Crackers

• Atarimaeda Ten Kinds of Vegetable Crackers/10種類の野菜クラッカー. Ingredients: Wheat flour, vegetable oil, shortening, dried vegetables (onion, red pepper, parsley, burdock, pumpkin, moroheiya, tomato, spinach, carrot), indigestible dextrin, sugar, salt, yeast, dried mashed potatoes, glucose, leavening agent.

These crackers are confirmed as of 2019 to use bone char to whiten the sugar. However, they do not contain animal ingredients in the finished product.

Flavorings and colorings are not used.

Photo from website.

atarimaeda ten kinds of vegetable cracker

 Atarimaeda Vegetable Crackers/Atarimaeda 野菜クラッカー ~サプ~. Ingredients: Wheat flour, vegetable oil, shortening, sugar, onion, salt, red bell pepper, yeast, parsley, tomato, bok choy, leavening agent, emulsifier.

These crackers are confirmed as of 2019 to use bone char to whiten the sugar. However, they do not contain animal ingredients in the finished product.

Photo from website.

atarimaeda vegetable cracker.jpg

• Colussi Crackers, Salted. Ingredients: Wheat flour, sunflower seed oil (10.5%), salt, yeast, barley and malt wheat extract.

Spotted at Kaldi import store. Palm oil-free.

20190315_165042 (2)    20190315_165041 (2)      

• Delser Crackers Salati/デルセール ソルティン クラッカー. Ingredients: Wheat flour, sunflower seed oil, salt, malted barley flour, malt extract, yeast, pH adjusting agent, antioxidant (rosemary extract).

Processed on the same equipment as items containing milk, soybeans and sesame.

20190526_164813 (2)    20190526_164819 (2)

• Delser Olive Oil & Rosemary Crackers/デルセール オリーブオイル&ローズマリークラッカー. Ingredients: Wheat flour, olive oil, salt, rosemary, malted barley flour, malt extract, yeast/pH adjusting agent.

Processed on the same equipment as items containing milk, soybeans and sesame.

20190526_164831 (2).jpg    20190526_164837 (2)

• Delser Saltine Crackers/デルセール アンソルティンクラッカー. Ingredients: Flour, palm oil, salt, malted barley flour, malt extract, yeast, leavening agent.

The Japanese ingredient list simply says “vegetable oil/植物油,” but when you look at the original Italian ingredient list, you can see it contains palm oil, “olio di palma.”

20190125_204412    20190125_204418

The following snacks appear to possibly be vegan, but the source of the vitamin E is not listed.

Ritz Crackers/リッツ クラッカー. Ingredients: Wheat flour, vegetable oil, sugar, high fructose corn syrup, malt extract, salt, leavening agent, lecithin (contains soybeans), antioxidants (vitamin E, vitamin C).

Product contains wheat and soybeans.

Made in Indonesia.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

• Nabisco Premium Crackers/ナビスコ プレミアムクラッカー. Ingredients: Wheat flour, vegetable oil, salt, malt flour, yeast, leavening agent. Product contains wheat.

Products containing dairy and egg are processed in the same factory.

20190526_164759 (2)    20190526_164805 (2)

The following three types of YBC crackers appear to possibly be vegan, however, the source of the processed oil is not specified.

• YBC Levain Crackers/YBC ルヴァン クラッカー. Ingredients: Flour, processed oil, sugar, high-fructose corn syrup, salt, malt extract, rye flour, fermented yeast/leavening agent.

Product contains wheat.

YBC Levain crackers.jpg    YBC Levain crackers back of package 

• YBC Levain Classical/ルヴァン クラシカル. Ingredients: Wheat flour, processed oil, salt, malt flour, fermented yeast, yeast/leavening agent, calcium carbonate.

Product contains wheat.

Levain Classical    Levain classical back of package   

• YBC Levain Classical Unsalted Tops/ルヴァン クラシカルノントッピングソルト. Ingredients: Wheat flour, processed oil, malt flour, salt, fermented yeast, yeast/leavening agent, seasoning (inorganic salts), calcium carbonate.

Product contains wheat.

20190526_164738 (2).jpg    20190526_164747.jpg

• YBC Levain Prime Snack/YBC ルヴァン プライムスナック. Ingredients: Wheat flour, processed oil, sugar, high-fructose corn syrup, salt, malt extract, fermented yeast/leavening agent.

Product contains wheat.

Levain Prime Snack.jpg    Levain Prime Snack ingredients.jpg

Here are a few examples of crackers that are not vegan.

 Atarimaeda Black Pepper Crackers/Atarimaeda ブラックペッパークラッカー are not vegan, because according to the company as of 2019, the shortening is made of lard, cow fat and fish oil. In addition, the sugar is whitened using bone char.

Photo from website.

atarimaeda black pepper crackers

 Atarimaeda Kurogoma (Black Sesame) Soft Cracker/Atarimaeda 黒ごまソフトクラッカー are not vegan, because according to the company as of 2019, the shortening is made of lard, cow fat and fish oil.

Photo from website.

atarimaeda black sesame soft cracker

 Atarimaeda Rich Staple Grains Cracker/五穀たっぷりクラッカー are not vegan, because according to the company as of 2019, the shortening is made of lard, cow fat and fish oil.

Photo from website.

atarimaeda rich staple grains cracker

• Bourbon Natural Yeast Crackers/Bourbon 天然酵母クラッカー are not vegan, because they contain eggs in various parts of the ingredients, including calcium derived from eggs.

20190414_184941 (2)    20190414_184948 (2)

• Morinaga Malted Wheat Crackers/森永小麦麦芽のクラッカー are not vegan, because they contain flavored powder that has chicken and pork.

Morinaga Malted Wheat Crackers森永小麦麦芽のクラッカー with x.jpg    Morinaga Malted Wheat Crackers森永小麦麦芽のクラッカー back of package