Cafes

Beck’s Coffee Shop
Cafe de Crie
Coffeekan/Kohikan
Doutor
Excelsior Caffe
Excelsior Caffe Barista
Hoshino Coffee
Komeda Coffee
Pronto
Starbucks
St. Marc Cafe
Tully’s Coffee
Ueshima Coffee
Caffe Veloce

Below is information about the availability of possibly vegan food/drinks at some the more common chain cafes in Japan. This information is based on a review of the allergen information provided on the cafe’s website. In Japan, restaurants and cafes are required to give information about the presence of the following allergens in their food products:

• eggs, milk, wheat, buckwheat, peanut, shrimp and crab.

It is recommended that they also give information about the following allergens:

• soy, beef, chicken, pork, abalone, squid, salmon roe, salmon, mackerel, orange, kiwifruit, peach, apple, pineapple, yam/sweet potato, walnuts, gelatine and banana.

This information can be useful for vegans. Of course it is not definitive, as other animal products may still be in the food – e.g. fish dashi. Fish dashi, skipjack tuna dashi in particular, is very commonly used in Japan in sauces, soups, and savory dishes. Other types of fish such as tuna or anchovies, seafood such as scallops, and also duck or honey can also be present in the food and not mentioned on allergen charts. Honey is commonly used at some cafes in Japan. So, allergen charts are merely a good starting point, allowing you to narrow your search and ask a few good questions.

Some foods contain flavoring and emulsifiers which may be animal-derived or sugar that may be bone-char processed. We have marked below wherever we have information on how these ingredients were made.

Note cafes often change their menus, so it is a good idea to check their websites before you visit. Of course it is always a good idea to check with staff that the item you want to order is vegan (if possible).

Wherever possible, we have noted below where foods were cooked together with animal products or may have cross-contamination from being processed together with food containing animal products, but food may also have cross-contamination from wheat, soy, or other ingredients. Please check allergen charts before eating if you have food allergies or intolerances.

Beck’s Coffee Shop

Beck’s Coffee Shop is run by the Japan Railway (JR) East Food Business, so the stores are located in and around JR East stations.

The items that appear possibly vegan from a review of the allergen chart (published 7/1/2021) are:

• Superb Lemonade/とびっきりレモネード
• Rich Superb Lemonade/濃厚とびっきりレモネード
• Blend Coffee/ブレンドコーヒー
• Deep Roasted Coffee/深煎りコーヒー
• American Coffee/アメリカンコーヒー
• Espresso/エスプレッソ
• Soy Latte/豆乳ラテ
• Black Tea/紅茶
• Lemon Tea/レモンティー
• Jasmine Tea/ジャスミンティー
• Iced Coffee/アイスコーヒー
• Iced Soy Latte/アイス豆乳ラテ
• Orange Juice/オレンジジュース
• Iced Tea/アイスティー
• Iced Lemon Tea/アイスレモンティー
• Iced Jasmine Tea/アイスジャスミンティー
• Drip Pack Coffee/ドリップパック(1杯 カロリーはオススメ湯量で抽出した場合)

Add-ins:
• Gum Syrup/ガムシロップ
• Stick Sugar/スティックシュガー

The website states that the Tomato Loaded 8 Kinds of Vegetable Curry/たっぷりトマトと8種野菜のカレー does not use animal ingredients (doubutsusei shokuzai fushiyou/動物性食材不使用) and it also doesn’t show any animal allergens on the allergen chart. According to the website, it isn’t at all stores. Check here for the list of the stores it is available at.

Photos taken in July 2021. 

Beck’s Curry 1    Beck’s Curry 2    Beck's Curry 3

Cafe de Crie

According to their website, as of the time of this writing in August 2021, Cafe de Crie has 193 shops in Japan from Hokkaido to Okinawa

Check the drink menu here. 

You can order the drinks marked with a soybean on the website with non-adjusted soymilk for an extra ¥50. However, even when ordered with soymilk, some drinks still have dairy in them, so please check the list below.

You can get 30 yen off takeout orders if you bring your own tumbler or mug with a lid. Information here.

There is a disclaimer on the Cafe de Crie website stating (from autotranslate): “About allergy indication
The allergens shown on this page are the result of a scrutiny of all ingredients.
All are displayed regardless of the amount of allergens.
 Some of them are manufactured and cooked in the same equipment as raw materials containing other allergens.
Sensitivity to allergens varies greatly from person to person.
We recommend that you consult a specialist for the final decision based on this data.
 Ingredients that are not originally used in the product may adhere to or mix in during factory manufacturing or store cooking, and
some ingredients may differ depending on the store, which is not absolute.
Please consult with your doctor before making the final decision.
Allergy information is a search of the raw materials of the product.
As a general rule, accessories such as potion milk, sugar, gum syrup, and dressings are listed separately.
Products are subject to change without notice. In addition, information will be updated from time to time as the product content changes.
The products we handle differ depending on the store. Some stores do not sell some products.”

Cafe de Crie has different allergen charts for different regions. Here, we’ve reviewed only the allergen chart for the Kanto/Tohoku region. The items that appear to possibly be vegan from a review of the allergen chart for the Kanto/Tohoku region (published 8/4/2021):

Hot drinks:
• Blend Coffee/ブレンドコーヒー
• American Coffee/アメリカン
• Espresso/エスプレッソ
• Darjeeling Tea/ティー(ダージリン)
• Earl Grey Tea/ティー(アールグレイ)
• Assam Tea/ティー(アッサム)
• Soymilk/ソイミルク
• Caffeineless Coffee/カフェインレスコーヒー

Cold drinks:
• Iced Coffee/アイスコーヒー
• XL Iced Coffee (for a limited time)/XLアイスコーヒー(期間限定)
• Iced Tea/アイスティー
• XL Iced Tea (for a limited time)/XLアイスティー(期間限定)
• 100% Orange Juice/100%オレンジ
• 100% Apple Juice/100%アップル
• Iced Soymilk/アイスソイミルク
• Iced Caffeineless Coffee/アイスカフェインレスコーヒー
• Lemon Squash with Lemon Peel/レモンスカッシュ~レモンピール入り~
• Fragrant Ginger Ale with Domestically Grown Ginger/薫るジンジャーエール~国産生姜使用~
• Rooibos Tea/ルイボスティー (Only available in Cafe de Crie branches located inside hospitals)
• Iced Rooibos Tea/アイス ルイボスティー(Only available in Cafe de Crie branches located inside hospitals)
• Jasmine Tea/ジャスミンティー(Only available in Cafe de Crie branches located inside hospitals)
• Iced Jasmine Tea/アイス ジャスミンティー(Only available in Cafe de Crie branches located inside hospitals)

Other:
• Espresso Topping/トッピング エスプレッソ
• Sugar/シュガー
• Lemon/ポーションレモン
• Gum Syrup/ガッムシロップ
• Zero Calorie Syrup/ゼロカロリーシロップ

The following drinks are listed as not having dairy allergens in them when ordered with soymilk. When ordered with soymilk, they appear potentially vegan from the allergen chart:

• Soymilk Cafe Au Lait/カフェオレ(豆乳変更)
• Soymilk Cafe Latte/カフェラテ(豆乳変更)
• Iced Soymilk Cafe Au Lait/アイスカフェオレ(豆乳変更)
• Iced Soymilk Cafe Latte/アイスカフェラテ(豆乳変更)
• Fresh Banana Au Lait with One Whole Banana/フレッシュバナナオレ~バナナまるごと1本~(豆乳変更)
• Orzo Latte/オルゾラテ(豆乳変更)(A  non-caffeinated drink based on barley and cassonade brown sugar. Only available in Cafe de Crie branches located inside hospitals)
• Iced Orzo Latte/アイス オルゾラテ(豆乳変更)(A  non-caffeinated drink based on barley and cassonade brown sugar. Only available in Cafe de Crie branches located inside hospitals)

The following items have dairy even when made with soymilk, so are not vegan:

• Blueberry and Yogurt Smoothie/ブルーベリー&ヨーグルトスムージー(豆乳変更)
• Blueberry and Yogurt Smoothie Topped with A Lot of Blueberries/たっぷり贅沢ブルーベリー&ヨーグルトスムージー(豆乳変更)

The Honey Peach Tea/はちみつピーチティー and Honey Apple Tea/はちみつアップルティー both presumably have real honey, so are not vegan.

The Whipped Cream/トッピングホイップ, Vanilla Ice Cream/バニラアイス, and Milk/ポーションミルク add-ons all contain dairy, so are not vegan.

As for food, the Soy Milk & Szechuan Sesame Sauce with Soy Meat/大豆ミートの豆乳坦々ソース and the Soy Milk & Szechuan Sesame Sauce with Soy Meat (changed to low-sugar noodles) 大豆ミートの豆乳坦々ソース(糖質OFF麺変更) do not show animal ingredients from the allergen chart. The rest of the foods all show animal ingredients from the allergen chart. Vegana no Japao (Facebook) contacted the company regarding the Soy Milk & Szechuan Sesame Sauce with Soy Meat and reported that the company stated there are no ingredients of animal origin included. 

Soy Milk & Szechuan Sesame Sauce with Soy Meat Cafe de Crie

Coffeekan/Kohikan

As of February 1, 2020, there are 240 Coffeekan shops in Japan.

They appear not to have a separate allergen chart, but the website lists the main 7 allergens next to the name of each menu item.

From a review of the website on February 27, 2020, the following items are not listed as containing any dairy milk, so may be vegan. No non-dairy milks are available.

• Charcoal Roasted Coffee/炭火珈琲
• Fully Ripe Coffee/完熟珈琲
• Shade Dried Coffee/蔭干し珈琲
• Coffeekan Blend/珈琲館ブレンド
• American Coffee/アメリカン
• Charcoal Roasted Iced Coffee炭火アイスコーヒー
• Kilimanjaro AA/キリマンジァロAA
• Ethiopian Mocha G-2/エチオピアモカG-2
• Mandelin G-1/マンデリンG-1
• Caffeine-less Coffee/カフェインレスコーヒー
• Caffeine-less Iced Coffee/カフェインレスアイスコーヒー
• Coffeekan Melon Soda/喫茶店のメロンソーダ
• Orange Juice/オレンジジュース
• Darjeeling Tea (when ordered with lemon instead of milk)/ダージリン(レモン)
• Earl Grey Tea (when ordered without milk)/アールグレイ
• Rosehip Tea/ローズヒップ
• Iced Tea (when ordered with lemon instead of milk)/アイスティ(レモン)

In addition, they sell loose coffee beans and drip coffee packs.

The Honey Lemonade/蜂蜜仕立てのレモネード and Honey Lemonade Squash/蜂蜜仕立てのレモンスカッシュ presumably are made with real honey, so are not vegan.

None of the foods or desserts at Coffeekan are vegan.

Doutor

Doutor is a large chain with close to 1100 shops in Japan.

The hot drink menu and iced drink menu are available on the Doutor website (bilingual).

The drinks that appear possibly vegan from a review of the drink allergen chart (some English provided; published 9/2/2021) are:

• Blend coffee/ブレンドコーヒー
• American coffee/アメリカンコーヒー
• Espresso coffee/エスプレッソコーヒー
• Soy latte/豆乳ラテ
• ~ Soy milk latte ~Soy milk whip~/豆乳ラテ ~まめホイップ~
• Kinako soy milk au lait ~Soy milk whip~/きなこ豆乳オレ ~まめホイップ~
• Uji matcha soy milk latte/宇治抹茶豆乳ラテ
• Uji matcha soy milk latte ~Soy milk whip~/宇治抹茶豆乳ラテ ~まめホイップ~
• Decaf coffee/カフェインレス コーヒー
• Decaf soy latte/カフェインレス 豆乳ラテ
• Rooibos tea/ルイボスティー
• Tea/ティー
• Soy milk tea/豆乳ティー
• Hot soy milk/ホット豆乳
• Iced coffee/アイスコーヒー
• Iced soy latte/アイス豆乳ラテ
• Iced soy milk latte ~Soy milk whip~/アイス豆乳ラテ ~まめホイップ~
• Iced kinako soy milk au lait ~Soy milk whip~/アイスきなこ豆乳オレ ~まめホイップ~
• Iced uji matcha soy milk latte/アイス宇治抹茶豆乳ラテ
• Iced uji matcha soy milk latte ~Soy milk whip~/アイス宇治抹茶豆乳ラテ ~まめホイップ~
• Decaf iced coffee/カフェインレス アイスコーヒー
• Decaf iced soy latte/カフェインレス アイス豆乳ラテ
• Soy café au lait/豆乳オレ
• Soy milk café au lait ~Soy milk whip~/豆乳オレ ~まめホイップ~
• Uji matcha soy milk au lait/宇治抹茶豆乳オレ
• Uji matcha soy milk au lait ~Soy milk whip~/宇治抹茶豆乳オレ ~まめホイップ~
• Iced rooibos tea/アイスルイボスティー
• Iced tea/アイスティー
• Iced soy milk tea/アイス豆乳ティー
• Iced soy milk/アイス豆乳
• Apple juice 100% pure juice/青森県産りんごストレートジュース
• Orange juice 100% pure juice/オレンジジュース~100%ストレート果汁~
• Iced soy café au lait/アイス豆乳オレ
• Iced soy milk café au lait ~Soy milk whip~/アイス豆乳オレ ~まめホイップ~
• Iced uji matcha soy milk au lait/アイス宇治抹茶豆乳オレ
• Iced uji matcha soy milk au lait ~Soy milk whip~/アイス宇治抹茶豆乳オレ ~まめホイップ~

Some of the drinks use “Mame Whip” soy milk whipped cream. According to Doutor’s news release for the items, it is dairy-free, although the shop’s utensils are used for dairy drinks, so there may be some potential for cross-contamination. 

The following add-ins all appear potentially vegan from the allergen chart:

• Stick Sugar/スティックシュガー
• Gum Syrup/ガムシロップ
• Organic Sugar/オーガニックシュガー
• Slim Type Sugar/スリムタイプシュガー
• 0kcal Syrup/ゼロカロリーシロップ
• Liquid Lemon/レモン果汁

Some of the teas and juices may be seasonally available.

The following items are not vegan: The Coffee Fresh/コーヒーフレッシュ creamer contains dairy. Although not noted on the allergen chart, which doesn’t show the presence or absence of honey, the Honey Sugar/ハニーシュガー syrup presumably contains real honey and would not be vegan.

There are no food or snack items without animal ingredients according to the food allergen chart (some English provided; published 9/1/2021 and 9/2/2021). There was previously a Whole Grain Sandwich Soy Meat/全粒粉サンド大豆ミート ~和風トマトのソース~ that did not show animal allergens on the allergen chart. However, the item page said both 植物性原料を使用した食材で作った全粒粉サンドです。(各食材の主原料に動物性食材を使用していないことを確認しています)/A whole grain sandwich made from ingredients made from vegetable ingredients. (We have confirmed that animal ingredients are not used as the main ingredient of each ingredient) and 完全な菜食主義の方に向けた商品ではありません/This product is not intended for people who are “kanzen saishoku sugisha.” Kanzensaishokusugisha are people who do not eat any animal foods. For more information on this term and its meaning please check our Ordering Food page.

Although Doutor did not certify that this product was okay for vegans or certify that all the ancillary ingredients were not of animal origin, they did remove the main ingredients of honey/egg/milk from the trial item before the nationwide release due to customer request, so we feel that this represented a positive step. Unfortunately on 9/2/2021 it was replaced with the Whole grain sandwich Soy meat ~Yuzu pepper soy milk sauce/~全粒粉サンド大豆ミート ~柚子胡椒豆乳ソース~, which contains both eggs and milk per the allergen chart and news release, so is not vegan. 

A Soy latte is pictured below.

20190228_222703

Excelsior Caffe

Excelsior Caffe is owned by Doutor Coffee. It’s supposed to be an Italian-style coffee chain. There are more than 100 shops in Japan.

You can get a ¥20 discount for bringing your own tumbler or mug.

The drinks that appear possibly vegan from a review of the allergen chart (published 4/22/2021) are:

• Coffee/コーヒー
• Iced Coffee/アイスコーヒー
• Espresso/エスプレッソ
• Americano/アメリカーノ
• Iced Americano/アイスアメリカーノ
• American/アメリカン
• Soy Latte/豆乳ラテ
• Iced Soy Latte/アイス豆乳ラテ
• Soy Cappucino/豆乳カプチーノ
Maple Soy Latte/豆乳メープルラテ (even though the Iced Maple Soy Latte/アイス豆乳メープルラテ contains dairy)
Uji Matcha Soy Latte/豆乳宇治抹茶ラテ (However, the similarly-named Uji Matcha Latte/宇治抹茶ラテ has dairy. Be sure the drink has the word “soy” in the name.)
Iced Soy Uji Matcha Latte/アイス豆乳宇治抹茶ラテ (However, the similarly-named Iced Uji Matcha Latte/アイス宇治抹茶ラテ has dairy. Be sure the drink has the word “soy” in the name.)
Fruit Rooibos Tea with Orange & Passion Fruit/フルーツルイボスティーオレンジ&パッションフルーツ
• Darjeeling Tea/ダージリンティー
• Assam Tea/アッサムティー
• Earl Grey Tea/アールグレイティー
• Iced Tea/アイスティー
100% Blood Orange Juice/100%ブラッドオレンジジュース
• 100% Grapefruit Juice/100%グレープフルーツジュース
• Lemonade Soda/レモネードソーダ
• Espresso & Perrier/ペリエスプレッソ
• Perrier/ペリエ
• Soymilk/豆乳
• Iced Soymilk/アイス豆乳

The following add-ins all appear potentially vegan from the allergen chart:

• Espresso Shot (1 shot)/エスプレッソ ショット(1ショット)
• Stick Sugar/スティックシュガー
• Gum Syrup/ガムシロップ
• Zero Calorie Syrup/ポーションゼロカロリーシロップ
• Lemon/ポーションレモン

The Whipped Cream/ホイップクリーム and Coffee Fresh/コーヒフレッシュ creamer add-ins are not vegan because they both contain dairy.

The following drinks contain dairy in some part of the ingredients even though they contain either soymilk or almond milk, so are not vegan:

• Almond Caramel Soy Latte/豆乳アーモンドキャラメルラテ
• Iced Almond Caramel Soy Latte/アイス豆乳アーモンドキャラメルラテ
• Iced Maple Soy Latte/アイス豆乳メープルラテ
• Maple Royal Soy Milk Tea/豆乳メープルロイヤルミルクティー (presumably also contains royal jelly)
• Iced Maple Royal Soy Milk Tea/アイス豆乳メープルロイヤルミルクティー (presumably also contains royal jelly)
• Banana & Caramel Protein Smoothie with Almond Milk/プロテインスムージー バナナキャラメル~アーモンドミルク使用~ (uses whey protein)

The Royal Soy Milk Tea/豆乳ロイヤルミルクティー and Iced Royal Soy Milk Tea/アイス豆乳ロイヤルミルクティー presumably contain real royal jelly so would not be vegan. The Honey Orzo Latte with Almond Milk/ハニーオルゾーラテ ~アーモンドミルク使用~ and Iced Honey Orzo Latte with Almond Milk/アイスハニーオルゾーラテ ~アーモンドミルク使用~ contain honey per the product pages on the website so are not vegan. 

The foods that appear possibly vegan from a review of the same allergen chart (published 4/22/2021) are:

• Plain bagel/プレーンベーグル
• Blueberry bagel/ブルーベリーベーグル

As of 4/22/2021, Excelsior Caffe has a bagel sandwich called Soy Meat ~with Balsamic Cream~/大豆ミート~バルサミコクリーム仕立て~. The poster for the product and the website’s “seasonal recommendations” section say the main ingredients are free of animal ingredients ( 各食材の主原料に動物性食材を使用していないことを確認しています) (but it’s not for kanzensaishokusugisha (those who don’t eat any animal products) 完全な菜食主義の方に向けた商品ではありません. This is identical to the wording used for Doutor’s Whole Grain Sandwich Soy Meat so again, it seems possible that some ancillary ingredient(s) could be of animal origin as if it were simply a cross-contamination issue, the company could just say so. It does not list any animal allergens on the allergen chart. 

Excelsior Caffe Barista

Also an offshoot of Doutor coffee with considerable overlap of menu items with regular Excelsior Caffe branches. 

The drinks that appear possibly vegan from a review of the allergen chart (published 4/22/2021) are:

• Specialty Coffee/スペシャルティーコーヒー
• Blend Coffee/ブレンドコーヒー
• Iced Coffee/アイスコーヒー
• Espresso/エスプレッソ
• Iced Espresso Doppio/アイスエスプレッソドッピオ
• Decaffeinated Coffee/カフェインレスコーヒー
• Soy Latte/豆乳ラテ
• Iced Soy Latte/アイス豆乳ラテ
• Uji Matcha Soy Latte/豆乳宇治抹茶ラテ (However, the similarly-named Uji Matcha Latte/宇治抹茶ラテ has dairy. Be sure the drink has the word “soy” in the name.)
• Iced Uji Matcha Soy Latte/アイス豆乳宇治抹茶ラテ (However, the similarly-named Iced Uji Matcha Latte/アイス宇治抹茶ラテ has dairy. Be sure the drink has the word “soy” in the name.)
• Fruit Rooibos Tea with Orange & Passion Fruit/フルーツルイボスティーオレンジ&パッションフルーツ
• Darjeeling Tea/ダージリンティー
• Earl Grey Tea/アールグレイティー
• Iced Tea/アイスティー
• Rose Hip & Hibiscus Blend/ローズヒップ&ハイビスカスブレンド
• Iced Rose Hip & Hibiscus Blend/アイスローズヒップ&ハイビスカスブレンド
• Lemon & Mint/レモニーミント
• Iced Lemon & Mint/アイスレモニーミント
• Herbal Cordial Soda with Organic Goji Berries & Pomegranate/ハーブコーディアル ソーダ オーガニックゴジベリー&ザクロ
• Lemonade Soda/レモネードソーダ
• Banana Almond Milk Smoothie/バナナとアーモンドミルクのスムージー
• 100% Orange Juice/100%オレンジジュース
• 100% Grapefruit Juice/100%グレープフルーツジュース
• Perrier/ペリエ
• Soymilk/豆乳
• Iced Soymilk/アイス豆乳

The following drinks contain dairy in some part of the ingredients even though they contain almond milk, so are not vegan:

• Banana & Caramel Protein Smoothie with Almond Milk/プロテインスムージー バナナキャラメル~アーモンドミルク使用~ (uses whey protein)
• Peach-and-Melon Almond Milk Smoothie/ピーチ&メロンとアーモンドミルクのスムージー

The Honey Orzo Latte with Almond Milk/ハニーオルゾーラテ ~アーモンドミルク使用~ and Iced Honey Orzo Latte with Almond Milk/アイスハニーオルゾーラテ ~アーモンドミルク使用~ contain honey per the product pages on the Excelsior Caffe website so are not vegan. The Royal Soy Milk Tea/豆乳ロイヤルミルクティー and Iced Royal Soy Milk Tea/アイス豆乳ロイヤルミルクティー presumably contain real royal jelly so would not be vegan.

The foods that appear possibly vegan from a review of the same allergen chart (published 4/22/2021) are:

• Plain bagel/プレーンベーグル
• Blueberry bagel/ブルーベリーベーグル

The bread/パン does not list any animal allergens from the allergen chart but is only available as part of a set (セット用). 

The mini salad/ミニサラダ, also available only as part of a set, has dairy so is not vegan. The Soy Chips Sesame Oil & Salt Seaweed/SOY CHIPS ごま油のり塩 also have dairy so are not vegan. 

As of 4/22/2021, Excelsior Caffe Barista (along with Excelsior Caffe) has a bagel sandwich called Soy Meat ~with Balsamic Cream~/大豆ミート~バルサミコクリーム仕立て~. The poster for the product and the Excelsior Caffe website’s “seasonal recommendations” section say the main ingredients are free of animal ingredients ( 各食材の主原料に動物性食材を使用していないことを確認しています) (but it’s not for kanzensaishokusugisha (those who don’t eat any animal products) 完全な菜食主義の方に向けた商品ではありません. This is identical to the wording used for Doutor’s Whole Grain Sandwich Soy Meat so again, it seems possible that some ancillary ingredient(s) could be of animal origin as if it were simply a cross-contamination issue, the company could just say so. It does not list any animal allergens on the allergen chart. 

Hoshino Coffee

There are more than 150 Hoshino Coffee shops in Japan.

Although there doesn’t appear to be an allergy chart on their website, as of February 27, 2020, the menu does list a soymilk latte/豆乳ラテ and iced soymilk latte/アイス豆乳ラテ, stating it’s suitable for people with dairy allergies (except that there may be cross-contamination)/ヘルシー志向の人や、乳製品アレルギーの人には嬉しいですね。(アレルギーに関してはコンタミネーションがあるので注意です). Presumably this means there is no dairy as an ingredient, only possibly from cross-contamination. There is also the usual assortment of black coffees, teas, and so on.

Komeda Coffee (English-language link)

Komeda Coffee is one of the largest coffee chains in Japan. Formed in 1968 in Nagoya, they’ve grown to a total of more than 800 shops. 

They have one plant-based branch, opened 7/15/2020 in Ginza, Tokyo. Check out the English-language Tokyo Vegan writeup here.

The information below is for their regular, non-plant-based branches.

They offer a drink ticket package of 8 tickets for 3100 yen, so 388 yen per drink. It is good for a variety of drinks, including a Soymilk Au Lait (hot or iced).

The following drink items appear to possibly be vegan from the allergen chart published 7/27/2021 (the Komeda Yōkan/コメダ羊羹 and coffee candy do not appear on the allergen chart so we have reviewed the ingredient list on the packages instead for those items):

• Orange Juice/オレンジジュース
• Melon Soda/メロンソーダ
• Soymilk/【豆乳】ミルク
• Iced Soymilk (with sweetener in or accompanied by sweetener)/【豆乳】アイスミルク(甘味入り)/【豆乳】アイスミルク(甘味抜き)
• Large Iced Soymilk/【豆乳】たっぷりミルク
• Large Iced Soymilk (with sweetener in or accompanied by sweetener)/【豆乳】たっぷりアイスミルク(甘味入り)/【豆乳】たっぷりアイスミルク(甘味抜き)
• Adzuki Komachi, Aoi (Mallow) (hot version)/小豆小町 葵(あおい)
• Komeda Blend Coffee (without Coffee Fresh Creamer)/コメダブレンド(フレッシュ不使用)
• American (without Coffee Fresh Creamer)アメリカン(フレッシュ不使用)
• Large Komeda Blend Coffee (without Coffee Fresh Creamer)/たっぷりコメダブレンド(フレッシュ不使用)
• Large American (without Coffee Fresh Creamer)/たっぷりアメリカン(フレッシュ不使用)
• Iced Coffee (accompanied by sweetener & without Coffee Fresh Creamer)/アイスコーヒー(甘味抜き・フレッシュ不使用)
• Large Iced Coffee (accompanied by sweetener & without Coffee Fresh Creamer)/たっぷりアイスコーヒー (甘味抜き・フレッシュ不使用)
• Lemon Tea/レモンティー
• Straight Tea/ストレートティー
• Iced Lemon Tea (with sweetener in or accompanied by sweetener)/アイスレモンティー(甘味入り/甘味抜き)
• Iced Straight Tea (with sweetener in or accompanied by sweetener)/アイスストレートティー (甘味入り/甘味抜き)
• Japanese Ise Black Hot Tea “Mizuki”/お伊勢さんの和紅茶 瑞 (ホットティー)
• Japanese Ise Black Iced Tea “Mizuki”/お伊勢さんの和紅茶 瑞 (アイスティー)
• Cola/コーラ
• Summer Juice/サマージュース
• Tomato Juice/トマトジュース
• Fresh Lemon Squash(with sweetener in or accompanied by sweetener)/生レモンスカッシュ (甘味入り/甘味抜き)
• Kome Black (New Blend Coffee)/コメ黒 (新ブレンドコーヒー)
• Caffeineless Coffee/カフェインレスコーヒー
• Gold Iced Coffee/Premium Coffee Sophia/金のアイスコーヒー / プレミアムコーヒーSophia

The Mixed Juice/ミックスユース and Banana Juice/バナナジュース both contain dairy, so are not vegan.

The allergen chart says that the Adzuki Komachi, Sakura (cherry blossom) (hot version) /小豆小町 桜(さくら) does not use milk (牛乳の使用はありません), however this is a milk tea-based drink, so it seems somewhat doubtful if it’s truly dairy-free. Please confirm with the staff if it has dairy or not before ordering. 

The following drinks do not have dairy allergens listed on the allergen chart when ordered with soymilk, so appear potentially vegan. If you order these drinks, check what you receive for a green “豆” sticker to ensure that your order was correctly made with soymilk:

• Soymilk Cafe Au Lait/Soymilk Au Lait/【豆乳】カフェオーレ(豆乳オーレ)
• Soymilk Coffee/【豆乳】ミルクコーヒー
• Large Soymilk Cafe Au Lait/【豆乳】たっぷりカフェオーレ
• Large Soymilk Coffee/【豆乳】たっぷりミルクコーヒー
• Iced Soymilk Au Lait (with sweetener in or accompanied by sweetener)/【豆乳】アイスオーレ(甘味入り)(アイス豆乳オーレ(甘味入り))/【豆乳】アイスオーレ(甘味抜き)(アイス豆乳オーレ(甘味抜き)
• Iced Soymilk Coffee (with sweetener in or accompanied by sweetener)/【豆乳】アイスミルクコーヒー(甘味入り)/【豆乳】アイスミルクコーヒー(甘味抜き)
• Adzuki Komachi Soymilk, Sumire (Violet) (hot)/【豆乳】小豆小町 菫(すみれ) (it’s unknown what ingredients are used to make the pink color in this drink and if it could possibly contain lac or cochineal)
• Iced Adzuki Komachi Soymilk, Aoi (Mallow)/【豆乳】小豆小町 アイス 葵(あおい)
• Iced Adzuki Komachi Soymilk, Sakura (Cherry Blossom)/【豆乳】小豆小町 アイス 桜(さくら)
• Iced Adzuki Komachi Soymilk, Sumire (Violet)/【豆乳】小豆小町 アイス 菫(すみれ) (it’s unknown what ingredients are used to make the pink color in this drink and if it could possibly contain lac or cochineal)

Add-ins:

• Soymilk (as an add-in instead of Coffee Fresh Creamer)/コーヒーフレッシュ(豆乳代替)
• Stick Sugar/スティックシュガー

The photo below shows the green “soymilk” sticker.

20200203_182245

The following drink contains dairy even if made with soymilk, so is not vegan:

• Soymilk Cream Au Lait (with sweetener in or accompanied by sweetener)/【豆乳】クリームオーレ(甘味入り)/【豆乳】クリームオーレ(甘味抜き)

The Honey Iced Coffee/蜂蜜アイスコーヒー presumably contains real honey and would not be vegan.

The foods that appear potentially vegan from a review of the same allergen chart are: 

• Potato Basket/ポテトバスケット
• Tomato Ketchup Packet/トマトケチャップ1袋(12g)

The Spreadable Soymilk/ぬる豆乳 is a product similar to a margarine on the morning menu. Although it doesn’t show animal allergens on the allergen chart; unfortunately as the toast has dairy, there’s nothing vegan to put it on. 

Shaved ice in Japan sometimes contains hachimitsu, which is honey. The Komeda allergen chart doesn’t show the presence or absence of honey. The following shaved ices in regular or mini sizes, when ordered without toppings, may possibly be vegan:

• La France Pear Shaved Ice/ラ・フランスかき氷
• Grape Shaved Ice/ぶどうかき氷
• White Peach Shaved Ice/白桃かき氷
• Strawberry Shaved Ice/いちごかき氷
• Uji Matcha Shaved Ice/宇治抹茶 かき氷 

In addition, the Sweet Adzuki Bean Paste Topping/小倉あん(トッピング) for the shaved ice doesn’t show animal allergens on the allergen chart. 

The Komeda Special Adzuki Milk Shaved Ice/コメダ特製 あずきミルクかき氷 and the other toppings for the shaved ice, Soft Cream/ソフトクリーム(トッピング) and Condensed Milk/練乳(トッピング) all contain dairy and are not vegan. 

A few of the snacks/packaged sweets appear to possibly be vegan.

The Bean Snack/豆菓子 that is given for free when you order a drink appears to possibly be vegan, both from the allergen chart and the ingredient lists. However, it’s not clear what the “edible refined and processed oils/食用精製加工油脂” are made of.

• Bean Snack/豆菓子. Ingredients: Peanuts (China), wheat, starch, sugar, adjusted sugar product (sugar, malitol), edible refined and processed oils, vegetable oil, salt/leavening agent, seasoning (amino acids, etc.).

Product contains peanuts, wheat, and soybeans.

komeda bean snack, front of package    komeda bean snack, back of package

20200229_162427 (2)    20200229_162433 (2)

There’s also a large packaged version of the Bean Snack to take home, but the ingredient list is slightly different. The “edible refined and processed oils/食用精製加工油脂” don’t appear as an ingredient here.

• Komeda’s Bean Snack/コメダの豆菓子. Ingredients: Peanuts, wheat, starch, sugar, vegetable oil,  adjusted sugar product (sugar, malitol), salt/leavening agent, seasoning (amino acids, etc.).

Product contains wheat and peanuts.

Product manufactured in a factory that also processes items containing dairy, eggs, shrimp, and crab.

 
komeda bean snack large package front of package    Komeda bean snack large package ingredient list
 

• Komeda Yōkan/コメダ羊羹. Ingredients: Sugar (domestically produced), adzuki beans, reduced syrup, agar.

Komeda Youkan

• Komeda Coffee Candy. Ingredients: Sugar (domestically produced), starch syrup, coffee, starch, starch syrup of reduced malt sugar (maltitol), vegetable oil, coffee extract/flavoring, coloring agent (charcoal powder), emulsifier.

Of the 27 specified allergenic substances, product contains soybeans.

Komeda Coffee candy

Pronto

Pronto functions as a cafe during the day and a bar at night. The information here is from the drink, food, and pasta allergen charts as of 3/16/2020 & 3/17/2020 for the “cafe time” menu.

The following drink items appear to possibly be vegan from the drink allergen chart:

• Morning Hot Coffee (a.m. only)/モーニングホットコーヒー
• Morning American Coffee (a.m. only)/モーニングアメリカンコーヒー
• Refreshing Morning Blend Coffee (a.m. only)/朝限定 朝のすっきりブレンド
• Hot Coffee/ホットコーヒー
• American Coffee/アメリカンコーヒー
• Espresso Coffee/エスプレッソコーヒー
• Iced Coffee/アイスコーヒー
• Large Iced Coffee/たっぷりアイスコーヒー
• Darjeeling Tea/ダージリンティー
• Iced Straight Earl Grey Tea/アイスアールグレイティー(ストレート)
• Large Iced Earl Grey Tea/たっぷりアイスアールグレイティー
• Iced Lemon Earl Grey Tea/アイスアールグレイティー(レモン)
• Green Rooibos Fruit Tea/グリーンルイボスフルーツティー
• Orange Juice/オレンジジュース
• Grapefruit Juice/グレープフルーツジュース
• Pepsi Cola/ペプシコーラ
• Oolong Tea/ウーロン茶

Add-ins:

• Gum Syrup/ガムシロップ1個
• Stick Sugar/スティックシュガー1個

The Coffee Fresh creamer has dairy.

There are no vegan pastas or foods of any sort at Pronto.

Starbucks

Starbucks in Japan has more than 1500 outposts. Some, such as the Reserve branches, may have additional items not shown below that will be listed on their own separate Japanese-language allergen charts on the Starbucks website. What is shown below is the standard menu that regular Starbucks stores in Japan have.

The Starbucks menu in Japan includes a soy latte, but you can also order other drinks with soymilk/豆乳, almond milk/アーモンドミルク, or oat milk/オーツミルク for an extra ¥50. However, even when ordered with non-dairy milk, some drinks still have dairy in them, so please check the list below. NOTE: Starbucks customer service stated in April 2021 to a volunteer that contacted them that their customized almond milk drinks all contain pork in the almond milk. They may possibly be referring to glycerin fatty acid ester/gurishin shibousan esuteru/グリシン脂肪酸エステル, a common component of emulsifiers in non-dairy milks in Japan that can sometimes be of pork origin and is very processed and would not appear on allergen charts if it’s processed to the point of not posing a risk of allergic reactions. 

They did confirm to us at that time that the oat milk and soymilk don’t contain any animal ingredients. 

When ordering a beverage containing non-dairy milk, you’ll receive a card to pass to the staff member making the drinks to make sure you pick up the correct beverage as well as a sticker on your drink to let you know the correct non-dairy milk was used.

The soymilk at Starbucks has been reported to use emulsifier made of plants, but the sugar they use was previously confirmed to be bone char processed. No information is known about if they use bone char processed sugar in their oat milk. In April 2021, a customer service representative did not know if they use bone-char processed sugar in their almond milk.

You can get a ¥20 discount for bringing your own tumbler or mug

The Starbucks websites states (from autotranslate): Please be aware in advance that the products offered at the store are not allergy compatible products and do not guarantee the removal of allergens.

The drinks that appear possibly vegan from a review of the English-language drink allergen chart (published 5/6/2021) are:

Yuzu Citrus & Tea (Hot or Iced
• Drip Coffee (Hot or Iced)
• Decaf Drip Coffee (Hot or Iced)
• Cold Brew Coffee
• Starbucks Nitro Cold Brew Coffee
• Coffee Press Service (Hot or Iced)
• Espresso
• Soy Latte (Hot or Iced)
• Cafe Americano (Hot or Iced)
Mango Passion Tea Frappucino® Blended Juice Drink
• Soymilk (Hot or Iced)
• Oat Milk (Hot or Iced)
• be juicy! Kids Orange
• be juicy! Kids Apple
• Youthberry™ Tea
• Mint Citrus Tea
• English Breakfast Tea
• Earl Grey Tea
• Chamomile Tea
• Hibiscus Tea
• Hojicha Tea
• Black Tea (Iced)
• Passion Tea (Iced)

The following drinks do not have dairy allergens in them from the ingredients themselves (excluding cross-contamination) when ordered with non-dairy milk. When ordered with non-dairy milk, they appear potentially vegan from the allergen chart:

Double Tall Latte Shakerato (seasonal drink)
Cold Brew Coffee Frappuccino® (seasonal drink)
• Caffè Misto
• Caffè Latte (Hot or Iced)
• Decaf Caffè Latte (Hot or Iced)
• Caffè Mocha (Iced) (although the allergen chart states that the Caffè Mocha (Hot) has dairy even when ordered with non-dairy milk)
• Cappuccino (Hot)
• Cocoa (Iced) (although the allergen chart states that Cocoa (Hot) has dairy even when ordered with non-dairy milk)
• Matcha Tea Latte
• Chai Tea Latte (Hot/Iced)
• English Breakfast Tea Latte
• Earl Grey Tea Latte
• Hojicha Tea Latte
• Chamomile Tea Latte
• Mint Citrus Tea Latte

The following drinks still have dairy in them as part of the ingredients even if ordered with non-dairy milk, so are not vegan:

• Coffee Tiramisu Frappuccino® Blended Cream (seasonal drink)
• Tea Tiramisu Frappuccino® Blended Cream (seasonal drink)
• Chai Chocolate Frappuccino🄬 Blended Cream (seasonal drink)
• Coffee & Cream Frappuccino🄬 Blended Coffee with Coffee Cream Swirl (seasonal drink)
• Coffee & Cream Latte(Hot or Iced) (seasonal drink)
• Moussed Foam Latte (Hot or Iced)
• Moussed Foam Caramel Macchiato (Iced)
• Caffè Mocha (Hot)
• Caramel Macchiato (Hot/Iced)
• White Mocha (Hot/Iced)
• Caramel Frappucino® Blended Coffee
• Dark Mocha Chip Frappucino® Blended Coffee
• Matcha Frappucino® Blended Cream
• Vanilla Frappucino® Blended Cream
• Dark Mocha Chip Frappucino® Blended Cream
• Cocoa (Hot)
• White Hot Chocolate (Hot/Iced)
• Caramel Steamer

According to information received from customer service, the following drinks have a pork-derived ingredient:

• Almond Milk (Hot)
• Almond Milk (Iced)

It’s been reported that some of these drinks, like the Matcha Frappucino® Blended Cream, Cocoa (Hot), and Caffè Mocha (Hot) are potentially vegan when ordered with non-dairy milk and without whipped cream, and that the staff can look up the ingredients on request to see if ordering without whipped cream would make the drink dairy-free. However, we’ve not been successful when attempting to do this at our local branch- the staff members are not always knowledgeable about what’s in what part of the drinks.

For customizations, the White Mocha flavor syrup, Whipped cream, and Caramel sauce are not vegan because they all contain dairy.

The other customizations all appear potentially vegan from the allergen chart:

• Espresso Shot
• Vanilla flavor syrup
• Caramel flavor syrup
• Classic syrup
• Almond toffee flavor syrup
• Chocolate syrup
• Chai syrup
• Chocolate chips
• Chocolate sauce
• Citrus pulp

Current food items that appear to possibly be vegan from looking at the English-language food allergen chart published 4/14/2021 are limited to the following packaged food items. 

• Tortilla Chips (Black Pepper)/トルティーヤチップス(ブラックペッパー)
• Potato Chips Sea Salt/ポテトチップス シーソルト. Ingredients: Potato (not genetically modified), vegetable oil, salt, cornstarch, kombu extract powder/seasoning (amino acid etc.), antioxidant (vitamin C). (Processed on the same equipment as items containing eggs, dairy, wheat, shrimp, and crab.)

There are no vegan dessert items. The After Coffee Mint (Strawberry) has gelatin. The Black Tea & Almond Milk Cake is not vegan as it contains egg. The Herb, Tomato and Soy Patty Foccacia is not vegan as it has egg and milk.

The Tortilla Chips (Black Pepper) are shown below.

20200315_173159 (2)

The Potato Chips Sea Salt appear to be a repackaged version of the Calbee Strongly Fried and Lightly Salted Potato Chips/カルビー 堅あげポテトうすしお味 that can be found in supermarkets. The maker, ingredient list and list of what allergens were processed on the same equipment as are all identical.

Starbucks potato chips sea salt    starbucks potato chips sea salt back of package

Although the caramel drinks all contain dairy, the vanilla and caramel syrups that are sold to take home don’t list dairy on the label. As both are made in Malaysia and marked “halal,” presumably they are therefore made without the use of bone-char processed sugar. Photos taken in August 2020. 

• Starbucks Caramel Flavoured Syrup. Ingredients: Sugar/flavoring, preservative (sodium benzoate, potassium sorbate) citric acid, caramel coloring.

• Starbucks Vanilla Flavoured Syrup. Ingredients: Sugar/flavoring, preservative (sodium benzoate, potassium sorbate) citric acid, caramel coloring.

Starbucks syrup front of package (2)    Starbucks syrup back of package (2)

St. Marc Cafe

The signs outside St. Marc Cafe say “Chococro” in English, but “Chococro” isn’t the name of the shop. There are more than 400 shops in Japan.

The information about St Marc Cafe is based off a review of their allergen chart published 4/17/2020.

• Lemon Black Tea/紅茶レモン
• Straight Black Tea/紅茶ストレート
• Yuzu Tea/ゆず茶
• Iced Lemon Tea/アイスティーレモン
• Straight Iced Tea/アイスティストレート
• Iced Yuzu Tea/アイスゆず茶
• 24 Kinds of Fresh Vegetable Juice/24種の新鮮野菜ジュース
• 100% Orange Juice/オレンジ100%ジュース
• Yuzu Orange/柚子オレンジ
• Sapporo Beer/サッポロ 生ビール

Oddly, all the coffee drinks have dairy listed, even the Blend Coffee. However, it’s been reported that they sell black coffee on request.

The hachimitsu soramame/はちみつ そらまめ presumably contains real honey, so would not be vegan.

There are no vegan foods or desserts available.

 

Tully’s Coffee

Tully’s Coffee is originally from Seattle in the U.S.A. It started in Japan in the 90’s and now has more than 700 stores in Japan.

Seasonal drinks tend to be available for a very limited time, so it’s likely that not everything listed below will be available at the same time.

You can get a ¥30 discount for bringing your own tumbler or mug

You can order drinks from the menu with soymilk for an extra ¥50. However, even when ordered with soymilk, some drinks still have dairy in them, so please check the list below.

The drinks that appear possibly vegan from a review of the drink allergen chart (published 8/24/2021, some English provided) are:

Creamy Foamed Espresso/クリーミーフォームエスプレッソ(Frozen) (seasonal beverage)
Fruit Splash Mango,Strawberry & Nata de Coco/フルーツスプラッシュマンゴーベリーココ (seasonal beverage) (may have cross-contamination from dairy, etc.) 
• Passion Fruit, Peach & Mango Tea/&TEA パッションピーチ&マンゴーティー (seasonal beverage) (may have cross-contamination from dairy, etc.) 
• Muscat Splash Grande/マスカットスプラッシュ グランデ (seasonal beverage)
• SUIKA Squeeze 100%/すいかスクイーズ (seasonal beverage)
• Grapefruit Layered Tea/&TEA グレープフルーツセパレートティー (seasonal beverage) (may have cross-contamination from dairy, etc.) 
• Peach & Muscut Tea/&TEA ピーチ&マスカットティー (seasonal beverage)
• Rooibos Apricot Peach/&TEA ルイボス アプリコットピーチ (seasonal beverage)
• Cafe Americano/カフェアメリカーノ
• Espresso/エスプレッソ
• Drip Coffee/本日のコーヒー
• Iced Coffee/アイスコーヒー
• Cold Brew Coffee/水出しアイスコーヒー
• Organic Decaf Coffee/オガーニックデカフェコーヒー
• Immersion Coffee/イマージョンコーヒー
Mango Tango Swirkle/マンゴータンゴスワークル
• &TEA Original Tea Malawi & Darjeeling/&TEA オリジナル マラウイ&ダージリン
• Cold Brew Tea/水出しアイスティー
• Blood Orange Juice/ブラッドオレンジジュース
• Apple Juice 100%/りんごストレート100%

The following drinks do not have dairy allergens from the ingredients in them when ordered with soymilk. When ordered with soymilk, they appear potentially vegan from the allergen chart:

• Soy Latte/ソイラテ (comes standard with soymilk)
• Cappucino/カプチーノ
• Espresso Macchiato/エスプレッソマキアート
• Flat White/フラットホワイト
• Houjicha Latte/ほうじ茶ラテ (May have cross-contamination from dairy, etc.)
• Uji Matcha Latte/宇治抹茶ラテ
• Soymilk/豆乳 (ordered as-is)

The following drinks still have dairy in them even if ordered with soymilk, so are not vegan:

• OIMO Latte/ほっこりOIMOラテ
• Mocha Macchiato/モカマキアート
• Honey Milk Latte/ハニーミルクラテ (also contains honey per the product page)
• Salty Caramel Latte/キャラメルラテwith ソルティーキャラメルソース
• Milky Flat White/ミルキーフラットホワイト
• Royal Milk Tea/ロイヤルミルクティー (presumably also contains royal jelly)
• Chai Milk Tea/&TEA チャイミルクティー
• Cocoa Latte/ココアラテ

Unfortunately, although the Tea Swirkle® Blueberry Earl Grey/&TEA ティースワークル ブルーベリーアールグレイ (seasonal drink) doesn’t show animal allergens on the allergen chart, the product page mentions honey/はちみつ/hachimitsu, meaning it would not be vegan.

All other drinks not listed here cannot be changed to soymilk and thus cannot be made vegan.

The following customizations appear potentially to be vegan from the allergen chart:

• with steamed Soymilk/with スチーム豆乳
• Syrup (Hazelnut, Vanilla, Caramel)/フレーバーシロップの追加(ヘーゼルナッツ/バニラ/キャラメル共通)
• Syrup (Maple)/フレーバーシロップの追加(メープル)
• Espresso Shot/エスプレッソショット
• Chocolate Sauce/チョコソース
• Cinnamon Powder/シナモンパウダー
• Sugar/シュガー
• Sugar Syrup/ガムシロップ
• Non Calory Sugar Syrup/ノンカロリーシロップ

These customizations are not vegan. They all contain dairy, except for the Tully’s Honey, which is real honey:

• Whipped Cream /ホイップクリーム 
• with Steamed Milk/with スチームミルク
• Salt Caramel Sauce/ソルティキャラメルソース 
• Tully’s Honey/タリーズハニー
• Chocolate Powder/チョコパウダー 
• Coffee Fresh/ポーション(コーヒーフレッシュ)(creamer)

Kids’ menu:

The following drinks appear to potentially be vegan from the allergen chart:

• Soymilk/豆乳 
• Cocoa Latte/チョコラテ (when ordered with soymilk)
• Apple Juice 100%/りんごストレート100%
• Vegetable Juice/充実やさい
• Apple Juice/元気なりんご

Groceries:

The following item appears to potentially be vegan from the allergen chart:

Tully’s Specialty Cafe au Lait Base 275 ml/Tully’s Specialty カフェオレベース 275ml

The foods and snacks that appear potentially vegan from a review of the food allergen chart of 9/7/2021 (some English provided) are:

There are two snacks at Tully’s that don’t show animal ingredients on the ingredient lists/allergen charts, the Dates & Cacao Raw Brownie Bar and the Fried Pasta, Salt flavor. The brownie bar can be found at some branches, but not all shops all the time.

Dates & Cacao Raw Brownie Bar/デーツ&カカオ 生ブラウニーバー. Ingredients: Dates, cacao mass, red sugar, roasted almonds, cacao powder, concentrated date juice, salt.

It is marked as free of all 27 allergenic substances.

20190518_132509 (2)    20190518_132520 (2)

• Fried Pasta, Salt flavor/フライドパスタ ソルト. (May have cross-contamination from manufacturing from items containing egg, dairy, shrimp, squid, salmon, mackerel, chicken, pork, etc.)

20200303_183815 (2)

In terms of the food, the following products have no animal ingredients listed on the allergen chart (some may have cross-contamination from items including animal products. Check the allergen chart for more details):

As of September 2021, two items that, according to the PR Times, don’t use animal ingredients as their main ingredients, were developed by T’s Restaurant, a well-known vegan restaurant chain which began in Tokyo and runs the T’s Tantan vegan ramen shops. The T’s Restaurant Facebook does refer to these items as “vegan.” 

• Plant-based Lasagna Plate (no dressing)/野菜仕立てのラザニアプレート(ドレッシングを除く)
• Plant-based Taco Rice/畑の恵みのタコライス(国産米使用)

Photos from the Tully’s website. 

Tully's Plant-based Lasagna Plate    Tully's Plant-based Taco Rice

The Mini Salad with Original Dressing (as part of a set) (morning menu)/セット ミニサラダ(TCJオリジナルドレッシング) (May have cross-contamination from dairy, etc.) does not show animal allergens on the allergen chart, apart from cross-contamination, but unfortunately, all the other items on the morning menu show animal allergens, so there would be nothing to order it with.

The Mini Salad with Italian Dressing (as part of a set) (morning menu)/セット ミニサラダ(イタリアンドレッシング) has egg and pork so is not vegan. It also may have cross-contamination from dairy, etc.     

In May 2021, Tully’s released a product in some parts of Japan called the Pita Bread Sandwich with Soy Meat in Chili Sauce, and began selling it as “Tully’s Plant-Based Food.”
 
There is an article about the product (it also covers the plant-based cassata that is reported to have a small amount of gelatin in the coloring off-label). It says (from autotranslate): “On May 28, Tully’s Coffee Japan will release a plant-based food “Soy Meat Spicy Pita Sand” using plant-derived ingredients at stores in the Kanto and Tohoku areas (excluding some stores). Scheduled to be released on June 11 in the Chubu-Shikoku area. Not sold in Hokkaido, Kyushu, or Okinawa. 
 
Tully’s plant-based foods do not use animal ingredients as their main ingredients, but they may use animal-derived ingredients as additives, so they are not products for people who aim for complete vegetarianism. A category that responds to diversifying needs, such as flexitarians (a coined word that combines flexible “flexibility” and vegetarian “vegetarians”), such as choosing a diet considering health considerations and environmental impact.” 
 
The product page for the Pita Bread Sandwich with Soymeat in Chili Sauce states (from autotranslate): * Tully’s Coffee’s plant-based food does not use animal ingredients as its main ingredients, but it may use animal-derived ingredients as additives.
* This product is not for those who aim for complete vegetarianism.
※タリーズコーヒーのプラントベースフードは、主要原材料には動物性食材を使用しておりませんが、添加物に動物由来の材料を使用している場合があります。
※当商品は、完全な菜食主義を目指す方向けの商品ではありません。
 
According to the allergen chart, it may also have cross contamination from other ingredients such as dairy, etc. 
 

The product pages for the Soymilk Cassata/ソイミルクのカッサータ and Strawberry Soymilk Cassata/苺とソイミルクのカッサータ, new items in March 2021, both state the items are plant-based and they don’t show any animal ingredients on the allergen chart. However, it’s been reported that customer service states there is a small amount of small amounts of gelatin in the coloring of both the cassatas. (Although it doesn’t turn up on the allergen chart, it may just be very processed so no longer allergenic and therefore no longer required to be listed there.)

The following condiments/sauces/syrups also have no animal allergens listed on the allergen chart:

• Tomato ketchup/トマトケチャップ
• Mustard/マスタード
• Tabasco Pepper Sauce/タバスコペッパーソース
• Tully’s Original Pure Maple Syrup (to take home) /タリーズオリジナルピュアメープルシロップ
• Original Dressing/TCJオリジナルドレッシング

The Honey Walnut Doughnut/ハニーウォルナッツドーナツ presumably has real honey, and the product page shows an image of real honey. Even though Tully’s allergen chart doesn’t show the presence or absence of honey, it seems this item is not vegan. 

According to the ice cream allergen chart of 7/21/2021 (some English provided), all the ice creams at Tully’s have dairy, although the waffle cone does not show animal ingredients from the allergen chart. Therefore there are no vegan ice cream options at Tully’s. 

All their other snacks, food, and desserts have animal products as well. 

It’s also possible to pick up some of the Tully’s soymilk, made by Fukuren, to take home. The emulsifier is reported to be of vegetable origin according to someone who reported contacting Tully’s customer service.

• T’s Soy Milk/T’s ソイミルク. Ingredients: Soybeans (America, not genetically modified), sanontou sugar, vegetable oil, salt/calcium lactate, emulsifier, pH adjuster, flavoring, stabilizer (carageenan).

Product contains soy.

20200218_212228    20200218_212314

Ueshima Coffee

Ueshima Coffee/上島珈琲店 is a chain with more than 100 locations in Japan. It was established in 1933 in Kobe. The English sign outside the shops reads “Precious Coffee Moments,” but that isn’t the shop name.

You can get a ¥50 discount for bringing your own tumbler. (Japanese)

The information about Ueshima Coffee is based off a review of their allergen chart  published 3/20/2020.

Unfortunately, its Organic Soymilk Coffee/有機豆乳ミルク珈琲 contains dairy as an ingredient, leaving no dairy-free soymilk drinks. The only dairy-free drinks they have are:

• Cold Coffee Soda/冷珈ソーダ
• Nel Drip Blend Coffee/ネルドリップブレンドコーヒー
• Iced Coffee/アイスコーヒー
• Tea (straight)/ティー(ストレート)
• Tea (lemon)/ティー(レモン)
• Orange Juice/オレンジジュース
• Kids’ Orange Juice/キッズオレンジジュース

There is no vegan food available at Ueshima Coffee. The boiled egg and banana bread both contain egg. Oddly, the banana bread also contains salmon. All the other food and sweets items contain dairy.

Caffe Veloce

Caffe Veloce has more than 100 shops.

The information about Veloce is based on a review of the drink allergen chart and food allergen chart, both published Apr 1, 2020.

• Blend Coffee/ブレンドコーヒー
• American Coffee/アメリカンコーヒー
• Straight Tea/ストレートティー
• Lemon Tea/レモンティー
• Espresso/エスプレッソ
• Rooibos Mint Tea (Caffeineless)/ルイボスミントティー(ノンカフェィン)
• Iced Coffee/アイスコーヒー
• Iced Straight Tea/アイスストレートティー
• Iced Lemon Tea/アイスレモンティー
• 100% Orange Juice/オレンジジュース100%
• 100% Apple Juice/アップルジュース100%
• Premium Malts (alcohol)/プレミアムモルツ
• Kaku Highball (alcohol)/角ハイボール
• Wine (red) (alcohol)/ワイン(赤)
• Wine (white) (alcohol)/ワイン(白)
• Lemon Sour (alcohol)/レモンサワー

Add-ons:
• Sugar/シュガー
• Diet Sweetener/ダイエットスイート
• Gum Syrup/ガムシロップ

Food:

• Shiratama Zenzai/白玉ぜんざい (only available for a limited time only. Only available at two shops in Nagasaki.)