー 甘熟バナナ. Ingredients: Banana juice・banana flesh, starch syrup, banana sauce, sugar, high-fructose corn syrup, vegetable oil, stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener, modified starch), flavoring, emulsifier, acidulant, coloring agent (safflower yellow pigment), antioxidant (vitamin C).

Product is produced on the same line as items containing milk, egg, and peanuts.

20190414_192457 (2)    20190414_192448 (2).jpg

• 711 Four Assorted Flavor Fruit Bars/セブンプレミアム4種のフルーツバー. Contains four flavors, Kyoho grape, white peach, Satsuma mandarin, and Muscat grape.

(Kyoho grape bars): Grape juice, high-fructose corn syrup, starch syrup, sugar/stabilizer (polysaccharide thickener), acidulant, flavoring.

(White peach bars): Peach juice, starch syrup, high-fructose corn syrup, sugar/stabilizer (polysaccharide thickener), acidulant, flavoring, coloring (vegetable pigment, safflower yellow).

Product contains peaches.

(Satsuma mandarin bars): Mandarin juice, high-fructose corn syrup, sugar, starch syrup/acidulant, stabilizer (polysaccharide thickener), flavoring, carotenoid pigment.

(Muscat grape bars): Grape juice, high-fructose corn syrup, sugar, starch syrup/acidulant, stabilizer (polysaccharide thickener), flavoring, coloring (safflower colour, gardenia).

7-11 fruit bars    7-11 fruit bar ingredients

• Topvalu Rich Mango Ice Candy Bar/トップバリュ 濃厚な味わいの アイスバー マンゴー. Ingredients: Mango puree (Alphonso mango), sugar, starch syrup, dextrin, high-fructose corn syrup/trehalose, stabilizing agent (thickening polysaccharide), acidulant, flavoring.

20190525_155247 (3)

20190525_155241 (3)

NON-DAIRY ICE CREAMS

In general, non-dairy, plant-milk based ice creams can be found in local or regional natural food shops such as Natural House, Kodawariya and Bio C’ Bon.

Arctic Zero is currently carried at HealthyTOKYO restaurant in Haneda airport (before security), on their website, and National Azabu supermarket in Hiroo, Tokyo.

Arctic Zero non-dairy ice cream is based on fava beans, not soy or coconut, and is 40 calories per cup, sweetened with a fruit (monk fruit) and very low amounts of sugar, in chocolate and vanilla maple flavors. Vegan and gluten-free. It is available in two flavors, Chocolate and Vanilla Maple. The Salted Caramel flavor is not currently sold in Japan.

•  Arctic Zero Chocolate. Ingredients: Water, cane sugar, oligosaccharide, fava bean powder, cocoa powder, salt, thickener (polysaccharide thickener), flavoring.

•  Arctic Zero Vanilla Maple. Ingredients: Water, cane sugar, oligosaccharide, fava bean powder, salt, thickener (polysaccharide thickener), flavoring.

Photo courtesy of HealthyTOKYO.

arctic zero

There are also a few choices, Kracie and Topvalu, that can be found nationwide in regular grocery stores.

• Kracie Soy Vanilla ice cream/クラシエ ソイバニラ. Ingredients: Soymilk (including soybeans), starch syrup, sugar, melon juice, vegetable oil, starch hydrolyzate, mirin, salt/emulsifier, stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener), flavorings, trehalose.

Product contains soybeans.

The chocolate flavor may have been discontinued. As of September 2020, it is no longer visible on the Kracie website, although still available in some supermarkets.

• Kracie Soy Chocolate ice cream/クラシエ ソイチョコ. Ingredients: Soymilk (including soybeans), starch syrup, sugar, vegetable oil, cacao mass, cocoa powder, salt/emulsifier, flavoring, stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener), trehalose.

Product contains soybeans.

• Kracie Soy Strawberry ice cream//クラシエ ソイイチゴ. Ingredients: Soymilk (including soybeans), starch syrup, sugar, strawberry pulp, vegetable oil, high-fructose corn syrup, salt/flavoring (apple origin), acidulant, stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener), coloring agent (red mold-Monascus purpureus), emulsifier.

Product contains soybeans and apple.

These three flavors of the Kracie ice cream are confirmed not to use animal ingredients and not to use bone char to produce the white sugar. Information courtesy of Vegana No Japão (Portuguese).

20190111_233022

As of September 2020, the chocolate has been replaced on the website by a soy latte flavor. The website states it is plant-based/植物性/shokubutsusei.

Kracie Soy Latte ice cream/クラシエ ソイラテ. Ingredients: Soymilk (domestically produced), starch syrup, sugar, vegetable oil, starch hydrolysate, coffee, salt/emulsifier, flavoring, stabilizer (polysaccharide thickener), trehalose.

Product contains soybeans.

Photo from website.

Kracie Soy Latte

Topvalu (Aeon house brand) has an almond-based ice cream. The emulsifier is of plant origin and the ingredients do not contain gluten. This information courtesy of Vegana No Japão (Portuguese).

In addition, the blog sushivoyage.net (Japanese) reports that there are no animal ingredients used in the product and that the sugar is not cow bone char filtered but that palm oil is used.

• Topvalu Almond ice cream Ingredients: Almond processed product, starch syrup, sugar, vegetable oil, almond paste, salt/emulsifier, stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener), flavorings (includes soybeans as part of ingredients)

• Topvalu Almond Chocolate ice cream Ingredients: Almond processed product, starch syrup, sugar, vegetable oil, cacao mass, almond paste, cocoa powder, salt/emulsifier, stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener), flavorings (includes soybeans as part of ingredients)

• Topvalu Almond Maple Vanilla ice cream Ingredients: Almond processed product, starch syrup, sugar, vegetable oil, maple syrup, caramel sauce (sugar), salt / stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener), emulsifier, flavorings, trehalose (includes soybeans as part of ingredients)

20181122_135133

ONLINE

If stores near you don’t carry non-dairy ice creams, it’s also possible to order from smaller brands online. A few examples of these types of products are shown below.

Hayama Ice (company name Beat Ice) was started in 2018 as a way for the company owner to say thank you to all the people she’s met since moving to Hayama, a small town by the beach in the Shonan area of Japan. The ice creams are marked “vegan” in Japanese on the package (ヴィーガン). A spicy and gingery Almond Milk Chai flavor, a fruity and complex Coconut Amazake flavor, and special versions of the Coconut Amazake flavor made with rice from various rice terraces around Japan are available. The products are available for purchase on the Beat Ice website (Japanese) and at some restaurants. Follow the company’s Facebook to find out where.

• Hayama Ice Almond Milk Chai ice cream. Ingredients: Almond milk, cane sugar, black tea, glucose, dietary fiber (inulin), konjac flour, ginger (from Hayama), cinnamon, cardamom.

• Hayama Ice Coconut Amazake ice cream. Ingredients: Rice malt, rice, coconut milk, soymilk, cane sugar, glucose, dietary fiber (inulin), konjac flour.

• Rice Terraces Around Japan ice cream. Ingredients: Rice malt, rice, coconut milk, soymilk, cane sugar, glucose, dietary fiber (inulin), konjac flour.

Items containing milk and eggs are manufactured on the same production line.

hayama ice

K and Son’s has a variety of soymilk ice creams, available for purchase from Amazon Japan. A few flavors were also spotted in Natural Lawson in August 2020.

• K and Son’s Plant-Based 100% Organic Soymilk Ice Cream/K and Sons 植物性100%オーガニック豆乳アイスクリーム 80ml 12カップセット (アソート)

Available in assorted, green tea, strawberry, chocolate, vanilla, grain coffee, and black tea flavors.

• K and Son’s Plant-Based 100% Organic Soymilk Ice Cream Premium K and Son’s 植物性100%オーガニック豆乳アイスクリーム 80ml Premium 6カップセット (マキベリー&ストロベリー).

Available in Chocolate & Cacao Nibs, Chocolat & Banana, Chocolate Chip, Vanilla & Chia Seed, Maqui Berry and Strawberry, and Kuromitsu Syrup & Kinako Soy Powder flavors.

There’s a vegan coconut milk gelato with a great texture called Nice Cream, by Nourish Japan, available for purchase online. It comes in a 1kg package.

The products are made with a machine that also makes dairy products.

You can purchase the product and have it delivered from the Vegan Store website, run by the vegan convenience store in Asakusa, if you live in the 23 wards in Tokyo (delivery from 300 yen, including frozen items).

It can also be ordered, in sets of two, directly from the Nourish Japan website. You can have two of the same flavor or two different flavors.

Nice Cream.

• Coconut Milk. Ingredients: Vegan cane sugar, non-gmo coconut, glucose, modified food starch, salt, cellulose gum, xanthan gum, tapioca, maltodextrin, acacia fiber.

• Coconut Milk Chocolate. Ingredients: Vegan cane sugar, non-gmo coconut, glucose, cocoa powder, modified food starch, salt, cellulose gum, xanthan gum, tapioca, maltodextrin, acacia fiber.

• Coconut Milk Matcha: Vegan cane sugar, non-gmo coconut, glucose, organic matcha powder, modified food starch, salt, cellulose gum, xanthan gum, tapioca, maltodextrin, acacia fiber.

Some photos from website.

IMG_0248    nice cream chocolate stock photo

Nice cream matcha stock photo    nice cream coconut milk stock photo

GELATO

Returning to things that can be found in typical grocery stores, Lotte sometimes produces ice creams and gelatos that may be vegan. Some of their gelatos have dairy and/or eggs, but they currently have a muscat grape and a mango gelato listed on their website that don’t have any dairy, egg, milk, honey or gelatin in the ingredient lists.

Lotte Gelato Marche Mango/ロッテ ジェラートマルシェ マンゴー. Ingredients: Mango puree, sugar, mango juice, high-fructose corn syrup, starch syrup, vegetable oil/stabilizing agent (polysaccharide thickener), emulsifier, acidulant, flavoring, paprika pigment.

Processed on the same equipment as items containing dairy, peach and apple. Uses 25% mango juice and pulp for a rich mango flavor.

20181128_195032 (2)

Lotte Gelato Marche Muscat Grape/ロッテ ジェラートマルシェ マスカット. Ingredients: Muscat juice, sugar, starch syrup, high-fructose corn syrup, lemon juice, vegetable oil/stabilizing agent (thickening polysaccharides), emulsifier, flavoring, coloring (safflower yellow pigment, red mold-Monascus purpureus, gardenia pigment).

Uses 30% Muscat of Alexandria juice.

Photo from website.

Lotte Muscat Grape

FRUITS

They aren’t exactly ice creams, but whole, flash-frozen mandarins are also available in some convenience stores, especially in summer. They can also be purchased on Rakuten.

Hatchando Peeled Mandarin/八ちゃん堂 むかんみかん. Ingredients: Mandarins (domestically grown).

20190207_175114    mukan mikan

Here is an example of a product that seems like it might be vegan but is not. Especially for the grape version, it appears from the photo that the package may contain whole frozen fruits, but actually they are a series of round ice creams that all have dairy/乳製品/nyūseihin. It’s also listed as milk components/乳成分/chichiseibun on the allergy information section of the labels.

• Glico Ice Fruit, Strong Grape/Glico アイスの実<濃いぶどう>

20190130_232812.jpg    Glico Ice Fruit, Strong Grape

Glico Ice Fruit, Strong Mandarin/Glico アイスの実<濃いみかん>also has dairy/乳製品/nyūseihin, as do all the other flavors of this item.

20190130_232745    Glico Ice Fruit, Strong Mandarin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s