Snack foods

There are quite a few vegan friendly snacks in Japan; you just need to know what to look for. For example, SoyJoy bars (not SoyJoy Crispy), while sounding promising, are not vegan as they contain egg and butter. Also, Oreo cookies are not vegan in Japan as they contain dairy products (aside from the question of whether the sugar was processed using bone char).

20190211_164227Raisin soy joy - cross (from their website)

 

So which snacks are vegan?

Some of the best vegan snacks are the simple ones. In addition to the usual dried fruit and nuts, you can find roasted chestnuts and dried sweet potato in many supermarkets and convenience stores in Japan. Below are some examples of simple vegan snacks available in Japan.

Gourmet Roasted Peeled Chestnut. Ingredients: Organic chestnuts.

Gourmet Roasted Peeled ChestnutsGourmet Roasted Peeled Chestnut - back

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here are a couple of other examples of organic roasted chestnuts available in Japan:

Organic chestnutsOrganic chestnuts - 100 yen store

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sweet Potato Sticks

Lawson and Natural Lawson convenience stores:

These sweet potato sticks with Natural Lawson branding on the package are very filling.

• Organically cultivated dried potato stick/有機栽培の干し芋スティック. Ingredients: Organically cultivated sweet potato (satsumaimo).

20180508_130406_resized  20180508_130411

 

Katsumata Dried Soy Beans. Ingredients: Soy beans (domestic)(non-genetically modified). Note: manufactured in a facility that also makes products containing egg, milk, shrimp and crab.

Dried soy beansDried soy beans - back

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy Dates bars have a product page here and can be ordered online here or found in selected stores. The three flavors are all free of the top 27 allergenic substances.

• Happy Dates Chocolate Brownie/HAPPY デーツ チョコブラウニー味. Ingredients: Dates, cacao mass, red sugar, roasted almonds, cocoa powder, concentrated date fruit juice, salt (salt from Miyakojima)

Chocolate brownie-flavoured bars with dates as the main ingredient. Milk, egg, wheat, refined sugar-free. Sweet with the flavour of roasted almonds. The taste is quite chocolatey.

• Happy Dates Fruit Granola/HAPPY デーツ フルーツグラノーラ味. Ingredients: Dates, red sugar, cacao mass, granola (oats, brown rice puffs, rye flakes, isomaltooligosaccharide, malt extract, molasses), rice puffs, concentrated fruit juice (dates, raspberries), strawberries, chia seeds.

Chia seeds, strawberries, and granola are all included in this date-based bar.

• Happy Dates Rum Raisin/HAPPY デーツ ラムレーズン味. Ingredients: Dates, red sugar, coconut, raisins, cacao mass, rum, concentrated date juice.

Rum is included in this date-based bar, making it a sweet treat for adults.

20180708_211712_resized

While regular SOYJOY are not vegan as they contain egg and butter, SOYJOY crispy do not. They do have sugar that is confirmed to have been whitened using the bone char processing method.

According to the manufacturer’s website, Otsuka Pharmaceuticals, are “nutritional foods made with whole soybean flour, fruits and nuts, containing no wheat. They offer a smart and delicious way to enjoy the nutritional goodness of soy, including vegetable protein, soy isoflavones, and dietary fiber.”

They come in five regular flavours, banana, mixed berry, peach, plain, and white macadamia (contains non-dairy white chocolate made of soy). There is also a seasonal, limited edition sakura/cherry blossom flavour (not pictured). 

Be sure to check that the package says “crispy” in English, as otherwise the packaging is virtually identical.

More information can be found on the English-language Otsuka Pharmaceuticals website

• Otsuka Pharmaceuticals SOYJOY Crispy, Banana/大塚製薬 ソイジョイ クリスピー バナナ. Ingredients: Soy flour (non genetically modified), margarine, puffed soy (soy protein, tapioca starch), processed banana, banana puree, processed pineapple, non-digestible dextrin, sugar, agave syrup, salt/sorbitol, flavouring.

20181126_151823 - Copy (2)

• Otsuka Pharmaceuticals SOYJOY Crispy, Mixed Berry/大塚製薬 ソイジョイ クリスピー ミックスベリー. Soy flour (Japan-processed, non genetically modified), margarine, puffed soy (soy protein, tapioca starch), sugar, processed cranberry, processed raspberry, non-digestible dextrin, processed strawberry, salt/flavouring.

20190130_232537 - Copy (2)

20190130_232548 - Copy (2)

• Otsuka Pharmaceuticals SOYJOY Crispy, Peach/大塚製薬 ソイジョイ クリスピー ピーチ. Ingredients: Soy flour (non genetically modified), margarine, puffed soy (soy protein, tapioca starch), processed peach, sugar, non-digestible dextrin, processed papaya, processed orange peel/flavouring, sorbitol.

20181126_151823 - Copy (3).jpg

• Otsuka Pharmaceuticals SOYJOY Crispy, Plain/大塚製薬 ソイジョイ クリスピー プレーン. Soy flour (Japan-processed, non genetically modified), margarine, puffed soy (soy protein, tapioca starch), sugar, processed papaya, processed pineapple, non-digestible dextrin, salt/flavouring.

20190130_232537 - Copy

20190130_232548 - Copy

• Otsuka Pharmaceuticals SOYJOY Crispy, White Macadamia/大塚製薬 ソイジョイ クリスピー ホワイトマカデミア. Ingredients: Soy flour (Japan-processed, non genetically modified), margarine, puffed soy (soy protein, tapioca starch), soymilk chocolate (sugar, cocoa butter, soy powder, other), sugar, non-digestible dextrin, macadamia nut, soy protein, salt/flavouring.

20190130_232537 - Copy (3).jpg

20190130_232548 - Copy (3)

You may be able to find imported foods with English labels, like these cookies:

Gullon Butterfly Cookies. Ingredients: See photo below.

Butterfly cookiesButterfly cookies - back

 

 

 

 

 

 

These snacks also appear to be vegan.

Ritz Crackers. Ingredients: Wheat flour, vegetable oil, sugar, high fructose corn syrup, salt, malt extract, leavening agent.

Ritz frontRitz ingredients

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rice Crackers. Ingredients: Non-glutinous rice (US and domestic), vegetable oil, sugar, soy sauce (contains soy and wheat), high fructose corn syrup, seasoning extract (contains soy), salt, modified starch (derived from wheat), seasoning (amino acid etc), caramel colouring. The seasoning may be animal derived.

Rice Crackers 1 - FrontRice Crackers 1 - Back

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rice Crackers. Ingredients: Rice (US, Thailand and domestic), vegetable oil, starch, sugar, protein hydrolyzate (contains soy), salt, dextrin, modified starch, seasoning (amino acid), plant lecithin (from soy). The seasoning may be animal derived.

Rice Crackers 2 - FrontRice Crackers 2 - Back

 

 

 

 

 

Rice Crackers. Ingredients: Rice (China, Japan and America), vegetable oil, starch, salt, sugar, soy sauce powder (contains soy and wheat), spice, modified starch, seasoning (amino acid etc), plant lecithin (from soy). The seasoning may be animal derived. Manufactured in a facility that also makes products containing milk.

Rice Crackers 3 - FrontRice Crackers 3 - Back

 

 

 

 

 

 

Turtle Crackers. Ingredients: Wheat flour, starch, vegetable oil, sugar, syrup, soy sauce, seasoning (amino acid etc), leavening agent, modified starch. The seasoning may be animal derived.

Turtle CrackersTurtle Crackers - back

 

 

 

 

 

 

Popcorn. Ingredients: Corn (non-genetically modified), sugar, starch syrup, salt, leavening agent. Does not contain milk, egg, shrimp or crab.

Popcorn FrontPopcorn Back

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fukagawa Oil &Fat Company, Ltd. Lightly Salted Chemical Seasoning & Additive-free Popcorn/深川油脂工業 化学調味料無添加ポープコーンうす塩味. Ingredients: Corn (not genetically modified), vegetable oil (rice oil), salt.

No chemical seasonings or preservatives are used.

20180523_143939 - Copy    20181105_194733 - Copy

Brown Sugar Rice Snacks. Ingredients: Syrup, brown rice, brown sugar, maltose, sugar (non-centrifugal sugar beet sugar), adlay (Job’s tears), vegetable oil (palm oil), isomaltooligosaccharide, salt.

Brown Sugar Rice Snacks 1 FrontBrown Sugar Rice Snacks 1 - Back

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Brown Sugar Rice Snacks. Ingredients: Rice (domestic), sugar, starch syrup, brown sugar, caramel.

Brown Sugar Rice Snacks 2 - FrontBrown Sugar Rice Snacks 2 - Back

Advertisements

9 thoughts on “Snack foods

  1. stardoggie

    If they have amino acid or flavoring which might be animal derived, then would it not be better to either clarify with the manufacturer, or consider them not vegan? I find it confusing when they are included. items with questionable ingredients that might be animal derived cannot yet be considered vegan and I thought all items listed on is it vegan Japan would be vegan. Nevertheless your site is very helpful, thank you for your efforts putting all this up to help other vegans!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: The Vegan and Vegetarian Guide to Japan | The Dragon Trip

  3. Emma

    New SOYJOY “Crispy” (four flavours: Plain, Goldenberry, Mix Berry, and White Chocolate (made with soy milk)) are vegan. The crispy line has been out since last year.

    Reply
  4. SANKOO

    I know that your post is a bit old but it’s still really useful ! Thank you so much.
    As a dairy intolerant I have troubles finding snacks.

    Reply
    1. isitveganjapan Post author

      Thank you. We’ll give this section a refresh soon and hopefully add more products. Please check the “Potato,Corn, and Vegetable Chips” and “Convenience Stores” sections for more options too

      Reply
  5. Pingback: The Vegan and Vegetarian Guide to Japan – The Dragon Trip

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s