Fast Food

Bagel & Bagel
Baskin Robbins/Thirty-One
Burger King
Chabuton
Coco Ichibanya
First Kitchen
Floresta
Freshness Burger
Gusto
Ikea
Ippudo
Joyfull
Kentucky
Kourakuen/幸楽苑
Kyushu Jangara Ramen
Lotteria
Loving Hut
McDonald’s
Matsuya
Mister Donut
MOS Burger
Pizza Hut
Pizza La
Ramen Kagetsu Arashi/らあめん花月嵐
Royal Host
Saizeriya
Salvatore Cuomo Pizza
Soup Stock Tokyo
Subway
Sukiya
T’s Tan Tan
Tempura Tendon Tenya
2foods
Yakiniku Like
Yoshinoya

Below is information about the availability of possibly vegan food/drinks at some the more common fast food and chain restaurants in Japan. This information is based on a review of the allergen information provided on the restaurant’s website. In Japan, restaurants are required to give information about the presence of the following allergens in their food products:

• eggs, milk, wheat, buckwheat, peanut, shrimp and crab.

It is recommended that they also give information about the following allergens:

• soy, beef, chicken, pork, abalone, squid, salmon roe, salmon, mackerel, orange, kiwifruit, peach, apple, pineapple, yam/sweet potato, walnuts, gelatine and banana.

This information can be useful for vegans. Of course it is not definitive, as other animal products may still be in the food – e.g. fish dashi. Fish dashi, skipjack tuna dashi in particular, is very commonly used in Japan in sauces, soups, and savory dishes. Other types of fish such as tuna or anchovies, seafood such as scallops, and also duck or honey can also be present in the food and not mentioned on allergen charts. So, allergen charts are merely a good starting point, allowing you to narrow your search and ask a few good questions.

Some foods contain flavoring and emulsifiers which may be animal-derived or sugar that may be bone-char processed. We have marked below wherever we have information on how these ingredients were made.

You may be lucky enough to see allergen information on a restaurant menu, like the one below, but usually it can only be found on restaurant websites.

img_4740-cropped.jpg

Note restaurants often change their menus, so it is a good idea to check their websites before you visit. Of course it is always a good idea to check with staff that the dish you want to order is vegan (if possible).

Wherever possible, we have noted below where foods were cooked together with animal products or may have cross-contamination from being processed together with food containing animal products, but food may also have cross-contamination from wheat, soy, peanuts, or other ingredients. Please check allergen charts before eating if you have food allergies or intolerances.

For information about vegan and possibly vegan items at chain cafes, check our Cafes section. We currently have information on Beck’s Coffee Shop, Cafe de Crie, Coffeekan/Kohikan, Doutor, Excelsior Caffe, Hoshino Coffee, Komeda Coffee, Pronto, Starbucks, St. Marc Cafe, Tully’s Coffee, Ueshima Coffee, and Caffe Veloce.

Bagel & Bagel 

This is a chain with branches from Tohoku to Shikoku.

The information is based off of a review of the allergen chart of 6/28/2021. Unlike many allergen charts in Japan, this one shows if honey allergens are present in the food. The ingredient lists for the bagels are translated from the Japanese ingredient lists in the online store, where it’s also possible to purchase the bagels.

Unfortunately the Plant-Based Meat Hamburger/プラントミートバーガー which is sold at some branches has egg, dairy and gelatin according to the allergen chart.

Bagel and Bagel Plant-Based Meat Hamburger

The current items that appear to possibly be vegan are:

• Vegetarian Bagel Sandwich/ベジタリアンベーグルサンド. From autotranslate: “A simple seasoned vegetarian sandwich with 7 kinds of vegetables “leaf, cucumber, tomato, avocado, onion, red cabbage, beet”. A healthy and delicious bagel sandwich where you can feel the original taste of vegetables, the umami of bagels, and the sweetness. If you like bagels, this is a dish that you should definitely try.”

Note that all the available bagels have wheat.

Plain Bagel/プレーンベーグル Ingredients: Wheat flour (includes wheat), sugar, salt, baker’s yeast, wheat protein, molasses, malt extract, yeast extract/emulsifier, vitamin C, enzymes.
Sesame Bagel/セサミベーグル. Ingredients: Wheat flour (includes wheat), white sesame, sugar, salt, baker’s yeast, wheat protein, molasses, malt extract, yeast extract/emulsifier, vitamin C, enzymes.
Blueberry Bagel/ブルーベリーベーグル. Ingredients: Wheat flour (includes wheat), sugar-pickled blueberries, blueberry sauce (blueberry pulp, sugar), sugar, baker’s yeast, salt, wheat protein, molasses, yeast extract/thickener (modified starch, polysaccharide thickener), acidity regulator, emulsifier, flavoring, vitamin C, enzymes.
Cinnamon Raisin Bagel/シナモンレーズンベーグル. Ingredients: Wheat flour (includes wheat), raisins, sugar, baker’s yeast, wheat protein, cinnamon, salt, molasses, yeast extract/emulsifier, vitamin C, enzymes.
Maple Walnuts Bagel/メープルウォルナッツベーグル. Ingredients: Wheat flour (includes wheat), granulated sugar, walnuts, baker’s yeast, brown sugar, salt, maple sugar, wheat protein, molasses/emulsifier, vitamin C, flavoring, enzymes.
Soymilk & Edamame/豆乳枝豆ベーグル. Ingredients: Wheat flour (includes wheat), adjusted soymilk, edamame (includes soybeans), sugar, baker’s yeast, salt, apple cider vinegar (includes apples), wheat protein, adjusted soymilk powder, soymilk, molasses, yeast extract/emulsifier, coagulant, vitamin C, enzymes.
• Banana Almond Milk with Dietary Fiber Bagel/バナナアーモンドミルクベーグル (limited edition item starting 3/29/2021)
• Triple Berry/トリプルベリー (limited edition item)

The source of the emulsifier and enzymes is unknown. The blog Gentle World (English), quoting from the Vegetarian Resource Group (neither are Japan-specific) says enzymes in bread may or may not be vegan.

All the other food has animal products. The 15 Kinds of Grain Bagel/15穀ベーグル contains honey per the allergen chart as well as the ingredient list in the online shop, so is not vegan. All the muffins contain dairy and eggs. The limited-edition drinks Craft Cola/クラフトコーラ, Craft Ginger Ale Dry Lemon/クラフトジンジャーエール~ドライレモン~, and Craft Ginger Ale Pink Grapefruit/クラフトジンジャーエール~ピンクグレープフルーツ all have honey.

Photo of Vegetarian Bagel Sandwich from website.

Bagel and Bagel Vegetarian Sandwich

Baskin Robbins/Thirty-One 

The information about Thirty-One, as Baskin Robbins is known in Japan, is based off a review of the allergen information on their website as of 4/27/2021.

The current items that appear to possibly be vegan are:

Orange Sorbet/オレンジソルベ
• Yummy Grape/ヤミー! グレープ (select flavor)
• Midnight Apple/ミッドナイト アップル (select flavor)
• Daiquiri Ice/ダイキュリーアイス (select flavor)
• Sugar Cone/シュガーコーン
• Orange Sorbet Portion Cup/オレンジソルベ ポーションカップ

The Waffle Cone/ワッフルコーン is not vegan as it has milk and egg.

The ice creams are also available in a cup, or you can choose multiple flavors and take them home in a Variety Box.

Some photos from website.

Baskin Robbins orange sorbet    Baskin Robbins midnight apple    Thirty-One Orange Sorbet Portion Cup

Burger King

The Plant-Based Whopper contains animal ingredients per the Burger King website. The website further states the patty is made of 100% vegetable ingredients, but it has mayonnaise sauce and also a standard bun, so it is not vegan.

However, as of August 2021 until September 2nd, there’s a new bunless version, the new Version 2 Whopper/バージョン2ワッパー, that does not show animal ingredients on the in-store allergen chart. It is marked under the “beef” column, not as an ingredient, but as an “oil adjustment.” It isn’t quite clear what that means.

The website says the patties are 100% plant-based, that it’s not available at all branches, that cooking utensils are shared with animal ingredients, and that delivery is available from August 13, 2021.

First photo from website. Second photo taken in August 2021.

Burger King Version 2 Whopper    Burger King allergen chart

A previous review of the allergen chart showed the following items that did not show animal allergens from ingredients. However, as of 2021, we can not currently locate an allergen chart on the website so we cannot guarantee that the information is still correct:

• French fries/フレンチフライ
• Hash browns/ハッシュブラウン   (cooked in oil with items containing egg, milk, chicken, or gelatin, or the same utensils may have been used to cook those items)
• BBQ sauce/ バーベキューソース

For some reason, ketchup is not listed on the allergen chart. The “coffee fresh” creamer contains milk. The Plant-Based Whopper contains dairy and egg. The buns of the Plant-Based Whopper contain dairy.

Chabuton

Chabuton is a chain of ramen restaurants. They have an “only-vegetable-rahmen” which contains no animal ingredients (see the Vegout Tokyo blog). There is vegan gyoza too. On the ticket machine, push the buttons marked “only-vegetable-rahmen”/新野菜系らあ面 “shin yasai kei ramen” for vegan ramen and ベジ餃子, “vege gyoza” for vegan gyoza. Be careful not to accidentally push the button for the gyoza and chashuu rice bowl side/ぎょうざ炙りロスチャーシュー丼セット, because even though you can order it with vegan gyoza instead of chicken gyoza, the rice bowl ingredients contain animal products.

You can find your closest restaurant by checking the Chabuton website.

20180707_155003_resized 20190623_165208 (3)

20180707_154817_resized 20190623_165210 (2)

20190623_165319 (3)

Coco Ichibanya

The below information about Coco Ichibanya, often shortened to CocoIchi, is based off a review of the bilingual allergen chart of 3/1/2021.

The items that do not show animal allergens on the allergen chart from that date are:

• CoCoICHI vegetarian curry sauce/ココイチベジソース (Products containing milk are manufactured in the same factory)
• CoCoICHI vegetarian curry sauce (as an add-on)/追加ソース(ココイチベジカレー) (Products containing milk are manufactured in the same factory)
• Rice/ライス
• Special spices/特製スパイス
• Vegetarian curry zanmai(Minced soy meat cutlet , eggplant and spinach)/ベジカレー三昧 (Products containing milk and egg are manufactured in the same factory) (Be careful not to order the similarly-named Yasai zanmai curry, which looks identical but has meat)
• Small-size nan bread/単品ミニナン (On the children’s menu. Products containing milk and egg are manufactured in the same factory)
• Minced soy meat cutlet/大豆ミートのメンチカツ (Products containing milk and egg are manufactured in the same factory) (Be careful not to order the similarly-named menchi katsu/メンチカツ, which is made out of meat. It seems to arrive already cut into strips, whereas the minced soy meat cutlet arrives in one piece)
• Green salad/ヤサイサラダ
• Corn salad/コーンサラダ
• French fries/フライドポテト
• Nan bread/ナン/(Products containing milk and egg are manufactured in the same factory)
• Mellow Sauce/芳醇ソース Ingredients (from CocoIchi’s online shop): Vegetables (tomatoes, onions, garlic), sugars (sugar, high fructose corn syrup), brewed vinegar, salt, soy sauce (includes wheat and soybeans), spices/seasoning (amino acids, etc.), alcohol, thickeners (modified starch, tamarind seed gum) Out of the 27 specified allergens, contains wheat and soybeans.
• Spicy Powder/とび辛スパイス Ingredients (from CocoIchi’s online shop): Black pepper (India), chili pepper, starch, chili powder, dried citrus peel, curry powder/calcium phosphate, spice extract. Contains none of the 27 specified allergens.
• Fukujinzuke (pickled vegetables)/ふくじん漬 Ingredients (from CocoIchi’s online shop): Daikon radish, eggplant, lotus root, sword bean (Canavalia gladiata), ginger, pickled ingredients [salt, soy sauce, alcohol, brewed vinegar]/seasoning (amino acids, etc.), caramel color, acidulant, sweeteners (sodium saccharin, stevia), preservative (potassium sorbate), thickener (xanthan), flavoring. Of the 27 specified allergens, contains wheat and soy sauce.
• Worcester sauce/ウスターソース
• Original house dressing/オリジナルドレッシング. Ingredients (from CocoIchi’s online shop): Edible vegetable oil (domestically produced), soy sauce, brewed vinegar, salt, onion vinegar pickles, sugar, onion extract, dried onions, spices, dried bell peppers/ seasoning (amino acids, etc.), thickeners (xanthan gum), sweeteners (sucralose), spice extract. Out of the 27 specified allergens, contains wheat, soybeans and apples.
• Salt/塩

Toppings:

• Garlic bits/ガーリック
• Okra and yam/オクラ山芋
• Corn/コーン

The items specifically sold as animal-ingredient-free are:

• CoCoICHI vegetarian curry/ココイチベジカレー/kokoichi vege karē. You can add separate items to make combinations, such as vegetables, vegetables & eggplant, eggplant, spinach, mushroom & okra and yam, mushroom, minced soymeat cutlet, or minced soymeat cutlet & spinach. You can order topping combinations that aren’t specifically shown in the menu.
• Vegetarian curry zanmai(Minced soymeat cutlet, eggplant and spinach)/ベジカレー三昧/vege karē zanmai. (Be careful not to order the Yasai zanmai curry, which looks identical but has meat)
• Mini CocoICHI vegetarian curry/スモールココイチべジカレー/sumōru kokoichi vege karē.
• Minced soy meat cutlet/大豆ミートのメンチカツ (Products containing milk and egg are manufactured in the same factory) (Be careful not to order the similarly-named menchi katsu/メンチカツ, which is made out of meat. It seems to arrive already cut into strips, whereas the minced soy meat cutlet arrives in one piece)
• Vegetable Soup Curry/ベジタブルスープカレー/bejitaburu sūpu karē. Limited edition fall/winter item. Was most recently available until the end of February 2021.
• Boxed retort pouch vegetarian curry/CoCo壱番屋野菜カレー/kokoichibanya yasai karē. To take home (not available at all branches) (it may be possible to have this heated and served to you in the shop, if it doesn’t have the vegetarian menu)

Per customer service as of March 2020, “We cannot say that the Allergen-free curry/特定原材料(7品目)を使用していないカレ is free of animal ingredients,” and they further stated that it is not vegan. The add-on sauce to make the curry sweeter, Honey and fruit syrup/とろ~り甘くなるソース, is not vegan either as it contains honey. The potato topping/単品ポテト and Delicious and spicy garlic topping/旨辛にんにく have eggs. The creamer/フレッシュ for the coffee has dairy. The pickled scallions/らっきょう don’t show animal allergens on the allergen chart, but they do show honey in the ingredient list in the online shop, so are not vegan. The Oil-free dressing/ノンオイルドレッシング doesn’t show animal allergens on the allergen chart, but it does show skipjack tuna (bonito) on the ingredient list in the online shop, so is not vegan either.

Be careful not to order curries without the “veggie curry” base as the other curry bases have meat already in the sauce and the item can appear identical.

As of 3/1/2020, neither vegan curry (“veggie curry/ベジカレー/bege karē”) nor minced soymeat cutlet/menchi katsu are available in
– Nagoya Dome store
– Fukiage Hall store
– Hakodate Keibajo store
– Tokyo Keibajo store
– EXPASA Taga store
– Halal Akihabara store
– Halal Shinjuku-Kabukicho store
– Aichi Medical University store

In Centrair (Nagoya Chubu airport) store, vegan curry sauce is available, but minced soymeat cutlet/menchi katsu is not available.

All the rest of the shops nationwide have the items.

The vegetarian curry base is reported to contain palm oil by the blog Sushi Voyage.

The fried vegetables like fried eggplant and the minced soymeat cutlet/大豆ミートのメンチカツ/daizu mīto no menchi katsu are fried in the same oil at the restaurant as meat and other animal ingredients.

Domestically produced rice is served with the curries. It’s possible to adjust the spiciness level of the curry and the amount of rice you receive with your order- details are in the menu book.

If the branch you go to does not have the vegetarian menu, it may be possible to ask the staff to heat and serve you the retort pouch curry without animal ingredients.

Delivery may be possible- consult with your local branch.

This sign might be present on or near the door.

20190722_211127 (3)

Pictures of the vegetarian menu are shown in the two photos below. Everything on this menu is animal-ingredient free.

IMG_20200301_213235_2    IMG_20200301_213223_2

There are also some more animal-ingredient-free items listed in the regular menu:

Vegetable Soup Curry (Fall/winter limited-edition item)

Coco Ichibanya Soup Curry Fall and Winter 2020

coco ichibanya march 2020 new menu (3)

coco ichi small curry

coco ichibanya zanmai

This item, the minced meat cutlet curry, is non-vegan. Note that the meat menchi katsu is already cut into strips, unlike the soy version which should arrive at the table in one piece.

coco ichibanya menchi katsu curry

You can add on toppings like corn/コーン, okra and yam/オクラ山芋, eggplant/なす, natto/納豆, soymeat minced cutlet/大豆ミートのメンチカツ, mushroom/きのこ, vegetables/やさい, and spinach/ほうれん草.

Other than the minced soymeat cutlet, these items are not specifically sold as being free of animal ingredients, but it would seem to be likely. However, animal products are sometimes used in the production of natto in Japan, but without remaining in the final product.

coco ichibanya vegetable add-ons

The boxed retort pouch vegetarian curry/yasai karē/野菜カレー  is marked “does not contain animal ingredients/doubutsu yurai no genzairyou wo shiyou shite inai karē desu/動物由来の原材料を使用していないカレーです.” The box also says “Recommended for vegetarians” in English.

 Coco Ichibanya Vegetable Curry/CoCo壱番屋野菜カレー レトルト. Ingredients: Vegetables (potato, mushroom, young corn, carrot), curry roux, onion saute, sugar, salt, sesame paste, yeast extract, curry paste, roast onion/seasoning (amino acids etc.), caramel color, emulsifier, acidulant, flavoring. (Product contains wheat, soy and sesame.)

This product is meant to be heated up and then eaten. It says on the package not to open the package and microwave this flavor of curry in a bowl as may affect the flavor of the vegetables. One is meant to open the box, remove the pouch inside, boil the pouch unopened in hot water for 5-7 minutes, remove from the water, open and serve.

Online purchase links: Amazon JapanCoco Ichibanya online shop

IMG_20200301_224250_2    IMG_20200301_225733_2

It was previously available in a slightly different package (dark green), but with the same ingredient list, and was also marked “does not contain animal ingredients/doubutsusei no genzairyou wo shiyou shite inai/動物性の原材料を使用していない” in Japanese. That version can still be purchased online.

Online purchase link: Yahoo Japan Shopping

20190124_001246

Below are some photos of some of the curry combinations, as well as the winter limited-edition fall/winter Vegetable Soup Curry, that you can order at Coco Ichibanya.

First Kitchen

From reviewing their allergen chart of 4/22/2021 it appears the following items may be vegan:

All items except for Home Tapioca [Frozen Products] Jewel Tapioca Brown Sugar tapioca bubbles, Home Tapioca [Frozen Products] Jewel Tapioca Strawberry tapioca bubbles, Wafuu (Japanese-style) barbecue sauce, gum syrup, sugar, lemon, reduced calorie sugar, 50% Less Calorie Syrup, and habanero sauce, including ketchup, share cooking utensils/dishwashers/washing areas with other items, often including those containing animal products. Check the Japanese-language allergen chart for more detailed information regarding this.

• French fry potato, plain (salted) only/フレンチフライ, available in S (small), M (medium), L (large) or box (similar to extra large) sizes
• Gum Syrup/ガムシロップ
• Sugar/シュガー
• Lemon/ポーションレモン
• Reduced calorie sugar/カロリーオフシュガー
• 50% Less Calorie Syrup/ハーフカロリーシロップ
• Habanero sauce/ハバネロソース(中辛)
• Ketchup/ケチャップ
• Wafuu (Japanese-style) barbecue sauce/〔和風バーベキューソース〕

Morning menu (not available at all stores):

• Round hash brown potato/ラウンドハッシュポテト (モーニングメニュー店舗)

Takeout only:

• Home Tapioca [Frozen Products] Jewel Tapioca Brown Sugar (only the tapioca bubbles themselves for making drinks at home)/おうちタピオカ 〔冷凍製品〕 ジュエルタピオカ ブラウンシュガー (Products containing milk are manufactured in the same factory)
• Home Tapioca [Frozen Products] Jewel Tapioca Strawberry (only the tapioca bubbles themselves for making drinks at home)/おうちタピオカ 〔冷凍製品〕 ジュエルタピオカ ストロベリー (Products containing milk are manufactured in the same factory)

Event menu (at limited stores):

• Kakigori (shaved ice) – Strawberry, Blue Hawaii, Matcha/かき氷〔いちご・ブルーハワイ・抹茶〕/大
• Round hash brown potato, 3 pc./ラウンドハッシュポテト(3個)

The Spring Valley Brewery Afterdark beer/スプリングバレーブルワリー アフターダーク and the Coffee Fresh creamer with plant oils/コーヒーフレッシュ (植物性油脂) both have dairy.

Floresta

The Floresta doughnut chain has branches from Tohoku to Okinawa. Floresta shops may have one or more labeled vegan doughnut options depending on the day.

It appears that some branches may not carry vegan options.

The Floresta Vegan Nature Doughnut uses sanontou, a bleached and redyed type of sugar. The website states that eggs and dairy products are not used, however, other doughnuts containing eggs and dairy products are made at the same factory and fried in the same oil.

The photos were taken in May 2021. Both products are labeled with a vegan mark.

Floresta Vegan Nature Doughnut/ビーガンネイチャードーナツ. Ingredients: Hokkaido wheat flour, organic unadjusted soymilk, banana, sanontou, almond powder, soybean milk cream, rapeseed oil, baking powder, salt kōji.

Product contains wheat and soybeans.

Floresta Vegan Nature Doughnut

The below product also uses shared frying oil (as presumably all of their doughnuts and breads do).

Floresta Gluten-Free Yakuzen (Chinese Medicinal) Curry Bread/グルテンフリー 薬膳カレー.

Product contains soybeans.

Floresta Gluten-Free Yakuzen (Chinese Medicinal) Curry Bread

Floresta had two flavors of a collaboration doughnut with Morinaga for an advertised sales period of March 30 to May 31 2021. It looks like the sales period for these particular Floresta x Macrobiha collaboration doughnut flavors has possibly been extended. The top of the product page on their website currently reads that they’ll be on sale until the end of June 2021 (although if you scroll down it still says the end of May).

They use their own vegan doughnut and Macrobi-ha biscuits as the base for a filling. Find more information at PR Times. The PR Times article states (from autotranslate): “This time, the product development staff of Floresta finished the macrobiotic biscuits into a crunchy and chewy macrobiotic filling after trial and error, and further plant-based materials. Sandwiched with Floresta’s vegan donuts made with particular attention ! ”

It also states (from autotranslate): “Please contact each store before coming to the store for availability of products.” So it might not be at every store every day.

The Floresta website states (from autotranslate):

◎ Precautions for consumption

・ We do not use animal products such as eggs and dairy products. However, we manufacture donuts using eggs and dairy products at the same factory.
・ For frying oil, use rapeseed oil. We change it frequently and try to keep it fresh.
-Although vegan donuts are fried in cleanly filtered oil, we use the same oil as the oil used to fry donuts, including eggs and dairy products.
・ For the above reasons, it is not a product that is fully compatible with allergies. Thank you for your understanding.”

Photo from PR Times.

Floresta x Macrobiha collaboration doughnuts

Freshness Burger

From reviewing their bilingual (English follows Japanese) allergen chart of 4/1/2021, it appears the following items may be vegan:

• Fried Potato/フライドポテト
• Lime Soda/ライムソーダ
• Kale Green Smoothie/ケールグリーン
• Strawberry Pink Smoothie/ストロベリーピンク (shares manufacturing facilities with items containing milk, egg, etc.)
• Mango Yellow Smoothie/マンゴーイエロー
• Sugar/シュガー
• Sugar (Gum Syrup)/ガムシロップ
• Tomato Ketchup (portion)/ポーションケチャップ
• Mustard (portion)/ポーションマスタード

The Good Burger (Teriyaki or Avocado) contains eggs and milk, although not meat. The Long Potato contains egg. The vegetable soup (Hokkaido Pumpkin Soup)/ベジタブルスープ has chicken. The Fresh Lemonade/フレッシュレモネード※はちみつ使用, Lemon & Cranberry Soda/レモン&クランベリーソーダ※はちみつ使用, Homemade Ginger Ale/自家製ジンジャーエール※はちみつ使用, and Homemade Tea (iced or hot)/レモネードティー(ICE・HOT)※はちみつ使用 have honey. The Banana Milk smoothie/バナナミルク, Coffee Cream/コーヒーフレッシュ, and Onion Rings/オニオンリング contain milk. All baked goods contain milk and eggs. All the buns for the burgers have milk and eggs.

Gusto

Unfortunately, their allergen chart only shows the top 7 allergens so it’s very difficult to work out which menu items could potentially be vegan from it. According to an email from their customer service in 2019, they can only offer the following item as vegan:

• Vegetable salad (no dressing)

They stated that the desserts use dairy products and gelatin and their tomato sauce pastas are flavored with animal stock, etc., and the flavor in the items comes from animal products and if it’s removed, the food won’t have flavor any more.

As of 2021, that exact vegetable salad item doesn’t seem to exist any more, however at Gusto it seems you have the choice between trying to veganize one of the existing salads by asking to have the dressing and some of the ingredients removed or just going somewhere else entirely.

Ikea 

The food available at Ikea tends to vary by location. Customer service has stated that they sometimes reduce the amount of items on offer, especially during busy periods like weekends and holidays.

In March, 2020 we inquired if the egg and milk had been removed from the veggie dog bun, and if other options like the Green Sliders, Kids’ Veggie Burger and Veggie Wrap Sandwich were free of animal ingredients, but customer service would not provide us with a response. They said the foods change all the time, that recipes may vary by store, and you have to check the allergy charts at the stores. 

It has been reported that some items at ikea that are labeled as plant-based do contain animal ingredients, even though this PR Times article about Ikea’s plant-based foods does say that (from autotranslate): “What is a plant base food? It is a food made from only plant-derived materials without using any meat or eggs as raw materials.” We recommend to check the allergen charts before ordering.

The following options may be animal-ingredient free, however please confirm by checking the allergen chart at the branch you are visiting before ordering:

• Plant-based Strawberry Ice Cream/プントベースストロベリーソフト (cup or cone)
• Veggie Balls with Curry Sauce/べジボールカレーソース (This item previously had dairy yogurt sauce, but as of Oct 2019, per Ikea customer service, has soy yogurt sauce and contains no animal ingredients in the dish itself. There may be cross-contamination from animal ingredients during manufacturing)
• Veggie Dog/ベジドッグ (when ordered without the bun as the bun has milk and egg)
• Plant-Based Lasagna/プラントベースラザニア

As of 4/25/2020, they began offering the veggie balls and lasagna for takeout on weekends and holidays. The website states that there are no animal ingredients used in either, 地球にも健康にもいいもの植物由来の材料だけでつくった「ベジボール」や「ラザニア」. Ikea is also selling plant-based cup ramen in two flavors to take and make at home. Find out more about it in our Noodles and Pasta section.

Some locations have a soy latte/soy cappucino machine.

Per Ikea’s customer service, the cone for the ice cream does not contain milk/egg/animal ingredients, and you can also request to have the ice cream in a cup instead.

Ikea has stated that they’re planning to make the vege dogs completely vegan in the future by switching to a different type of bun. This information comes from a press release issued by Ikea Japan.

The vege dogs consist mainly of chickpeas and green peas. The soft-serve ice cream is made from ingredients including bananas.

ikea plant based ice cream

Ippudo

From February 2021, 45 Ippudo locations had plant-based ramen, プラントベース赤丸. The news release specifically stated no animal ingredients were used at all in the soup/noodles/toppings. However, as of April 28, 2021, it’s no longer being sold- the last sales date for any branch was 4/27/2021.

Photo from website.

210119_一風堂_2月シーズナル_プラントベー

Joyfull 

From reviewing their allergen chart of 6/30/2020 (Japanese) it appears the following items may be vegan:

• French Fries (Large Serving)/大盛りポテトフライ
• French Fries/ポテトフライ
• Edamame/枝豆
• Rice/ライス
• Small Rice/ライス小盛り
• Large Rice/ライス大盛り
• Large Plain Pasta (substituted for another item)パスタ大盛り(切替)
• Fresh Honeydew Melon with Melon Jelly/フレッシュ赤肉メロン ~メロンジュレ和え~
• Kids’ Fruit Punch/キーズフルーツポンチ

Alcohol:
• Draft Beer/生ビール
• Whiskey and Soda/角ハイボール
• Kinmugi/金麦
• All-Free オールフリー (non-alcoholic beer-flavored beverage)
• Kirin Honshibori (Lemon)/キリン本絞り(レモン)
• Iichiko, Shochu made from Barley/いいちご
• Kurokirishima, Shochu made from Sweet Potato/黒霧島
• Japanese sake (warm)/燗酒
• Japanese Sake(cold)/冷酒

• Mustard/からし
• Ketchup/ケチャップ
• Tabasco/タバスコ
• Mild Sauce/マイルドソース
• Red Chili Pepper/一味唐辛子Salt/塩

The soy sauce/しょう油 and natto/納豆 are not vegan as they have mackerel.

Joyfull Fresh Honeydew Melon with Melon Jelly

Kentucky (known as Kentucky Fried Chicken/KFC outside Japan)

From reviewing their allergen chart, it appears the following items may be vegan:

All products mentioned sometimes mixed with products containing egg, dairy, pork, beef, chicken, gelatin, fish and seafood in the cooking process at the store (except for low-allergen banana cake and low-allergen corn salad).

• Coloneling Potato, manufactured in same factory as products containing dairy
• Corn salad
• Hashed potato (only sold at certain stores) manufactured in same factory as products containing dairy
• Fried potato (only sold at certain stores), manufactured in same factory as products containing dairy
• Pickles friet (only sold at certain stores)
• Baguette (only sold at certain stores), manufactured in same factory as products containing dairy and eggs

They have a colored vegetable soup (sold seasonally, only in certain stores), but it appears only to be sold as part of a chicken combination plate and not by itself.

They have a low-allergen banana cake that is only sold in certain stores. It looks like it may be vegan from the ingredient list, but appears only to be sold as part of a low-allergen chicken plate (along with a low-allergen mini corn salad that is made without contact with animal products – not the same item as the regular corn salad) and not by itself.

Kourakuen/幸楽苑

This ramen shop has no vegan ramen but does have one variety of gyoza that does not show any animal allergens on the allergen chart as of 10/4/2019.

Vegetable gyoza/ベジタブル餃子 (6 pc. in store, 30 pc. to take home (frozen)). Listed ingredients from the package are: Vegetables (cabbage, carrot, nagaimo, shiitake mushroom, onion, green onion, ginger, ooba), granulated soybean protein, soy sauce, shortening, starch, vegetable gyoza seasoning (salt, onion powder, ichimi spice, other), sugar, Japanese sake, vegetable oil, wrap (flour, powdered starch syrup, vegetable oil, salt, powdered spinach/thickener (processed starch), oxidized starch, seasoning (amino acids, etc.), alcohol, sorbitol, calcium lactate, caramel coloring, pH adjusting agent, antioxidants (vitamin C, vitamin E), emulsifier, sweetener (licorice), flavoring.

Product contains wheat, soybeans, sesame, and yamaimo.

Stock photo from website.

kourakuen vegetable gyoza

IMG_20200322_213411_2

Be sure not to order the “half and half gyoza/ハーフ&ハーフ餃子” as that will come with non-vegan gyoza.

Kyushu Jangara Ramen

This vegan-friendly ramen shop has multiple locations in Japan, all in Tokyo. They also have a separate, totally vegan bistro called Vegan Bistro Jangara- check the Happy Cow listing here (English).

From a review of their website in May 2021, the animal-ingredient free items at the Kyushu Jangara Ramen shops are:

Vegan Shoyu (Soy Sauce) Ramen/濃い口醤油のビーガンらあめん
Vegan Shio (Salt) Ramen/和風ゆず塩ビーガンらあめん
Vegan Kumamoto Ramenl/熊本マー油のビーガンらあめん
(Formerly a limited edition product to celebrate their 35th anniversary. As of a review of the website in May 2021, currently at the Harajuku branch and on the Monday-Friday menu at the Akasaka branch.)

Not all items are at all branches, so check the website before you go to see what’s being sold where to avoid disappointment.

You can check the plant-based menu here (some English provided) that shows all three of the items listed above. It says in Japanese that no animal ingredients or chemical seasonings are used in these items in either the noodles themselves or the soup, スープも麺も、動物性原材料・化学調味料を一切使わないプラントベース(植物由来)のラーメンです.

The Vegan Kumamoto Ramen /熊本マー油のビーガンらあめん is shown below.

IMG_20200125_213903    20190921_160152 (2)

Lotteria

This information is based on the allergen chart of 4/9/2021 (Japanese).

The following items have the possibility of contamination in the cooking process by shrimp, crab, egg, dairy, beef, chicken, pork, gelatin, etc. in/on the store’s frying oil, iron cooking plate, etc.

• Hashed potato/ハッシュポテト
• French fry (S, M, or L)/フレンチフライポテト S/M/L
• Bucket potato/バケツポテト

The other food items are not vegan. The soy vegetable hamburger/ソイ野菜ハンバーガー and the soy vegetable cheeseburger/ソイ野菜チーズバーガー are not vegan because they both contain dairy and egg. The consomme-flavored potatoes/ふるポテ コンソメ風味(粉のみ)contain pork. The nori salt-flavored potatoes/ふるポテ のり塩風味(粉のみ) contain chicken and pork. The cup salad with coleslaw dressing/カップサラダ(コールスロードレッシング)and cup salad with sesame dressing/カップサラダ(ごまドレッシング) both have egg.

Loving Hut

If you are in Tokyo you are lucky because you can visit this all-vegan chain restaurant. These restaurants are in many locations around the world, but there is just one in Japan. The Japan branch is only open a few days a week, so be sure to check the website before you go.

The Loving Hut Japan website is in Japanese and there is some English too.

McDonald’s

Information here is based off the English-language allergen chart of May 10, 2021.

Potentially vegan menu items are (links in English):

Edamame & corn
Side salad (without dressing)

There are no animal-ingredient-free salad dressing options. The roasted sesame dressing for the side salad has egg. The low-calorie onion, which appears to be another dressing and if so, the only other one oavailable, has mackerel.

There are no vegan burgers or desserts. McDonald’s in Japan uses beef (presumably lard) to fry their items in, so the fried items like hot apple pie and french fries all contain beef.

Matsuya

As of the time of writing in December 2020, there were no main dishes potentially free of animal ingredients, only side dishes.

The food has various cross-contamination depending on the item. For more information check the allergen chart.

Here are the items that don’t show animal allergens from a review of the allergen chart of 12/15/2020 (Japanese):

Side menu:
Fresh vegetables/生野菜
Rice/ライス
Green Onions/青ネギ
Grated Daikon/大根おろし
Natto with green onions/納豆(ネギ付)<選べる小鉢>、納豆(ネギ付)
Tororo/とろろ<選べる小鉢>、とろろ (it’s possible the seaweed topping could contain fish or seafood extract for flavoring)
Toasted nori seaweed 焼きのり (it’s possible this item could contain fish or seafood extract for flavoring)
Tororo and fresh vegetables Set/とろろ生野菜セット (it’s possible the seaweed topping on the tororo could contain fish or seafood extract for flavoring)
Soy sauce/醤油(5g)
Red pickled ginger/紅生姜(5g)
Seven-flavor chili pepper/七味唐辛子(0.2g)
Seven-flavor roasted black sesame/黒胡麻焙煎七味(0.4g)
French dressing/フレンチドレッシング(30g)
Ponzu sauce/ポン酢だれ(20g) (it’s possible this item could contain fish or seafood extract for flavoring)
Barbecue sauce/バーベキューだれ(20g)
Sansho pepper/山椒(0.3g)

Kids’ menu:
“Omocha” set/おもちゃセット (fruit jellies and a fruit juice)
Apple juice/りんごジュース

It’s highly likely that the miso soup/みそ汁 has skipjack tuna extract or some other kind of fish that does not show on the allergen chart.

The website photo of the hiyayakko/冷やっこ<選べる小鉢> chilled tofu shows that it comes with katsuobushi/skipjack tuna shavings on the top, but you may be able to ask for it without.

The “oshinkou” picked vegetables/お新香 may look promising, but has both crab and gelatin. The mini curry udon has dairy and salmon. The Fuji-san kimchi has shrimp. The potato/ポテト has egg and dairy. The mini udon, yakiniku kalbi sauce/焼肉のタレ甘口(カルビソース)(20g), and simmered tofu/湯豆腐 have mackerel. The sesame dressing has egg.

Mister Donut

This information is based off a review of the allergy chart published 5/14/2021.

They have one doughnut option that doesn’t contain milk, dairy, egg, honey, or gelatin allergens. It’s called the mini size Fuka Fuka Yaki Doughnut, Plain, and is a set of two doughnuts that are free of all of the 7 specified allergenic ingredients and intended for customers with allergies. You can order it at the counter and the staff will get it out of the freezer and give it to you to take home. It’s been reported that the staff will warm them for you in the shop, but we found the staff were not able to do that and sent them home with us frozen, so the policy may vary by branch. They are good toasted.

• Fuka Fuka Yaki (Soft Baked) Doughnut, Plain/ふかふか焼きドーナッツ プレーン: Ingredients: Rice flour (domestic), coconut milk, sugar, apple, rapeseed oil, lemon juice, pumpkin powder, salt, thickener (processed starch), sodium bicarbonate, vanilla flavor.

20190120_205110    20190120_205119

The drinks that don’t show animal allergens from the allergen chart are:

• 100% Valencia Orange Juice/バレンシアオレンジ100%ジュース
• Aomori-Grown Fuji Apple Juice/青森県産ふじりんご100%ジュース
• Iced Jasmine Tea/アイスジャスミンティ
• Tapicoco Muscat Flavor Soda/タピココ マスカットフレーバーソーダ
• Tapicoco Peach Soda/タピココ ピーチソーダ

The Taiwan Fruit Teas/台湾果茶: Passion Fruit Jasmine/パッションフルーツジャスミン, Pineapple Mango Jasmine/パインマンゴージャスミン,  and Mixed Berry Jasmine/ミックスベリージャスミン also look okay from the allergen chart (which doesn’t show the presence or absence of honey), however according to Entabe, the Orange Pink Grapefruit Jasmine/オレンジピンクグレープフルーツジャスミン flavor has honey, so it might be a good idea to check if the other flavors have honey as well before ordering. 

Although they don’t show on the allergen chart, the website also shows other drinks which seem likely to not contain animal ingredients including:
Hot Tea with Lemon/ホットティ (レモン)(specify that you don’t want milk when ordering)
Iced Tea with Lemon/アイスティ(レモン)(specify that you don’t want milk when ordering)
Iced Oolong Tea/アイスウーロンティ
Mountain Grape Squash/山ぶどうスカッシュ (checking for honey when ordering might be a good idea)
Misdo Blend Coffee/ミスド ブレンドコーヒー
Misdo Iced Coffee/ミスド アイスコーヒー
Caffeineless Iced Coffee/カフェインレスアイスコーヒー
Caffeineless Coffee/カフェインレスコーヒー

All of the other coffee drinks contain milk.

20190505_161913 (3)    20190505_161913 (4)

MOS Burger

Mos Burger released a plant-based burger nationwide on 5/21/2020. Previously it was at a handful of branches for a couple of months so the company could gauge customer reaction and check sales. By September 2020, it was available only at certain branches.

It also does not use the five pungent roots. It is made at a plant that produces products containing animal ingredients and the cooking equipment at the stores is also used for animal foods. Mos Burger is not calling it a vegan or vegetarian item. It may have cross-contamination from cooking equipment and manufacturing. It contains palm oil in the patty itself.

The poster for the plant-based green burger says “A vegetables and grain based burger that does not contain animal ingredients among its main ingredients,” but  the press release said in Japanese: Animal ingredients (meat, fish, egg, dairy etc) not used/原材料に動物由来のもの(肉、魚、卵、乳製品など)~を使用しないハンバーガーです and “without using animal ingredients/動物性食材を使わず so this probably just means it might pick up some particles from cross-contamination in frying, prepping, etc. Still, it isn’t totally clear that every ancillary ingredient is not from animal origin due to the confusing wording of the poster.

• Green Burger/グリーンバーガー

MVIMG_20200521_161523    mos burger

Mos burger flyer

In addition, the soy patty, which formerly contained egg and milk in the patty itself, has now been switched for the Green Burger patty, and can be ordered in any item. However, because the other items have animal ingredients in some other parts of them besides the bun, we were only able to identify the following lettuce-wrapped option as animal-ingredient-free- it would only be lettuce and a Green Burger patty, and the individual store may refuse to put ketchup on it:

• Soy Mos Natsumi/モスの菜摘(なつみ)ソイモス野菜 (ONLY when ordered without the sauce/ソース抜きで/sōsu nuki de. The sauces for the Natsumi line of burgers all have animal products. The regular Natsumi burgers (not soy) have meat patties.)

As of September 2021, there’s a new version called the Green Burger (Teriyaki)/グリーンバーガー<テリヤキ> which appears to be the same, but with some sauces that you can add on yourself. Again, the website says the main ingredients don’t include animal ingredients/主要原材料に動物性食材を使用せず. The allergy information doesn’t show animal allergens (outside of cross-contamination).

Image from website.

Mos Green Burger Teriyaki

The product page for the Chilled Dolce Raspberry Cup/ひんやりドルチェ カップ 木いちご says it’s made only of plant-derived ingredients without using eggs, milk or wheat/卵・乳・小麦を使用せず、植物性原料のみで作ったデザートです.

Image from website.

Chilled Dolce Raspberry Cup

The items which are not specifically sold as vegan or plant-based, but which don’t show animal ingredients from the allergen chart published here on 9/22/2021 (bilingual) are:

• French Fries/フレンチフライポテト
• Onion Rings/オニオンフライ
Onion Potato/オニポテ (フレンチフライポテト&オニオンフライ  (French Fries & Onion Rings)
Variety Pack A/バラエティパックA(フレンチフライポテト、オニオンフライ) (French Fries, Onion Rings)
• Low Salt Tomato Ketchup/トマトケチャップ減塩タイプ
• Mixed Salad with Flaxseed WITHOUT the Low Salt Japanese Dressing/こだわりサラダ ローストアマニトッピング  (the Low Salt Japanese Dressing has pork and chicken)
• Sweet Red-bean Soup (coarse red-bean paste) /おしるこ(粒あん)(Fall/Winter menu)

Other than the Low Salt Tomato Ketchup/トマトケチャップ減塩タイプ and the Green Terimayo Sauce/グリーンテリマヨソース that comes with the Green Burger (Teriyaki), all the other foods at Mos Burger are either processed with or cooked in the same oil/with the same cooking utensils (or on the same grill) as items containing various animal products.

All of their other foods contain animal products. The corn soup has milk, egg, and chicken. The mustard sauce has egg, the chili dip has beef, chicken, and pork, and the BBQ sauce has chicken and gelatin. Our volunteer contacted customer service in 2020 and was told that the Aurora sauce contains chicken.

As for drinks, the shakes and coffee au lait drinks, as well as the coffee cream, all have dairy.

img_2638

20190505_173817 (2) Mos Burger Menu.jpg

20190516_203306 (2)    20191220_175200.jpg

Pizza Hut

When asked in 2020 if there was dough without eggs/ milk/ lard or tomato sauce without animal stock (to check if a pizza with just crust and sauce and no cheese would be vegan), customer service answered that there are no vegan options.

Pizza La

According to the Pizza La allergen chart the following items don’t contain meat, fish, dairy, egg etc (see allergen chart for all ingredients checked):

• Four season salad (with either Italian tomato dressing or vinaigrette dressing)
• Pizza La french fries and roasted potatoes (with fancy tomato sauce and/or mustard sauce)

About pizzas, as of 9/21/2019, a representative on the the Pizza La customer hotline said:
– the dough doesn’t have any animal ingredients
– the tomato sauce has pork

Therefore no vegan pizza is available at Pizza La.

Ramen Kagetsu Arashi/らあめん花月嵐

As of June 25, 2020, this ramen  chain has temporarily, after a six-year hiatus, brought back its animal-ingredient-free items, Vege Ramen Nana and vege gyoza. There is also a Teppan-Vege Itameshi available for a limited time that shows no animal ingredients from the allergen chart of July 21, 2020 (English).

The ramen and gyoza appear to be extremely similar, if not identical, to the ones available at Chabuton. The noodles used in the ramen may be different. The two ramen chains are owned by the same parent company, Globeat, which explains the similarities between the items on offer. However, Chabuton has no vegan itameshi. The chausuu rice bowl at Chabuton, which may appear somewhat similar to the itameshi at Ramen Kagetsu Arashi, is not free of animal products.

The items which do not show animal ingredients from the allergen chart are:

• Vege Ramen Nana/べジラーメンNANA
• Vege gyoza/ベジギョウザ
• Teppan-Vege Itameshi/べジイタめし
• Rice

Toppings:

• Seaweed (it may be worth checking if this has fish or seafood flavoring)
• Spinach
• Bean sprouts
• Wakame seaweed (it may be worth checking if this has fish or seafood flavoring)
• Cabbage
• Corn
• Chinese cabbage (limited to winter season)

The Secret Marinade has pork. The Secret Ramen Sauce and crisp sliced green onions have dairy and pork. The bamboo sprout pickles have pork and chicken.

arashi kagetsu

Royal Host

On 3/4/2020, Royal Host released a curry that uses vegan curry sauce they’ve developed and manufactured. The press release is here. It specifically states that there are no animal ingredients included, but it’s prepared in the same kitchen and using the same frying oil as other items (containing animal ingredients). It also may have cross-contamination from manufacturing from various ingredients, including animal products.

•  Vegetable curry & rice with mixed grains/ベジタブルカレー&雑穀ごはん

Photo from website.

royal host vegan curry

There are other items that appear from the allergen chart published 4/28/2020 to possibly be free of animal ingredients.

• Green salad/グリーンサラダ (may have cross-contamination from egg and dairy)
• Rice/ライス
• Rice with mixed grains/雑穀ごはん (may have cross-contamination from various animal ingredients. This looks like the same item that’s sold with the animal-ingredient free curry.)
• Morning salad/モーニングサラダ (on the a.m. menu) (may have cross-contamination from egg and dairy)
• Drinkable acai/飲むアサイー (on the a.m. menu)
• Child-sized french fries/おこさまフライドポテト
Low-allergen child’s gateau chocolat/低アレルゲン おこさまガトーショコラ. The website states that wheat flour and egg are not used. Rice flour, soymilk, sugar, etc. are used.
Low-allergen child’s small rice flour bread/低アレルゲン  米粉のぷちパン.

The gateau chocolat is the Friends Sweets brand. The product page lists ingredients here. The low-allergen bread is the Nippon Ham Round Bread/日本ハムまあるいパン. Details about the ingredients of the Nippon Ham Round Bread are given here.

Condiments:
• Mini ketchup/ミニケチャップ
• French mustard/フレンチマスタード
• Tabasco/タバスコ(3ml) 
Fresh-Pressed Soy Sauce/しぼりたて生しょうゆ(10g)
• Deluxe Spicy Sauce/デラックスソーススパイシー(10g)
Stick Sugar/スティックシュガー
Balsweet (artificial sweetener)/パルスイート
Slim Up Sugar/スリムアップシュガー
Gum Syrup/ガムシロップ

In the Low-allergen child’s hamburger plate with rice bread or rice/低アレルゲン おこさまハンバーグプレート (米粉パン)/(ごはん), the corn, broccoli, and tomato/コーン、ブロッコリー、トマト, rice bread or rice, and gateau chocolate don’t show animal ingredients from the allergen chart, but the Low-allergen child’s hamburger and sausage in the same plate have pork.

It might also be possible to order regular french fries/フライドポテト by themselves. On the allergen chart, when they are part of a set, they don’t show animal ingredients. The french fries with wasabi mayonnaise sauce/フライドポテト~西洋わさびマヨネーズソース付~ show egg as an ingredient, but that’s probably from the mayonnaise itself, so it may be worth inquiring if french fries are available for purchase without the mayonnaise.

The miso soup doesn’t show animal ingredients from the allergen chart, but it’s very likely it contains fish and/or seafood.

The “coffee fresh” creamer/コーヒーフレッシュ contains dairy.

Saizeriya

From reviewing their Grand Menu English allergen chart of October 27, 2020, it appears the following menu items may be vegan:

• Celery Pickles
• Mini Ficelle (bread)
• Pepperoncino
• Spaghetti Aglio e Oglio
• Vegetable Paste
• Rice
• Turmeric Rice
• Refreshing Lemon Sorbet
• Kids’ Fries

The table salt, tabasco, soy sauce, red chili flakes, tonkatsu sauce, olive oil, original hot sauce, mixed herbs spices, fruit sauce (cassis & blueberry), and veggie dressing don’t show animal ingredients on the allergen chart.

The Saizeriya dressing contains egg.

There may also be other menu items that could be modified to be vegan (e.g. salad without added animal products). For more information see the Saizeriya website.

Salvatore Cuomo Pizza

The marinara pizza appears to be vegan (see English delivery menu with allergen information on their website).

Also reported to have a lunch buffet with marinara pizza, salads with avocado and tofu, separate vinegar dressing, and coffee and juice. No vegan desserts available at lunch buffet.

Soup Stock Tokyo

As of 11/25/2019, Soup Stock Tokyo committed to having one animal-ingredient free soup on their menu every week. The animal-ingredient free soup and curry items are marked with a “Vg.” They rotate the soups on offer every week so check the signboard outside to see what they have on offer that day. Despite the name, they’ve been successful in expanding outside of Tokyo and also have branches in other cities in Japan from Hokkaido to Kyushu. Check the shop list here. There’s also a map showing the locations in the English part of the website.

Information here is based on the English allergen chart of 7/8/2021. Interestingly, it also lists which items contain sugar and what types of sugar, although not enough information is given to tell if bone char is used in processing. It would be a good starting point if one wanted to ask more questions to the customer service center. It also lists which items contain palm oil.

The information below is applicable to the in-store soups, not the frozen soups for take-home purchase.

In addition, the Hyogo Basil Dressing appears on the “vegetarian,” animal-ingredient free portion of the allergen chart. This means it may be possible to get a vegan salad with dressing at Soup Stock Tokyo stores.

Vegetarian Menu (animal-ingredient free)

Soups:

Awaji Onion Potage
Deep-fried Tofu and Koji Miso Soup
Green Vegetable Minestrone
Italian Tomato Minestrone  (contains palm oil)
Leek and White Kidney Bean Minestrone
Miyazaki Morotsukason Shiitake mushroom and soy milk potage
Squash and Coconut Asian Soup
Sweet Corn and Bell Pepper Chili (contains palm oil)
Tomato and Summer Vegetable Gazpacho

Curries:

Baingan Bharta (contains palm oil)
Sambar (Lentil Stew) (contains palm oil)
Spicy Keema Curry with Bamboo Shoot and Soymeat
Summer Vegetables Cold Lemon Curry (contains palm oil)
7-Vegetable Ratatouille Curry (contains palm oil)
Onion and Soy Meat Curry
Palak (Spinach Curry)

Dressing:
Hyogo Basil Dressing

Sides:
Sesame Rice
Brown Rice
Stone Oven Baked Bread (contains palm oil) (may have cross-contamination from egg, dairy, and peanut in the manufacturing process)
Focaccia (contains palm oil) (may have cross-contamination from egg, dairy, and peanut in the manufacturing process)

In the “Soup for All” section of the website (English), it specifically states they are catering to vegans.

They have an app where you can check the soups available at each branch before heading there. The app can also be used as a point card to save points to get a discount off your order or some goods marked with the name of the shop. Paper point cards have been discontinued.

Nutritional information, ingredient lists (Japanese), and which soups are on offer that week are also written on the website.

Soup Stock Tokyo also has a book of all the ingredients in each menu item available behind the counter, written in English and Japanese-staff will show it to you if you request to see the ingredients. The book is more specific about which ingredients are in the soups and which are toppings.

Here is more information about current items without animal ingredients that may appear on the menu:

The Awaji Onion Potage is made with onions from Awaji Island in the Seto Inland Sea. Onions from Awaji Island are famous in Japan for their sweetness and perhaps the best quality grown in the country. They’re also a little milder than regular onions.

Awaji Onion Potage/淡路の玉葱のポタージュ. Ingredients: Onion, olive oil, salt, kelp root soup stock, paprika powder.

Contains none of the 28 specified allergens.

Photo from website.

Awaji Onion Potage stock photo

Deep-Fried Tofu and Koji Miso Soup/麹味噌とがんもどきの和風スープ. Ingredients: Vegetables (onions, white onion, cabbage, carrots, burdock), vinegared ginger, shiitake mushrooms, starch, mirin, rolled barley/oats, soy sauce, soybean oil, vegetable extract, salt, dried kelp, spices (includes wheat and soybeans) ), amazake, ganmo deep-fried tofu (includes soybeans), miso (includes soybeans), bunashimeji mushrooms, maitake mushrooms, okra, kaiware daikon, myoga.

Of the 28 specified allergens, product contains wheat and soybeans.

soup stock deep-fried tofu and koji miso soup product photo

Green Vegetable Minestrone/緑の野菜のミネストローネ. Ingredients: Vegetables (onions (domestic or imported), cabbage, daikon radish, green beans, red bell peppers, green peas, garlic), rolled barley, olive oil, salt, kelp, young barley leaves, starch, spices, zucchini, turnips, edible oil blend (sunflower oil, olive oil) ), kaiware daikon.

Contains none of the 28 specified allergens.

Soup Stock Tokyo Green Vegetable Minestrone    20200310_180140

Italian Tomato Minestrone (hot)/イタリア産トマトミネストローネ. Ingredients: Whole tomato, vegetables (onion, carrot, celery, garlic), rice, tomato paste, olive oil, salt, spice + vegetable mix [zucchini, eggplant, red bell pepper, yellow bell pepper, salt,  oil for frying (palm oil)], potato, arugula.

Contains none of the 28 specified allergens.

Contains palm oil.

20190215_191115 (2).jpg

Leek and White Kidney Bean Minestrone/ポロ葱と白いんげん豆のミネストローネ. Ingredients: Vegetables (onions, celery, carrots, “futonegi” green onion, tomatoes), mashed potatoes, sauteed leek (leek, rapeseed oil), celeriac puree, olive oil, kelp root stock, salt, starch, spices, boiled white beans, diced potatoes, cabbage, black pepper.

Contains none of the 28 specified allergens.

Soup Stock Tokyo Leek and White Kidney Bean Minestrone sign    Soup Stock Tokyo Leek and White Kidney Bean Minestrone

Miyazaki Morotsukason Shiitake mushroom and soy milk potage/宮崎県諸塚村しいたけと豆乳のポタージュ. Ingredients: Vegetables (onion (domestic or imported), celery, garlic), soy milk, roux (wheat flour, palm oil), soybean oil, olive oil, dried bamboo shoots, salt, mushrooms, top-grade rice flour made with non-glutinous rice, starch, kelp, tomato paste, soy sauce, spices (includes wheat and soybeans), soymilk (includes soybeans), ganmo deep-fried tofu (includes soybeans), turnip, salt, wood ear mushroom, shiitake mushroom, edible chrysanthemum, yuzu, black pepper.

Of the 28 specified allergens, product contains wheat and soybeans.

Photo from website.

Miyazaki Morotsukason Shiitake mushroom and soy milk potage Soup Stock Tokyo

The following is a limited-edition item.

Squash and Coconut Asian Soup/かぼちゃとココナッツアジアンスープ. Ingredients: Coconut milk, onions, tomato and tomato juice, pumpkin, sweet potato, sunflower oil, kelp soup stock, spices, salt, sugar, green chili peppers.

Contains none of the 28 specified allergens.

Soup Stock Tokyo Squash and Coconut Asian Soup signboard    Soup Stock Tokyo Squash and Coconut Asian Soup

Sweet Corn and Bell Pepper Chili/とうもろこしとパプリカのチリビーンズスープ. Ingredients: Vegetables (onion, garlic), beans (chickpeas, red lentils), pureed tomato, salt koji, pickled chili pepper, roux (wheat flour, palm oil), spices, salt, smoked chili sauce, olive oil, soy sauce (includes wheat and soybeans), grilled zucchini, red bell peppers, corn kernels, cabbage, root kelp stock, edible blended oil (sunflower oil, olive oil), parsley.

Of the 28 specified allergens, product contains wheat and soybeans.

Contains palm oil.

Photos taken in July 2021.

Soup Stock Tokyo Sweet Corn and Bell Pepper Chili sign    Soup Stock Tokyo Sweet Corn and Bell Pepper Chili

Tomato and Summer Vegetable Gazpacho (cold, limited to summer months)/トマトと夏野菜のガスパチョ. Ingredients: Vegetables (onion, red bell pepper, tomato, celery), tomato juice, olive oil, garlic, salt + cucumber, paprika, celery, mixed edible oil (sunflower oil, olive oil), apple vinegar.

Of the 28 specified allergens, product contains apples.

Photo from website.

Soup Stock Tomato and Summer Vegetable Gazpacho

Baingan Bharta/ベイガンバルタ. Ingredients: Onion, tomato puree, onion saute, rapeseed oil, tomato puree, cashew nut paste, vegetable bouillon, coconut milk, salt, cumin, yeast extract powder, ginger paste, tomato paste, corn starch, garlic puree, turmeric, coriander, cinnamon, cardamom, cloves, chili, laurel, (includes cashew nuts), fried eggplant, onion, edible blended oil (sunflower oil, olive oil), spices, salt, fried onions, rice, edible blended oil (sunflower oil, olive oil), salt, sesame.

Of the 28 specified allergens, product contains cashew nuts and sesame.

Contains palm oil.

Soup Stock Tokyo Baingan Bharta    Soup Stock Tokyo Baingan Bharta and Foccacia

According to the Japanese-language ingredient list, the following product contains sanontou brown sugar, which is a type of processed and redyed white sugar. It’s listed as “light brown sugar” on their English allergen chart. We don’t have information about if the sugar in Soup Stock’s foods is bone-char processed or not.

Sambar (Lentil Stew)/サンバール(豆と野菜のスパイスカレー). Ingredients: Tomatoes with juice, onion, mung bean, carrot puree, plum pulp, rapeseed oil, spice, salt, cauliflower, fried eggplant, onion, green beans, mixed edible oil (sunflower oil, olive oil), edamame (soybeans), okra, sauce [vegetables (onion, ginger), rapeseed oil, cashew nuts, salt, curry powder, garlic paste, spices, corn starch (includes cashew nuts), red onion, apple vinegar, sanontou brown sugar, salt + rice, edible oil (sunflower oil, olive oil), salt, sesame.

Of the 28 specified allergens, product contains cashew nuts, sesame, soybeans, and apples.

Contains palm oil.

Photo taken in August 2021. Shows Sambar (Lentil Stew) on the left and Palak (Spinach Curry) on the right.

Soup Stock Tokyo Sambar (Lentil Stew) and Palak (Spinach Curry)

Spicy Keema Curry with Bamboo Shoot and Soymeat/筍と大豆ミートのズパイシーキーマカレー. Ingredients: Tomato in juice, coconut milk, onions, spices, rapeseed oil, plum flesh, garlic paste, ginger paste, salt, bamboo shoots, pineapple, granular soybean protein, edible blended oil (sunflower oil, olive oil), processed rice paste, fermented soybean seasoning, black pepper, rice, edible blended oil (sunflower oil, olive oil), salt, sesame.

Of the 28 specified allergens, contains soybeans and sesame.

Soup Stock Tokyo Spicy Keema Curry with Bamboo Shoot and Soymeat signboard    Soup Stock Tokyo Spicy Keema Curry with Bamboo Shoot and Soymeat

Summer Vegetables Cold Lemon Curry/夏野菜の冷たいレモンーカレー. Ingredients: Onion, tomato puree, sauteed onion, rapeseed oil, tomato puree, cashew nut paste, vegetable bouillon, coconut milk, salt, cumin, yeast extract powder, ginger paste, tomato paste, corn starch, garlic puree, turmeric, coriander, cinnamon, cardamon , cloves, chili, laurel (includes cashew nuts), okra, tomato, lemon juice (concentrated reduction), red onion, red cabbage sprout, fried onion, parsley, rice, edible blended oil (sunflower oil, olive oil), salt, sesame.

Of the 28 specified allergens, contains cashew nuts and sesame.

Contains palm oil.

First photo taken July 2021. Second photo from website.

Soup Stock Tokyo Summer Vegetables Cold Lemon Curry    Soup Stock Tokyo Summer Vegetables Cold Lemon Curry stock photo

7-Vegetable Ratatouille Curry/7種の野菜のラタトゥイユカレー. Ingredients: Onion, whole tomato, vegetable bouillon, tomato paste, onion saute, rapeseed oil, diced tomato, stir-fried vegetable paste (onion, carrot, olive oil, celery), salt, garlic puree, coriander, ginger paste, corn starch, sugar, cumin, chili powder, basil, chili pepper, oregano, cinnamon, cardamom, thyme, laurel, mixed vegetables (zucchini, eggplant, red bell pepper, yellow bell pepper, salt, oil for frying (palm oil)), onion, edible oil (sunflower oil, olive oil), oregano, salt, rice, mixed edible oil (sunflower oil, olive oil), salt, sesame.

Of the 28 specified allergens, product contains sesame.

Contains palm oil.

Photo from website.

Soup Stock Tokyo 7-Vegetable Ratatouille Curry

Onion and Soy Meat Curry/玉葱と大豆ミートのカレー. Ingredients: Onion, tomato puree, onion saute, rapeseed oil, tomato puree, cashew nut paste, vegetable bouillon, coconut milk, salt, cumin, yeast extract powder, ginger paste, tomato paste, corn starch, garlic puree, turmeric, coriander, cinnamon, cardamom, cloves, chili, laurel, (includes cashew nuts), soy protein product (soy protein concentrate, vegetable oil, salt, spices/flavoring (contains soybeans)), onion, edible blended oil (sunflower oil, olive oil), white pepper, rice, edible blended oil (sunflower oil, olive oil), salt, sesame.

Of the 28 specified allergens, product contains cashew nuts, sesame, and soybeans.

First photo taken August 2021. Second photo from website.

Soup Stock Tokyo Onion and Soy Meat Curry    Soup Stock Tokyo Onion and Soy Meat Curry

Palak (Spinach Curry)/パラクマサラ(ほうれん草のカレー). Ingredients: Onions, spinach puree (spinach, soybean oil), coconut milk, rapeseed oil, tomato puree, carrot puree, coriander, soy sauce, sugar, salt, cumin, yeast extract powder, corn starch, ginger paste, curry powder, garlic puree, chili pepper, turmeric (includes wheat and soybeans), onions, spinach, edible blended oil (sunflower oil, olive oil), salt, tomato, edible blended oil (sunflower oil, olive oil), rice, edible blended oil (sunflower oil, olive oil) ), salt, sesame.

Of the 28 specified allergens, product contains wheat, sesame and soybeans.

Photos taken in July 2021.

Palak (Spinach Curry) sign    Soup Stock Tokyo Palak (Spinach Curry)

Be careful not to order the Sri Lankan Cashew Curry/カシューナッツのホッダ(スリランカ風ココナッツカレー). It is not vegan because it contains dried bonito extract (skipjack tuna fish), which you can see if you request to look at the ingredient book or by looking at the ingredient list on the website.

cashew nuts curry

The soups and curries can be eaten with Sesame Rice/白胡麻ご飯, Brown Rice, Stone Oven Baked Bread/石窯パン,  or Foccacia /フォカッチャ.

The sesame rice uses domestic rice.

Sesame rice/白胡麻ご飯. Ingredients: Rice, white sesame, salt, edible  blended oil (sunflower oil, olive oil).

Of the 28 specified allergens, product contains sesame.

Photo from website.

Soup Stock Sesame Rice

• Brown rice. The ingredients don’t appear to be listed on the website, but per the allergen (English) chart, it contains none of the 28 specified allergens, and it’s listed in the “vegetarian” list of items that contain no animal ingredients. The chart also specifies that oil isn’t used.

Stone Oven Baked Bread/石窯パン. Ingredients: Wheat flour, olive oil, rye flour, reduced starch syrup, crude salt, baker’s yeast, malt, brewed vinegar, vitamin C.

Of the 28 specified allergens, contains wheat.

Contains palm oil.

Manufactured on common equipment with products using eggs, dairy, and peanuts.

Photo from website.

Soup Stock Tokyo Stone Oven Baked Bread

Foccacia /フォカッチャ. Ingredients: Bread (flour, olive oil, sourdough starter, crude salt, baker’s yeast, malt, vitamin C), olive oil, rock salt.

Of the 28 specified allergens, contains wheat.

Contains palm oil.

Manufactured on common equpment with products using eggs, dairy, and peanuts.

Photo taken in July 2021.

Soup Stock Tokyo Foccacia

The blog Vegana No Japao (now defunct) reported that sourdough starter/サワー種 can come from animal-derived lactobacillus in Japan. We don’t have any information on how the sourdough starter in this product is made.

Frozen Italian Tomato Minestrone and Green Vegetables & Rock Salt soups may be available for take-home purchase as well. The allergen chart (English) doesn’t apply to the frozen packaged soups, however. 

20181202_181720

Subway

salad_avocado_veggie

In Japan, Subway is not as vegan friendly as in other countries because the sandwich bread and flat bread contains dairy products. The menu items that appear from the allergen chart to potentially be vegan are:

• Salads: avocado veggie and veggie delight salads
• Dressings: oil and vinegar, balsamic. Salt and pepper are also available, as well as sliced hot peppers.
• Oven potatoes: original and herb salt only. The red BBQ and triple cheese flavors contain milk, chicken, pork, and fish. All the oven potatoes are processed on the same factory lines as foods containing dairy and egg. The ketchup, mustard, and chili sauce appear to be vegan from the allergen chart. The ketchup is processed on the same factory line as sheep, fish, and shellfish.
• Drinks (in addition to the usual vegan options like black coffee): soy latte (iced or hot), iced soy mango latte, mango orange smoothie, orange juice, and mango & orange juice

Sukiya

The food at Sukiya that may be vegan according to the allergen chart (there may be some cross-contamination) is:

photo_side_702200-website.jpg

• Rice
• Tofu
• Natto (be careful with the sauce, if any. For example, it appears mackerel is used in the sauce provided in Okinawa)
• Green onions
• Salad (no dressing)
• Grated yam with wasabi
• Pickled ginger

Please note the nori sheets contain shrimp. The allergen chart says that the pickles and kimchi don’t contain shrimp, but they may still contain fish.

T’s Tan Tan

This all-vegan chain is a wonderful place where you can drop in and have a quick bowl of ramen. They also sell various products such as take-out soymeat “beef” bowl bento boxes/ソイミートの牛丼弁当, cutlet sandwiches, and gyoza, as well as things like a two-pack of tantanmen noodles and soup, their own brand of vegan instant cup noodles, retort pouch curries, and soy meat for home cooking.

Locations:

JR Tokyo train station (behind the ticket gates)
JR Ueno train station, Tokyo (behind the ticket gates)
JR Ikebukuro train station (behind the ticket gates)
Narita Airport (NRT), Terminal 2 (before passport control)
Narita Airport (NRT) Terminal 1, Tokyo Food Bar, South Wing, Third Floor, near gate 51 (after passport control)

The Tokyo and Ueno branches are confirmed to have English menus available.

They also have a fully-vegan restaurant in Jiyugaoka with fewer ramen options and more other choices- try the chocolate cake there. This branch also makes cakes to order for weddings and other special occasions.

They may have a two-pack of the T’s Tantan Noodle Soup in stock (a tantanmen that comes with the soup as well as the noodles to make at home). The product can also be ordered at the link below at the T’s Restaurant online shop. The photos were taken in January 2021.

•  T’s Restaurant Noodle Soup, Two-pack/T’s レストラン担々麵.

T's Tantan Noodle Soup Two-pack    T's Tantan Noodle Soup Two-pack back of package

Check the Noodles and Pasta section of the blog for more information on their vegan cup noodles.

Tempura Tendon Tenya

Foods at Tenya (Japanese) (English) may have cross-contamination, including from animal products, from the manufacturing or cooking processes. Items such as tendon (tempura bowls), teishoku (set meals), miso soup and takeout noodles may also have cross-contamination from shrimp and crab from seaweed harvesting. More information about this is available on the allergen chart (Japanese). The miso soup probably contains fish dashi (although the allergen chart does not specifically list miso soup).

Their Tensuyu/天つゆパック sauce packets have mackerel, so it seems that the sauce the tempura comes with in the restaurant must contain mackerel as well. It’s recommended to ask for plain soy sauce instead.

The dishes at Tenya that appear from a review of the item names, item photos where available, and their allergen chart of January 14, 2021 (Japanese) to possibly be free of animal ingredients are:

Tempura Tendon Tenya Brussels Sprout Tempura

• Pumpkin tempura/かぼちゃ天ぷら
• Green bean tempura/いんげん天ぷら
• Lotus root tempura/れんこん天ぷら
• Potato tempura/いも天ぷら
• Maitake mushroom tempura/舞茸天ぷら
• Eggplant tempura/なす天ぷら
• Chrysanthemum greens kakiage tempura/春菊のかき揚げ (seasonal item)
• Watermelon radish tempura/紅芯大根天ぷら (seasonal item)
• Brussels sprout tempura/芽キャベツの天ぷら (seasonal item)
• Cauliflower tempura/カリフラワーの天ぷら (seasonal item)
• Grated daikon/大根おろし
• Grated yam/とろろ

The cold tofu/冷奴 and boiled spinach/ほうれん草おひたし as well as the mini boiled spinach/ミニおひたし may be vegan if ordered without the katsuobushi fish flakes they’re topped with.

The following items are listed as containing mackerel, however it may be possible that it is only in the sauce and possible to have the dish without sauce, but it would be a good idea to consult with staff. If the item comes with miso soup, it’s highly likely to contain fish or seafood as well as vegan miso soup is almost unknown in Japan outside of vegan restaurants. Be careful as some items look very similar to other items with animal ingredients such as shrimp and so on, so check the Japanese item name when ordering:

Vegetable tendon/野菜天丼
Vegetable tempura set meal/野菜天ぷら定食
Vegetable tempura udon (cold)/野菜天ぷらうどん(冷)
Vegetable tempura soba (cold)/野菜天ぷらそば(冷)
Iniawa-style udon (cold)/稲庭風うどん 冷
Nihachi soba/二八そば 冷
Assorted vegetable tempura/野菜天盛合せ (available for takeout)
Vegetable tendon bento box/野菜天丼弁当 (available for takeout)
Winter vegetable and vegetable tempura assortment/冬野菜2種と野菜天盛合わせ (seasonal item)
Early spring tempura/早春のっけ野菜天盛合わせ (seasonal item)
To-go cold udon/TO冷うどん
To-go cold soba/TO冷そば

The hot vegetable tempura udon/野菜天ぷらうどん(温), hot vegetable tempura soba/野菜天ぷらそば(温), Iniawa-style udon (hot)/稲庭風うどん 温 and Nihachi soba (hot)/二八そば 温 all contain both mackerel and milk. The to-go hot udon/TO温うどん contains egg, milk, and mackerel.

2foods

This plant-based fast food chain that doesn’t use white sugar or bone-char processed sugar (and according to their website, is checking for it as well as much as possible in secondary raw materials (from autotranslate): “As much as possible even with secondary raw materials
We are checking to the extent that we can follow it so that it will not be used/ 二次原料でも隔力使用しないよう弊社が追うことができる範囲で確認を行っております).”

They have five branches in Tokyo: Shibuya, Roppongi, Azabu-Juban, Ningyocho, and Tokyo Station (Yaesu Shopping Mall). Their branches offer things like doughnuts, doughnut sandwiches, noodles, and curries. All foods should be free of animal ingredients. They have also opened an online store with a few items.

2foods Lab Kitchen Mango Passion Doughnut

Yakiniku Like

This yakiniku chain has been selling the alternative meats Next Kalbi and Next Harami in all of its branches from December 22nd, 2020. Per Next Meats these are vegan.

You can even visit by yourself (it’s set up so that each person grills their own food in front of them).

Per the Yakiniku Like website they have branches from Maebashi in Gunma and Moriya in Ibaraki to Kyushu.

You can also buy the products online to cook yourself at home. From autotranslate from the Next Meats website (Harami and Kalbi): “No animal ingredients are used. We do not use palm oil or white sugar made from beef bone charcoal, and we do not handle animal raw materials on the factory production line. This product is also suitable for vegans.”

Consult with staff at Yakiniku Like about which sauces are free of animal ingredients.

<< Ingredients of Harami 1.1 >>
Ingredients: Processed soybeans (soybeans (domestic), not genetically modified), seasonings (soy sauce, sugar, fermented rice seasoning, yeast extract, apples, brewed vinegar, garlic, salt, sesame oil, doubanjiang, pepper), edible rapeseed oil.

Product includes wheat, soybeans, apples and sesame.

<< Ingredients of Kalbi 1.1 >>

Ingredients: Processed soybeans (domestically produced, not genetically modified), seasonings (soy sauce, sugar, fermented rice seasoning, yeast extract, apples, brewed vinegar, garlic, salt, sesame oil, doubanjiang, pepper), edible rapeseed oil.

Product includes wheat, soybeans, apples and sesame.

Photo from the Next Meats website.

next meats yakiniku

Yoshinoya

The food at Yoshinoya that may be vegan according to the allergen chart published 3/26/2020 (Japanese) (there may be some cross-contamination) is:

• Fresh vegetable salad/生野菜サラダ
• Mini salad/ミニサラダ
• Non-oil Japanese Soy Sauce Dressing/ノンオイル和風醤油ドレッシング

The Roasted Sesame Dressing/焙煎胡麻ドレッシング is not vegan as it contains egg.

Kids’ menu:
• Fruit juice/フルーツジュース
• Small jelly (apple/mikan/grape)/プチゼリー(りんご・みかん・ぶどう)

Side menu:
• Rice/ご飯
• Nori seaweed/のり (it’s possible this contains fish or seafood as flavoring)
• Natto (with sauce or karashi mustard)/納豆(タレ・カラシ含) (it’s possible this contains fish or seafood as flavoring, particularly in the sauce)

The miso soup doesn’t show animal ingredients from the allergen chart, but it’s extremely likely it contains fish and/or seafood.

None of the other sides are vegan. The tororo has egg and milk.

Seasonings:
• Gochujang/コチュジャン
• Salt & Pepper/塩こしょう
• Kabosu Citrus Pepper/かぼす胡椒
• Natto (with sauce or karashi mustard)/納豆(タレ・カラシ含) (it’s possible this contains fish or seafood as flavoring, particularly in the sauce)

18 thoughts on “Fast Food

  1. Vegan Matt

    Loving hut is a vegan fastfood chain. Although it’s not exactly fastfood I always found a shabu-shabu restaurant chain called shabu-shabu onyasai san to be very accomodating..

    Reply
    1. isitveganjapan Post author

      Good idea, thank you. Unfortunately the bread at Subway in Japan is not vegan (contains dairy). However it seems that the wraps may be vegan (this is yet to be confirmed).

      Reply
  2. Tea

    at starbucks i saw a cake donut thing and there was no eggs or milk according to allergy info which means no butter too im guessing cuz dairy

    Reply
  3. blorgonizer

    Thank you so much for this list. There are a lot of things I hadn’t even heard of before! This is sure to make life easier.

    Unfortunately Starbucks changed the soymilk they use around 2008 and since then it has contained an emulsifier of animal origin.
    Regarding the “vegan” donut a Starbucks, the powedered sugar on top actually contains an additive derived from something like crab shells. It’s utterly ridiculous.

    I’ve also heard that someone ordering soy milk royal tea at Tully’s was asked by the waitress if the had a milk allergy because it contains condensed milk. Im not sure if this is in all the soymilk or in the tea itself.

    All this info came to light on thr Tokyo Vegetarians and Vrgans group on Facebook with the Starbuvks soymilk confirmed on a vegan Japanese blog.
    Why is finding soy without dairy so difficult? 😦

    Reply
  4. Pingback: How to Live as a Vegan in Japan – VeganMegane

  5. Elyviere

    Hi! We were at Ikea in Yokohama last week, and it seems the vegetable balls with yoghurt sauce is now a fully vegan option. The yoghurt sauce is now made on soy, and we weren’t able to find anything in the allergen chart (besides contamination risk from other products) that was not vegan. Can’t speak for all Ikeas in Japan, but I’d assume they all have the same updated menu? Hope this helps anyway!

    Reply
  6. Elyviere (@elyviere)

    Hi! We were at Ikea in Yokohama last week, and it seems the vegetable balls with yoghurt sauce is now a fully vegan option. The yoghurt sauce is now made on soy, and we weren’t able to find anything in the allergen chart (besides contamination risk from other products) that was not vegan. Can’t speak for all Ikeas in Japan, but I’d assume they all have the same updated menu? Hope this helps anyway!

    Reply
    1. isitveganjapan Post author

      Thank you! We have confirmed with Ikea that the yogurt sauce is now made from soy yogurt and the dish has no animal ingredients (at all stores). They did say that the dish may not be available at all times as they sometimes reduce the number of menu items, especially when the store is busy, like on weekends and holidays. We appreciate your report and will update the listing!

      Reply
  7. Pingback: 8 New Vegan Foodie Options In Tokyo 2020 - Savvy Tokyo

    1. isitveganjapan Post author

      Hello, thank you for your comment. Per customer service, the old Mos burger soy patty had dairy and egg in the patty itself. However, since the launch of the Green Burger, if you order a “soy patty” in another item, they will now give you the green burger patty, not the old soy patty that had dairy and egg. Unfortunately this doesn’t make any of those items vegan as they all have animal ingredients in some other part of the item.

      In addition, Doutor’s burger is being sold as “not for kanzensaishokusugisha” (people who don’t eat any animal ingredients) and “main ingredients are free of animal ingredients.” They removed the honey/egg/milk ingredients from the trial product before launching the item due to customer request, but it appears they are not certifying every ancillary ingredient as being not of animal origin. Although they do not represent this item as vegan, we think it represents a positive step.

      We hope that clears up any confusion.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s